We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

3.0 of 5 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    176
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
175
115
21
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (471)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The location is close to the water and a 20 mins walk to dt. I enjoyed the walk very much. The rooms are quite big and the beds are comfy. Breakfast is average and always busy. The staff is very kind and helpful as much as they can be. There is also a pub very close by with great prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear EMV27, Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace. We've had mild weather this winter and it's definitely allowed our visitors to take advantage of the Willamette Riverwalk. It sounds like you discovered many local spots downtown during your visit! I'm glad to know that you found the rooms comfortable as well... More 

Edwardsville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Dogs allowed but note well on website states pet fee $25. That is per day, which it does not state. Room very nice. Breakfast really good but be warned it can be crowded. Workout room was very nice as was the swimming pool. Monday through Wednesday they offer light evening snacks and drinks in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear WestChesterLodge, Thank you for recommending Residence Inn RiverPlace to other visitors considering a stay in downtown Portland. We're thrilled to hear your favorable comments about our complimentary breakfast and our evening social events as well. Happy New Year! More 

Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one weekday night recently - family of four plus a black lab. Yes, the lobby was under renovation so check-in was at a temporary table set up. We stayed on the 4th floor (facing west towards the city) and saw no construction, although there was a very slight new paint smell when getting off the elevator. Very quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear laguidotti, We appreciate your time and feedback! It sounds like you enjoyed our location for easy access to the Riverwalk and were able to get out and enjoy downtown. Thank you also for commenting on our indoor pool - it's one of the biggest in downtown and the natural light is amazing. We hope to see you again soon... More 

Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this normally quiet and efficient hotel is plagued by extreme noise due to construction. My advice -avoid This hotel till construction is completed. Horribly noise Despite excellent facilities and an excellent breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear KristinSW11, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of our hotel. This sometimes... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

It was a comfortable stay. We had a room with 1 king bed and a queen sized sofa bed. It fit my group of 5 comfortably, with 3 girls on the king bed and 2 boys on the sofa bed. The only bad thing I found was that our room smelled like bacon, and it made me feel dizzy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Patricia S, Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad to know you had a comfortable stay at Residence Inn RiverPlace but it is always our goal to provide our guests with extraordinary experiences, not just ordinary. Next time, please don't hesitate to reach out to us if everything is not exceptional with your suite and we will aim... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

The hotel is undergoing badly needed remodeling as of Dec 2014. We arrived tired with hungry kids after traveling all day across country. The lobby reception area is a pop up table with a table cloth and stuff everywhere - I guess the normal reception area is closed off. First clue we had a problem. We go up to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear CoupleWithGreatKids, It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. After traveling across the country I can understand that you were ready to relax and unwind. Simply stated, the upgrades taking place at the hotel do not affect any of the services and amenities that we offer and there was no noise... More 

Washougal, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Our stay was in December 2014. It surprised me how quiet the room was being right under the marquam. It really was. The people complaining about noise from the bridge confuse me. Upon check-in, we found parking would be $28/night. (Didn't book on Marriott's website, so it was undisclosed by the booking company.) That being said, seriously? $28 a night?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear KAH98671, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The items you mention about your suite are not typical for our hotel and we definitely want to make this right for you! Please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss further. Our team will continue to work hard to earn the trust you have placed in the Marriott... More 

Anchorage, AK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

The bad: No restaurant and not many within walking distance. The closest convenience store is only about ¼ mile away but it is all uphill and you have to cross a highway. My suggestion, use the streetcar. No laundry baskets available. The dishwasher is the loudest most obnoxious I have ever heard. Hopefully this will be corrected with the coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Sitkalyn, We appreciate the opportunity to serve you during your extended visit at OHSU. Thank you for sharing your feedback as your insight is valuable to our team. Many of the items you mention will be addressed with our remodel which will be complete in April 2015 - including the addition of a lobby bar with restaurant. All of... More 

Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We've stayed here many, many, many times. Stayed again a couple weeks ago. They have large rooms so when we travel with the kids, we get the 2 BR, 2 BA and it works out great. Clean property. Friendly staff. Fantastic, large breakfast included in the stay with many choices of hot and cold food. Location is right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear Beth M, Thank you for being such loyal guests of Residence Inn Portland Downtown RiverPlace! We strive to provide a consistent and comfortable experience and I'm thrilled to know that you continue to find the property up to par from the cleanliness to the service from our staff. We are also excited for the Christmas ships which will be... More 

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Facility needs a little freshening and staff not as attentive to picking up trash and the little extras that put Marriott above other chains. Disappointed that staff cut short the breakfast and started breaking down buffet 1/2 hour prior to reported closing time. Did not replenish coffee, juice. Breakfast staff tired looking, but that is the business. Otherwise a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace, responded to this review

Dear knife_n_fork32168, We appreciate your feedback and will continue to work hard to earn the trust you have placed in Marriott and our brands. I will share your comments regarding the cleanliness of the exterior grounds with our staff - this is generally an area where we shine. I'm glad to know that you found our location convenient and the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace

Address: 2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / RiverPlace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#35 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay