We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shilo Inn Rose Garden

1506 NE 2nd Ave., Portland, OR 97232
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shilo Inn Rose Garden
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
23
48
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would say this is more of a drive-through motel (something off the main highway) as opposed to an Inn. We visited this hotel recently (April) and didn't have high expectations but were somewhat surprised by the standards considering the price. We stayed several nights and each night, found ourselves locked out of our rooms because the room keys wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want to write an objective review about this hotel. Although I have read the negative comments, we still stayed for 4 nights here just recently. We chose this hotel for it's LOCATION & PRICE. This is our 3rd visit to Portland and the first two visits we stayed around the cluster of hotels by the airport and we just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear pinkpixel, Thank you for your review. I sincerely appreciate you being a valued Shilo guest. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the shilo rose garden location for a dance competition my daughter was in. Housekeeping came in to clean the room, and went through our bags. They took all of my daughters team makeup, brushes, eyelashes, as well as my makeup. The hotel did not seem surprised when notified. Warning..do not stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Convenient location, free wi-fi, free parking, helpful staff, clean rooms. Well priced for the center of town location. However the hotel is a little tired, 1st floor a little musty smelling, no exercise room, poor breakfast offering. Not terrible but you can do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joseph, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this Portland hotel before. It's excellent location, reasonable rates and comfortable rooms brought me back, this time with husband. I was reading him the reviews on Expedia and a few were complaining of poor customer service and one out and out accused staff of stealing, most other reviews, however, were very positive and she nice my last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Allison C, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your room was checked when you had your privacy sign posted. I have reviewed this with the Executive Housekeeper and she also extends her apology for the inconvenience. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Okay, a lot of the reviews on here seem to treat this place like it's a hotel which it isn't. This is nothing more than a motel and potential guests should bear that in mind. That being said, it's a pretty dire motel too. Check in went smoothly enough but the room was awful. It was dirty and damp. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear swheads, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This hotel is a little dated but I found it to have good value for the price we paid. <$75 a night after tax> . We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is centrally located and an easy commute to downtown portland. It is very close to the convention center, mall and stadium. While we were there the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear travj1212, Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Long Beach, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Reserved the room in advance and expected a lot more for the $107 rate, plus tax, than we experienced. Tiny room, with the sink in the entry hall--always very awkward. The shower/toilet room had barely enough room to close the door. Air conditioning system was not run on a thermostat, so it was very difficult to get a comfortable setting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear ssmccmormick, Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We sincerely hope that you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I'm going to stay in this hotel from Nov. 15 to Nov. 19 during a conference. I called the hotel for changing a hotel room. Jason was so nice to handle all requests that I ask for. Thank you again, Jason. I can't wait to stay in this hotel soon. :D

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Entomophilous, Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns and for your review. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments about Jason. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 or the 4 nights we were in Portland, visiting our daughter and her husband. We spent a 4th night on the coast. I picked the Shilo Inn because of availability [on relatively short notice], price, and convenience to where my daughter lives. It seemed a lot of other places were already booked up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear DonEOshkosh, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. We hope to see you again for a future stay. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question