We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moolack Shores Motel

Certificate of Excellence
8835 N. Coast Highway 101, Newport, OR 97365
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moolack Shores Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

And we had one..:) Older motel but all themed rooms are very clean and the ocean view rooms are right over beach..:) wonderful (No privacy) but no problems with that.. and a woodstove in every room.. ..quiet quaint and will be back.. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank LeAnne H
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return in the future! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Average Motel with comfy beds and friendly service.The views here are amazing and the beach access is great! I stayed in the Camelot room. Nice deck and cozy fireplace. Will definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank seatlstarr
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at Moolack Shores. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at Moolack Shores Motel that we found by chance. We therefore stayed two nights instead of one. Watched the ocean from our window, had a fire in our iron stove and the next day took a long walk on the beach by low tide. Great!

Helpful?
Thank Maria K
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us . . . we are very happy you found us during your travels and enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Great place with ocean view. Stayed in the antique room and would like to keep going back till I have stayed in each room. Would be perfect for winter storm watching and they have very good winter rates. Room was clean and pleasant. I was very pleased to have a real size coffee maker.

Helpful?
Thank Melaine M
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are very happy you had a "relaxing" visit! Many people love to come and watch the winter storms and whale migrations from out ocean front rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I found the Moolack Shores Motel online while searching for a place to stay in Newport, Oregon. After reading the reviews I decided this was the place of us and was happy we stayed there. It's right on the ocean. The view was fantastic. Our first night there we saw a beautiful sunset, listened to the ocean and the night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Granny15
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Hello we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Moolack Shores Motel! The Western room is one of our favorites too...great views to the ocean and also south to the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. The Hawaiian Room is a big favorite of our guests as well with great ocean views and views all the way up the beach to the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in number 2 Nostalgia. Outdated and sub par cleanliness, but the sheets and towels were clean. Wifi didn't work very well. Sliding glass door lock was broken. But they did provide a stick to put in the door jam. No offer for fresh linens. The "private deck" wasn't very private, and the septic field was located within a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtpackfan
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We appreciate you staying with us. We make it a top priority to make sure the rooms are as clean as possible at all times and encourage our guests to notify us if something is out of place or not up to your expectations. We update our beds and furnishings on a regular basis, however we... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
487 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Each of the rooms in the motel has a different theme for their décor---we stayed in the Racer Room because it has a great view of the beach. It is a great location with stairs leading to the beach, tide pools (during low tide) and great photo ops of the light house at sunrise and sunset. Short drive to Newport.

Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for saying with us and writing your review. We are definitely different from your average motel with our themed rooms. Hope you liked it as much as we do and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

My husband and I brought my sister (who is from Texas) here for 2 days. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room and absolutely loved it. Sis couldn't get over her very first view of the Pacific and spent lots of time beachcombing and taking pictures. She can't wait to come back here(neither can we)! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Helpful?
Thank happynoncamper2015
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are excited that we could be your sister's first experience on the Oregon coast! We are glad you enjoyed your room and that you had a great stay. Please come back and see us again soon! More 

Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

My husband and I travel often and have stayed in rooms all over the U.S., Europe and Canada. I can unequivocally rate this place as terrible. We were travelling around Oregon on a 12 day vacation taking in the scenery. Most of our reservations had been made months prior to our trip but we left a few days toward end... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandM44
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your business very much and we are sorry you feel this way. We are definitely not a "resort", we are a small independent motel that cares greatly about all of our guests. We want to make sure everyone that stays with us has the best experience possible. The $20 discrepancy in the room rate was due to the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Four of us rented two rooms for one night in September 2016. It was amazing. Unfortunately, we got in late and were unable to watch the sunset. Waking up in the morning as the sun slowly rose at our backs was amazing. We drank coffee on our deck that overlooked one of the most beautiful sites there is. I could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George P
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review! Sorry you missed the sunset because it's normally spectacular. We are small and quaint and we feel that's how most of our friends like it when they stay here. Very happy you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back to stay any time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#5 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Starfish Point Condos
Starfish Point Condos
#1 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities