We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Portland hotels

Downtown Value Inn

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Downtown Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Value Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    11
    12
    23
See reviews for
7
17
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Stevensville, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Lots of the bad reviews for this place, I feel, are from older peopling who could probably afford a better place to stay. For what we paid, which was less than half of other downtown Portland hotels, no complaints. It had the classic old cigarette hotel smell, the room was a bit dirty (found a cigarette butt against the wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I reserved this room through AARP and I can't believe anyone vetted this place for seniors. Not particularly clean to begin with, edging on blanket torn which almost tripped me up before I realized it, big stain on bedspread, floors so sloping I thought at first I had vertigo, NO elevator, no bell service, had to schlep my own bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Room were clean, no big issues and the location was good, our issue was that it was pricy for what the room was, and we got there really late. Walking distance from the nightlife in downtown Portland, if you like to walk this is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

One of the cheaper accomdations downtown Portland. Stayed one night. Budget/no frills in a decent/central location. Parking &/close to public transportation. Didn't notice an elevator but I think there are only 3 or 4 floors. Room was slightly larger and also less sketchy than I'd anticipated. A/C, microwave, mini fridge. Free wifi(need password to access). Toiletries & amenities sparse. Bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

For the price (cheap compared to other downtown hotels), this place is surprisingly nice. Bedspreads are super old but some renos have been done in the rooms. Very clean and good size. Walking distance to everything you would want in Portland (food trucks, breweries, shopping, etc.). nice and quiet too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This was our first visit to Portland Or. We drove all the way from our hometown and were tired, needed a place to rest and enjoy, luckily this motel was awesome. We were walk in guest, got a two queen bed room. The front desk staff were really helpful and courteous. The front desk clerk Brent went out of his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Mathew thank you for choosing TripAdvisor to share with other travelers your experience at our establishment. We were pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. We were glad to see that Brent was so helpful, and that the facilities and amenities met your needs. We do apologize that our parking area isn't as spacious as we wish... More 

California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and was really happy being in Portland for the summer. Firstly the place iis good for its location. The motel is little old but the beds and the room which I was given was nicely done. The linen was soft and clean. No signs of bed bugs at all. We got the housekeeping service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

very bad place no hot water in the shower.At least good location, but now have to spend the day dirty in good location. other than that you get what you pay for I guess. Just ask to see the room and test water before renting if possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Downtown Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay