We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Portland hotels

Downtown Value Inn

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Back to School Special
Save Saved
You added Downtown Value Inn to your Saves list
Downtown Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
24%
Ranked #108 of 133 hotels in Portland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (54)
  • Photos (38)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    7
    10
    23
See reviews for
7
13
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon. More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff is rude here. They are just unhappy people. The Indian male in his 30's who is at the front desk most of the time better be glad his parents or grandparents own the place (I"m just assuming this) because he would have a hard time keeping a job at starbucks or anywhere there are customers. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you about your stay with us at the Downtown Value Inn. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, is an important tool for us to improve our hospitality in every way we can. We apologize that the service you received was unsatisfactory. Discourtesy is unprofessional and unacceptable. We were happy to hear that you were... More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is exactly what I expected- It allowed me somewhere to sleep and take breaks in between exploring Portland. The negative reviews are pretty absurd. It's an incredibly cheap hotel. If you go in expecting anything more than a solid bed and a base camp for your vacation, you're sorely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there are things that you think we could be doing different or doing better we would like to hear about it. We can be reached at guestrelations@downtownvaluinn.com. We hope that we will be your first choice in accommodations when you have... More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for a night because I was visiting a friend the next day, so I was looking for a place to get a few hours of sleep and a shower before she got in from the airport (I wasn't even there 8 hours). I have traveled a lot, and am usually not too picky about where I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. The opinions of our guests are very important to us. We were disappointed to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. We apologize that you had such a long wait to check in, and that the facilities did not meet your expectations. Especially things as fundamental as... More

Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

e wanted to stay for cheap in downtown Portland, and this place fit the price tag. I would recommend something else if you can afford it. The water in the shower had no pressure. We got a room that stunk of smoke on arrival (asked for non smoking), the heater in the room was so loud we could not sleep,... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

WORST motel I have ever stayed at!!!!! Please do not stay here! The staff is beyond RUDE and extremely UNPROFESSIONAL. They do not understand the concept of customer service. We were visiting Portland for the holidays and a good friend picked us up from the airport and brought us to the motel. The hotel desk clerk basically freaked out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have travelled to over 20 countries and have had a variety of lodging options from couch surfing and hostels to very exclusive hotels. This motel is the worst place I've have ever stayed. To say the staff is rude is an understatement. When our friend dropped us off at the motel, he hung out in our room for 30-40... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Those who book a place called "Value Inn" shouldn't expect luxury. I stayed here one night to save money (and then a nicer place afterward). It fit the need for a place to sleep, and I'm a pretty easygoing traveler. It's basically a motor inn/motel. It looks dated inside and out, but my bathroom was partly updated with a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When I booked this hostel about a month before my stay, it was under a different name, so it took us some time to actually locate it when I arrived in Portland. We were very unimpressed from the moment we walked in the door. The man at the desk was rude, impolite, and has absolutely no idea of customer service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Downtown Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Downtown Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Portland with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer