We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 132 Portland hotels

Downtown Value Inn

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Downtown Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Downtown Value Inn to your Saves list
27%
Ranked #100 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    11
    23
See reviews for
7
15
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Portland Or. We drove all the way from our hometown and were tired, needed a place to rest and enjoy, luckily this motel was awesome. We were walk in guest, got a two queen bed room. The front desk staff were really helpful and courteous. The front desk clerk Brent went out of his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Mathew thank you for choosing TripAdvisor to share with other travelers your experience at our establishment. We were pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. We were glad to see that Brent was so helpful, and that the facilities and amenities met your needs. We do apologize that our parking area isn't as spacious as we wish... More

California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights and was really happy being in Portland for the summer. Firstly the place iis good for its location. The motel is little old but the beds and the room which I was given was nicely done. The linen was soft and clean. No signs of bed bugs at all. We got the housekeeping service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

very bad place no hot water in the shower.At least good location, but now have to spend the day dirty in good location. other than that you get what you pay for I guess. Just ask to see the room and test water before renting if possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon. More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff is rude here. They are just unhappy people. The Indian male in his 30's who is at the front desk most of the time better be glad his parents or grandparents own the place (I"m just assuming this) because he would have a hard time keeping a job at starbucks or anywhere there are customers. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you about your stay with us at the Downtown Value Inn. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, is an important tool for us to improve our hospitality in every way we can. We apologize that the service you received was unsatisfactory. Discourtesy is unprofessional and unacceptable. We were happy to hear that you were... More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is exactly what I expected- It allowed me somewhere to sleep and take breaks in between exploring Portland. The negative reviews are pretty absurd. It's an incredibly cheap hotel. If you go in expecting anything more than a solid bed and a base camp for your vacation, you're sorely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there are things that you think we could be doing different or doing better we would like to hear about it. We can be reached at guestrelations@downtownvaluinn.com. We hope that we will be your first choice in accommodations when you have... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for a night because I was visiting a friend the next day, so I was looking for a place to get a few hours of sleep and a shower before she got in from the airport (I wasn't even there 8 hours). I have traveled a lot, and am usually not too picky about where I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. The opinions of our guests are very important to us. We were disappointed to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. We apologize that you had such a long wait to check in, and that the facilities did not meet your expectations. Especially things as fundamental as... More

Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

e wanted to stay for cheap in downtown Portland, and this place fit the price tag. I would recommend something else if you can afford it. The water in the shower had no pressure. We got a room that stunk of smoke on arrival (asked for non smoking), the heater in the room was so loud we could not sleep,... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

WORST motel I have ever stayed at!!!!! Please do not stay here! The staff is beyond RUDE and extremely UNPROFESSIONAL. They do not understand the concept of customer service. We were visiting Portland for the holidays and a good friend picked us up from the airport and brought us to the motel. The hotel desk clerk basically freaked out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Downtown Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay