We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shilo Inn Rose Garden

2.0 of 5 1506 NE 2nd Ave., Portland, OR 97232
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    25
    27
    17
See reviews for
23
47
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars NEW

Need I say more? Wow...Can't believe that my door was open when I came back. I was there for a month and they never once dusted or wiped anything down. They made my bed and replaced the towels and soap but other than that...I had to dust my own room and wipe my own tables. Heard the Mariott treated their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient location, free wi-fi, free parking, helpful staff, clean rooms. Well priced for the center of town location. However the hotel is a little tired, 1st floor a little musty smelling, no exercise room, poor breakfast offering. Not terrible but you can do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this Portland hotel before. It's excellent location, reasonable rates and comfortable rooms brought me back, this time with husband. I was reading him the reviews on Expedia and a few were complaining of poor customer service and one out and out accused staff of stealing, most other reviews, however, were very positive and she nice my last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Allison C, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your room was checked when you had your privacy sign posted. I have reviewed this with the Executive Housekeeper and she also extends her apology for the inconvenience. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Okay, a lot of the reviews on here seem to treat this place like it's a hotel which it isn't. This is nothing more than a motel and potential guests should bear that in mind. That being said, it's a pretty dire motel too. Check in went smoothly enough but the room was awful. It was dirty and damp. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear swheads, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This hotel is a little dated but I found it to have good value for the price we paid. <$75 a night after tax> . We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is centrally located and an easy commute to downtown portland. It is very close to the convention center, mall and stadium. While we were there the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear travj1212, Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Long Beach, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Reserved the room in advance and expected a lot more for the $107 rate, plus tax, than we experienced. Tiny room, with the sink in the entry hall--always very awkward. The shower/toilet room had barely enough room to close the door. Air conditioning system was not run on a thermostat, so it was very difficult to get a comfortable setting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear ssmccmormick, Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We sincerely hope that you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I'm going to stay in this hotel from Nov. 15 to Nov. 19 during a conference. I called the hotel for changing a hotel room. Jason was so nice to handle all requests that I ask for. Thank you again, Jason. I can't wait to stay in this hotel soon. :D

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Entomophilous, Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns and for your review. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments about Jason. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 or the 4 nights we were in Portland, visiting our daughter and her husband. We spent a 4th night on the coast. I picked the Shilo Inn because of availability [on relatively short notice], price, and convenience to where my daughter lives. It seemed a lot of other places were already booked up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear DonEOshkosh, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. We hope to see you again for a future stay. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Marysville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I wanted a cheap place to spend one night in downtown Portland, but wanted to go with a hotel chain so I at least felt like there were some standards. Well, the reason I gave this hotel a rating of 2 is because they do have some standards. This is what I liked about the place: the bathroom and frig... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear MP, Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We hope to see you again for a future stay. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

No surprises when westay at a Shilo. Considering it's location we found it the best value. Room very clean, comfortable bed and the staff very courteous...................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear dodadave1, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shilo Inn Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Rose Garden

Address: 1506 NE 2nd Ave., Portland, OR 97232
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Portland Rose Garden Hotel Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay