We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

#10 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    299
    278
    120
    52
    18
See reviews for
280
316
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (767)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (358)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Bothell WA
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The ocean breeze from our room was priceless. Our kids loved the walk to the beach and the adventure of climbing up and down the sand dunes. The restaurant food was delicious and the daily breakfast special was nice on the budget!! The pool needed a good cleaning or a new filter perhaps?

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here 8/17/15 to 8/20/15. The view from our room on the 4th floor was great. Sunsets when not cloudy, were awe inspiring. Walk across the two lane road to the sand and walk to the ocean. The tide came in every evening, cleaned the sand and left new things to look at. Our room was very clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Robb5, I am so sorry about your wife not sleeping the first night, I am glad that my staff was able to help out the problem. I appreciate your comments about the service and your breakfast. I hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you for your review. Judy More 

Auburn, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Super ocean view and ease of parking were highlights. Ate in the bar and it was really pretty good. Staff was very helpful and Yes a free paper. In room coffee was good. I asked for more coffee and maid was very helpful

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

John I, Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our bar, I love to hear that my staff was very accommodating to you! Judy More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We originally planned a one-night stay in Newport, but extended it to two nights - staff were happy to accommodate the change. This is a large building and property, with a terrific beach view on the west side. We highly recommend an ocean view room: beautiful vista, and the added bonus of the ocean waves to lull one to sleep.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

alphabetkid, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, keep an eye out as I have ordered some new carpet and furnishings for out public areas. I hope you will come stay with us next time you are in town. Thank you for your review. Judy More 

Tracy, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not typical for a Best Western. Very large hotel which is dated. Our room had some newer furniture but the mattress was terrible, sagged in the middle, and clearly past its useful life. I did not get a good night's sleep and woke up with back pain. We could not figure out why the refrigerator and coffee did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

CAfoodandwinelo, I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay! Our beds are not that old but have had to place a warranty claim on a few of the King size one. We are in the process of updating the hotel to a more modern feel as it is dated. I have already ordered new carpet and furnishings just... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was average, walls thin, restaurant good, pool and hot tub excellent. They do put a $50 charge on your card in case you use room service, please make sure to ask them to refund it when you leave if you do not use it. Pet friendly, which is not problem except for the rude guests who let their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Jane H, Thank you for your review! The $50.00 is only an authorization and does release when you check out! Some banks do hold the funds longer than others. We have a policy that pets are not to be left alone in the rooms unless eating in the restaurant and we ask guest to let us know. So I apologize... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a room with Beach Views. The property is nice with a grassy area just outside on the way to the beach. A restaurant overlooking the water. We had a great time with our family celebrating my husband's 65th Birthday. We spent time at the golf course which is a beautiful setting, Plus walked around town which is on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Marsha062, What a fun way to spend a birthday! I love the pictures. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and hope you will come stay with us again. Judy More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on the beach. Beautiful view. Lots to do in the area. Restaurant food was good. Bar was fun and nice patio and free popcorn. The rooms are large, balconies are small, no room for chairs, but we turned the room chairs around and opened the slider and enjoyed the views. Great location to Newport, Depoe Bay, Lincoln City and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Barbara L, Thank you for your great review, I appreciate you writing it! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you had a great time visiting the area and all there is to do. Judy More 

Lake Oswego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the wonderful vista of the shore line. There was a safe and unhurried access to a lovely sand beach. There were plenty of dunes as well as hard packed sand for strolling, building sand structures, flying kites. For sun and fair weather, August and September are great times to visit the Oregon coast. The Agate Beach Inn has... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

David H, Sounds like you had a great time here at the beach and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Judy More 

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Couples getaway weekend, and we splurged for an ocean view. It was great. Very clean. Staff very helpful. Everything in good working order and you had just about anything you needed. Typical Best Western consistency. This hotel is a short walk out the back deck to the beach and mini-sand-dunes area. Lighthouse to the North and lots of walking/exploring available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review

Freebird300, I am so glad that you were able to do a getaway and come and stayed with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for recommending us! Judy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#5 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.0 mi away
Starfish Point Condos
Starfish Point Condos
#2 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay