We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Portland Downtown

518 NE Holladay Street, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Portland Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Disgusting- shame on you Motel 6 for allowing these rooms to be rented out in the condition they're in. I am disgusted with this place and will have serious considerations of ever staying at a Motel 6 ever again. While I was writing this review a couple tried to gain access my room, I opened the door and was told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham C
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I booked this place for a week while attending a conference at the convention center. I was excited because of the great location; within walking distance to the convention center and a few restaurants. However, the room was terrible!!! There was black mold in the shower, the toilet would not stop running, and it was leaking water on the floor.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

This 'hotel' IS in a good location: by the Convention Center and Stadium BUT it is on the trolley line..and as it runs every 10 minutes..the four cars cross a loose man-hole cover at the corner where this hotel lies and makes a BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG as EACH car crosses that man-hole cover..from 5 AM to 1 AM...I do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susanne lenz l
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Susanne, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of our housekeeping cleaning of the guestroom. We... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

Concerned about the area but our room was situated on the back corner on the second floor of the third and farthest building from the office. It was quiet and clean. The wood laminate floors, modern towel holders in the bathroom and corner shower added to the sleek and clean feel of the place. Ask for a non-smoking room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy T
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

There was no handle on the outside of the bathroom door. The only plug available in the living area was loose in the wall. There was no washcloth provided when I checked in. No channel guide for the TV. Wifi was intermittent; over a three-day stay it worked for a grand total of 20 minutes. And I paid US$120 a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jde1953
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rates and the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the dissatisfaction you describe with our policy. We strive to... More 

norway
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Really bad wifi, and the beds was terrible, it hurt lying to in the bed. Great location with resturants and bars close by, and we was greeted well in the reception. Spacious room and clean. Would not go back here for more than one night, and that is if nothing else is available.

Helpful?
Thank hesy
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hesy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our policy and the connection to the network. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This is a great location for the convention center, but the facility is rundown and poorly maintained. There was no wifi in the rooms, so all guests had to go outside to get a signal. Our room had a door frame clawed and ripped off the wall, and a sink that never drained properly despite repeated reports. Bedspread full of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. We are glad... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

When visiting portland, I always stay near the convention center for the great access to mass transit and easy walk to the Waterfront Park. For my last trip all the hotels in the area were booked but the Motel 6. I was a bit hesitent but booked it anyway. I got both a good nights sleep and a warm shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank tzlord
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

As I had a good experience in Motel 6 Anaheim, I safely decided to book in another trip. My overall experience was very bad because: 1. The bed was terrible and the matress has a big hole as I have never seen in any other hostel, motel or hotel. Also the furniture was too old, the image of the television... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andreortega_sp
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Andre, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the availability of a non-smoking room. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory... More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My husband and I needed a basic hotel room as we weren't spending much time in the room at all. Our room was standard "Motel 6" but I must say the bathroom was clean but in bad condition. Our room was non-smoking but still smelled like cigarettes and all the furniture was old and pretty worn down. The front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. Our staff aims to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#85 of 135 in Portland
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#28 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay