We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 132 Portland hotels

Econo Lodge at Port of Portland

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9520 NE Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge at Port of Portland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
59%
Ranked #81 of 132 hotels in Portland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Derek S North Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
16
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked this place as somewhere to stay after a late airport arrival. Seemed promising from the outside and reception, but we opened our door only to be hit by the horrible smell of damp shower curtain pervading the whole room. Then as we tried to go to sleep, two guys outside the room in the car park decide to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice place to stay if being close to the airport and not spending a lot of money are your top priorities. I checked in early in the afternoon expecting to just rest for the afternoon and evening and be ready for my early morning flight. I was pleasantly surprised when the gentleman working the front desk named... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. George is a valued member of our team... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel July 14' as a last resort, we went down to the Portland Zoo and decided to stay one more night to enjoy some shopping. What we got was a room that smelled of smoke, mold in the bathroom, outdated furniture and appliances, a front door that would not close all the way and door locks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Check in was friendly and efficient. I had booked a suite. This was definitely not a suite. When I entered there was a sickening sweet smell. All of the furniture was from the 70's There was only one electrical outlet. I had to decide my computer or my Samsung Galaxy S4. The water from the basin was so slow it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

For the price we paid, and the amount of time we spent in the room, this was a good value. We spent most of our time exploring the city, so we only slept & showered in the room. Very close location to the Trimet Max station. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. A little healthier selections(english muffins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We appreciate any recommendations you may have... More

San Diego, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've never had the worst experience with a hotel such as this one and I've stayed at some run down motels. Bed spreads smelled like B.O and fornication. It was a health hazard, when my four year old walked in, held his nose and said it stinks. I was horrified that my kid was in that room. After offering to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear lynnberlynn I am so sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Unfortunately, there was no other rooms to move you to since we were sold out.. The front desk agent did provide you with clean bedspreads and sprayed your room with air freshener even though she could not smell anything unusual. A refund of the third... More

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Firstly, I will give credit to the manager for giving us a full refund the next morning when we checked out a night early due to the fact our room reaked of pot after we came back from our movie.But, this was after we tried to check out 6 hours after checking in with the desk clerk who said her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear firedballerina I am so sorry that you had issues with your room. The front desk agent went to your room and could not smell any pot. Only when you talked with the manager were we informed that the smell was coming from outside in the parking lot. If that information had been communicated to the front desk agent, we... More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great nightly rates and they obviously just did a remodel. There are granite counter tops all throughout the room. Very modern nice/comfortable furniture. The couch in my room was big enough for my 6'5" boyfriend to lay on comfortably. The shower heads have different settings to meet your shower needs! (that's important to me and my back.) There's a hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear savvycat2014 Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We do try our best to make each guest's stay comfortable. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are looking forward to your return visit. Sincerely Cindy New Manager More

Shasta Lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

serves as a great hub for all areas of Portland...very close to any activity...waterfalls, bald eagles, downtown , the airport as well as all freeways...and then there's the trip down historical Hwy 30...whatever time of year, whatever weather, grab you camera and consider the Gorge as a must see...all very easy to get to from this motel...keep up the great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear Danny J It is so nice of you to do the review for our hotel. Portland is a great area to visit and being on the Trimet Max Line makes it great for guests who want to see the area but do not want to rent a car. The hotel has brochures on things to do in the area... More

sylmar, ca
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was big and clean but had cigarette burn holes in the blankets, think they could've easily replaced it. The staff uses a very hands off approach or they are short staffed, you pick. It would be a better place to stay if breakfast was better (skimpy and very small selection), cleaner facility (grounds wasn't kept up, elevator was dirty),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this review

Dear dagoodlife00 I am so sorry that housekeeping put a blanket meant for a smoking room on your bed. Thank you for letting me know. I have addressed the housekeepers on this issue. Choice Hotels breakfast standards for our hotel are 1 sweet bread, 1 non sweet bread, 1 fruit, orange juice and coffee. Our hotel has 3 flavors of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge at Port of Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge at Port of Portland

Address: 9520 NE Sandy Blvd., Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge at Port of Portland 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge at Port of Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Portland with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Portland, OR Econo Lodge® at Port of Portland hotel is one-and-a-half miles from Portland International Airport.Use TriMet Max Light Rail to get around; take it to shop at Lloyd Center or Clackamas Town Center.We are minutes from: Oregon Convention CenterPortland State UniversityOregon Health & Science UniversityRose Garden ArenaOregon ZooMt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort is minutes away. Fishing, boating, windsurfing and golf courses are quick drives away. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are nearby.You’ll enjoy amenities at our pet-friendly hotel like:Free continental breakfastFree coffeeFree local callsFree wireless high-speed Internet accessIndoor hot tubBusiness guests can access fax and copy machines and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge at Port of Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer