We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chinook Winds Casino Resort

1501 NW 40th Place, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Rate this Hotel

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    89
    87
    63
    71
See reviews for
64
194
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (371)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We like staying at this hotel,beds are nice the view is FANTASTIC! But why should it be so consistent that getting in your room at check in time is impossible,for one check in at 4pm is late to begin with but having to wait longer and the frustration is not good to start for relaxation! When we arrived at 4pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review. I am glad you like staying with us. I agree that the view is just spectacular. I apologize for our error at check in. I am glad our team took care of it for you right away. I will definitely share your feedback with the team. I hope... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great local casino to watch a concert. Friendly employees, good food. Beach on location. Clean, easy to find parking. Beautiful golf course, and sports bar offering the Sunday Ticket. Fair pricing. #Foreigner

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Chinook Winds Casino Resort. I am so happy you enjoyed the service, food, location and cleanliness. I'm glad you enjoy Aces Sports Bar and Grill and that you think our golf course is beautiful. We really do have the full resort experience here and I am delighted you are happy with the experience... More 

Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were suppose to check in at 4 we weren't able to get in till 6:30, the employees were rude, we paid with cash then found out we were also charged $ 350 dollars on a credit card still trying to fix that error, housekeepers said she saw ashs if she saw ashs it was because it wasn't cleaned up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact me directly at 541-996-5767 if you would like to discuss your experience. I am so very sorry that you did not receive the efficient, warm service we always want to provide our guests. I assure you we take our guest comments quite seriously and value... More 

Bend, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was one of the worst I've ever stayed in. The tiny room was in a basement with an ice machine right outside the door and paperthin walls. The first night was very cold and the heater didn't work. I had to sleep in my clothes listening to the man next door snore. The next day someone came in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I am so sorry we did not provide you with the pleasant experience we wish to provide for all of our guests. Please feel free to give me a call at 541-996-5767 should you wish to talk about your stay. While the particular room type you reserved is... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I checked in to my room around 9pm due to a long drive. Once I got in the room, I was unpacking my things. Noticed hair in the sink. No big deal, it happens. As I always do, I pulled the covers back on the bed. It looked like somebody had laid in the bed. After that, I inspected the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you know from your previous stays, your recent experience is not to our usual standards. Please contact me at 541-996-5767 if you'd like to further discuss your stay. We will, of course, follow up with our team regarding your comments. I am sorry your visit was not the clean, friendly experience we usually provide.... More 

Portland, OR
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night for a birthday celebration - 3 couples, 3 rooms, all the same price. 1 couple had a room in building C, with ocean view, lots of room, etc etc. We were not that couple. STAY AWAY FROM BUILDING D. If they want to put you there, say no. The rooms are the smallest I've ever been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was happy to hear you found the room to be clean and the bed, towels and toiletries were to your liking. Our oceanfront location with convenient beach access is always a hit! I understand your viewpoint on our "compact queen" room type. We've designed those rooms to provide a... More 

Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
1,052 reviews 1,052 reviews
174 hotel reviews
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Free market should rule in this industry. These Indian casinoes are not being fair to the public. They have the corner on this market to deliver inferior goods and services and what was standard in old Nevada before this unfair competition is now poor rooms, poor customer service expensive food drinks and entertainment. This could be great for all, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was delighted to hear you found the salmon to be wonderful, as well as our beach location. I apologize if any other part of your experience was anything less than the cheerful and lively gaming experience we wish to offer. We hope you will visit us again and... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For my 72nd birthday the wife and I had made a reservation for a one night getaway using your beach Getaway coupon which we recently received in your flyer. I was told we could check in after 4 o'clock. We arrived a few minutes after four and were told house keeping didn't have our room ready yet and it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Fred B, for sharing your experience. I am so sorry that you did not receive the efficient and warm welcome we endeavor to provide. We will share your comments with our team for training purposes. I hope you give Chinook Winds Casino Resort another try in the future. Thank you again for providing your feedback; we really do... More 

Moses Lake, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were apprehensive in stopping from reading some of the reviews. We loved our stay, the room was very nice and clean, the check-in was a breeze with wonderful employee's. We walked to the casino on property, very nice, not to smoky. We ate at a nearby restaurant, food good. Walked to the beach next morning and Mark did a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We so appreciate you giving us a chance to show you why we always say "It's Better at the Beach!". I am very glad you enjoyed your interaction with our Front Desk team. We think they're wonderful, too! I'm looking forward to checking out your video. Thanks again for your feedback. I hope we get the... More 

Vancouver, Wa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted better food so ate at the main restaurant on the water next to the hotel...They do have excellent food, pricey, but the worst customer service ever...Not enough help to handle the business, on a busy weekend...Unless you have lot's of time to waste, and don't care waiting 25 minutes to get a cup of coffee before dinner, do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am quite happy to hear you found your food to be excellent. I apologize that our business volume at that particular time prevented you from having the timely and friendly service we always wish to provide. We will definitely alert the team to your comments as we strive... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question