We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chinook Winds Casino Resort

1501 NW 40th Place, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    88
    64
    74
See reviews for
67
198
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Oregon
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had reservations for a beachfront room in one of the older buildings. We were told by the not so friendly desk clerk that they didn't have any of our reserved rooms left and wanted to put us on the bottom floor, something we won't do. However, after some back and forth negotiation, and $20.00 more a night, we stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would like to start by thanking you for your review. It is through comments such as the one you have provided that we are able to see where we need to improve. While I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I am saddened that our team did not provide you with amazing guest service. It is... More 

Hayden Lake, Idaho
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just stayed in Lincoln City for 4 days and spend time on 3 days at this casino. It is big enough to absorb what always looks to be large crowds. There is good RV parking on site, the upstairs restaurant was awesome with really nice ocean views. There wasnt enough bars for our liking, only one on the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! We appreciate the review. The parking on site does make it very convenient for those traveling with their RV. I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant but do apologize for the lack of bars through out. I noticed that at the end of your review you... More 

oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel on a very reasonable offer. Had stayed in this hotel when it was a Shilo Inn and had never gone back. It was that bad. Boy is that different now. They have done and excellent remodel of the rooms. Our room was a king no smoking, and it was huge. The bed faced the window ant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We work dilligenty to ensure that our guests have received the very best service and accommodations. I look forward to welcoming you once again to Chinook Winds Casino Resort. Please give us a call when you are ready to return. Thank... More 

Riverside, California, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the 3 floor beachfront which is ok but the worth is the people above us keeping walk a bove us all night long making noise and we did not get reast at all and when we talked to the front disk they said they can't control the guest and they was not helpful at all, for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests. I apologize for not resolving the issue immediately, and I will address that with the team. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Lincoln City. Should you choose to give us another chance (and... More 

Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived with the expectation to have a nice 3 night stay on the beach. We made reservations for the Jr. Suites. We thought that the fireplace was a nice option and the layout to be inviting. Although the view was outstanding, below is a list of problems and complaints that we felt are worth mentioning which prompted us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stacy K, Sales Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I certainly understand and appreciate the need for everything to function as it should and I am sorry for the error with the keys and the issue with the fireplace. I was more dismayed to hear you received anything less than kind, quick and courteous customer service. We believe our... More 

lakeside or
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay and found the check-in friendly and efficient. The rooms are plain but request an ocean view-the attached restaurant serves a reasonable and excellent sunset special dinner and breakfast was better and less expensive than the pancake houses in town. Friendly, excellent service. We stayed two nites and suggest that they make a better effort to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would like to start by thanking you for your review. I have taken your suggestion of having the stay-over rooms cleaned earlier in the day and will be reviewing this with our team. I greatly appreciate your comments, concerns, and suggestions. If you would like to chat further about your stay please give me a call at... More 

Manson, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice casino right on the ocean and all rooms with a view of the ocean. Half of the hotel is old and was a little disappointed with it, wish we had asked for the new part of the hotel. Casino was very nice and big.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would to start by thanking you for the review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You mention the newer building, that is our Jr. Suites building. Next time you call to book, ask for a Jr. Suite and they will get you booked in that building. I look forward to welcoming you once... More 

Kelso, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made reservations for two couples in the compact casino-view rooms before reading any reviews. After reading the reviews, yikes!, we considered canceling and staying in a condo or house like we usually do, but we had never stayed at this casino so decided to give it a shot and consider it an adventure. We got checked in right on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I would like to start by thanking you for your review. I really appreciate your input and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to to welcoming you once again to Chinook Winds Casino Resort. Thank you, Shelly Stapleton Hotel Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off they lost my reservation saying I wasn't set up even though I handed the guy my confirmation email. My dad had a separate reservation (they booked him 2 rooms when he asked for 1). Room was clean until the next morning, bugs in the bathroom. Took a shower, grabbed a towel, thought wow its awfully fluffy still for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I wanted to start by thanking you for your review. I would like to apologize that the towels were not to your liking. We will look into this situation and have it addressed. I greatly appreciate your feedback and would enjoy having you stay with us again. I would like to discuss your stay further, if you would... More 

Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the restful and quiet time alone I was hoping for. The entire staff needs retrained in customer service and CLEANLINESS. The only way I can describe my experience is DISGUSTING and I will NOT ever come back, even comped

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would like to start by first, thanking you for your review. I apologize that your experience with us was far from perfect. That is absolutely not the way things should be and I was hoping that you might be willing to discuss your concerns in better detail. Please give me a call at 541-557-4304. I look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

347 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (240)
Viewed
Other (100)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Junior King Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question