We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banfield Value Inn

Hotel website
1525 NE 37th Avenue, Portland, OR 97232
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Banfield Value Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was clean. It is Definitely a budget hotel. Dated decor. Neighborhood was scary for 2 women traveling without male accompaniment. Right next to the freeway. Can be a bit loud. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank SallieJ9
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were glad to hear that you found our hotel clean and staff friendly during your stay with us. We do apologize if the noise bothered you during your stay but hope that won't keep you from returning in the future. If you have any other comments you wish to make please email us at:... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

stayed here while visiting friends in the area. no shower curtain, couldn't check in because the staff was "busy " the previous night so I had to lock my bag in a utility space . Portland hotels are so expensive you probably wont find a much cheaper option. BUT it is next to the rail station so you can get... More 

Helpful?
Thank markessak
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were glad that you found us conveniently located and affordable but we were disappointed to hear that some of the accommodations were unsatisfactory. We also apologize for the delay in letting you check-in. We strive to make each guest's stay a warm and welcoming experience and we greatly value your feedback. If you'd like... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

Thought we would have an ok place to sleep. No way. There were 4 friends...3 towels.....the manager wouldn't give us a fourth. There was no info on where to smoke. The manager came to the door and started to rant about not smoking in the right area. When it was clear she wasn't going to inform and drop it...we started... More 

Helpful?
Thank patrickpmh
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide a warm and welcoming guest experience and sorry that we didn't seem to meet that for your stay. Also, we are sorry if policies and fees were not explained thoroughly and we would be happy to answer any further questions you may have. Email: gm@portlandvalueinns.com -Guest Relations More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

Surprised about how low people rated the motel. You can see it's old from the road - however the room was surprisingly nice, clean and updated - a hidden jewel. Didn't have a oder problem which was nice. Bed said it is a queen but seems more like a king. Large flat screen tv, furniture nice and tasteful. Bathroom great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev M
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We make it our goal to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all of our guests and we're glad to find that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your generous compliments, they are much appreciated! We look forward to having you back in the future. More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

One night I had done a long distant trip n was very tired n had to be at work later that night. I was not going to be driving home only to turn around n drive back into downtown. I always drive by this hotel. N need a hotel just to sleep before I go to bed. When u do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dcbabes433
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This motel is not worth $70 a night. The room we were supposed to be in had a broken toilet so after assuring them we did not break the toilet during the 3 minutes we were in that room they moved my fiancé and I to a double, smoking bedroom "just for one night". Three nights later we finally get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessika B
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My boyfriend and I were searching for reasonably priced hostels/motels upon our arrival to Portland and came across Banfield on hostel world. We booked online and got a very reasonable price for a good room. Its Basic, but no complaints there at all. All that you need and guest Laundry is sufficient and open all day. The guy at the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh S
North Plains, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was an urban vacation of sorts. I stayed several nights in this affordable and conveniently located motel.. No frills to speak of, but a great value which served my needs well. I did use the guest laundry, which though small was sufficient. Several great restaurants nearby as well as other attractions. Probably the single best feature of this motel... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Scotty Oregon M
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Scotty for taking the time to write a review of the Banfield here on TripAdvisor. We were happy to read that you found our rates to be reasonable, that the facilities and amenities met your expectations, and that you received the kind of service you deserve. We agree that our location makes a number of great local restaurants... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As the hostels recommended to us, which were located closer to Portland's city center. were all booked up, my fellow traveler and I searched the web and multiple hostel sites to find a place to stay. We booked this inn. When I called the afternoon of our stay to double check that everything was in order, though, the clerk on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IreneLZ243
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn, responded to this review

Lida we appreciate you taking the time to post your review of the Banfield here on TripAdvisor. We want to provide the best hospitality experience we can to all of our patrons. Honest feedback from our guests is the best way for us to learn where we are weak and where we are strong. Knowing that is absolutely crucial to... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I made a reservation via phone with a woman who claimed to be the owner/owner's wife. I was in the process of moving back to Portland and needed a place to stay until August. Upon my arrival I was greeted by a woman who confirmed my reservation until August.. I was told the room would be $385 a week, which... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank peterpan250
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.7 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 135 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.8 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#85 of 135 in Portland
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay