We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

#30 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown \/ RiverPlace
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    267
    191
    50
    15
    8
See reviews for
204
118
23
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (531)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I think we arrived at the hotel at an overly busy time, because our experience wasn't quite as good as many other reviewers enjoyed. The room was fine but a little run down: loose doorknobs, scuffs on walls, air conditioning that made many bumps and thumps at night. The room was not cleaned one day of the four we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for a weekend - Bath tub faucet was leaking and dripped. Told Asish and Chris at the desk next morning - They couldn't have been sweeter or nicer. Apologized and assured me they would have it fixed immediately and would make sure I was happy. They were totally true to their word. The tub was fixed and they left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Lois, I'm so thrilled that your stay ended on a positive note with us and appreciate knowing that both Asish and Chris made your stay memorable. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family stayed for one week as I had to attend a couple of business meetings. Location convenient to everything that Portland has to offer including a few days driving down to the wine country. No issue driving or taking the tram which stops right outside hotel to places in Portland. Front desk staff very good. Breakfast service and off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey H, How nice that your family was able to come with you - it makes business travel a little more bearable and summer is such a great time to be in Portland. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and appreciate the 5 star rating you gave us for both cleanliness and service. Thank you for... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly and helpful and accommodated our late check out needs. Room was nice and bed comfortable and even though you can see the freeway we never heard anything so we slept well. Nice area to walk the river front with some restaurants and a few shops close by. The transit system lite rail was right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear lvdejavu, Thank you for being our guest. It sounds like your family had an enjoyable stay and experienced Portland to the fullest with the ease of public transportation here downtown. Thank you for your comments regarding your suite being both comfortable and quiet. We're glad you experienced great service from our team as well. We receive many requests during... More 

Las Vegas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like Marriotts because they usually provide a good to very good standard room. This Residence Inn was new and did not disappoint. It has a nice lobby that has a large eating area for the free breakfast they provide. There food was a good offering of hot and cold items. Our room was clean nicely decorated and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear davsuze, We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay - hopefully you can visit for a longer trip next time to explore downtown Portland. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback - we are listening! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to move out of my home to have damage repaired. This was the second Residence Inn I stayed at. If the first, in Tje Pearl District had not been so awful I'd be saying this was my worst hotel experience in decades. The staff were attentive. Parking is expensive and tight. Think room for your Mini Cooper. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Benny C, I am puzzled at your review based on your mention of another hotel affecting your opinion of our hotel. Our hotel was renovated this year so I believe the "old carpet" you mention must have been another property. Please feel free to call me so that we can discuss your stay. More 

Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent a long time thinking about my review of this hotel and I am a big Marriott fan. First, the location was great, right on the river and a nice walk to OMSI. Second, the staff was really nice, especially the morning crew for breakfast. Third, the breakfast was great and the manager reception in the evening was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear jkw95, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our location and that you found the staff and service you received to be exceptional. Summer is peak season in Portland and we understand the nightly rates and parking can add up quickly. Residence Inn is known for our larger suites and having just... More 

Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a cycling tour in Portland. Hotel is well situated (although everything to the east of the hotel is not yet developed). Parking was $29 per night with few alternatives. Rooms were comfortable, we had a one bedroom suite. worked out well. I am told the breakfast is really good, but we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear BruceinFlorida, We're glad to hear you had a comfortable stay! Hope you had an equally enjoyable time biking in PDX. Thank you for staying with us. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in a studio room and I loved the renovated rooms. I always enjoy their breakfast, their staff are really nice. Waterfront running paths and local trax are easy to access. Their free grocery service is convenient during my long stays there. I look forward to staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Jill J, Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your experience in this review. We are also very pleased with the renovations and most of our returning guests this summer are also pleasantly surprised at all the changes! We hope to see you back soon. More 

Portland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we made a reservation and by mistake got it one day off, called and the hotel said not a problem to move reservation , then informed that sundays were premium days and we had to pay 60.00 more. the original reservation was nonrefundable according to the website. So we paid close to 400 for a nite at this hotel. Plus... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Der N8599Yurobertr, I'm sorry the reservation errors reflected on your impression of our hotel - we always recommend booking directly with the property as many third party sites are non-refundable. Additionally the rates do vary based on date and day of week depending on what is happening in the city. We strive very hard to make every guest feel welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (244)
Viewed
Room/suite (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (66)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#21 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay