We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chinook Winds Casino Resort

1501 NW 40th Place, Lincoln City, OR 97367 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    100
    92
    65
    76
See reviews for
70
208
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I have been coming to the casino for several years (their buffet is pretty good!) but had never stayed at the hotel. The opportunity came up to take a couple days off, so we decided to book a night at the hotel. The hotel office is found through a maze of parking lots. Turning where you think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The casino has closed their free RV parking. Is was going to happen, The number of home less boondocking most likely had something to do with it. If you are looking for a good dry camping good luck around Lincoln Chinook_Winds_Casino_Resort-Lincoln_City_Oregon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

Montesano, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights at Chinook Winds,the room was really worn and outdated, there's no elevators so if your elderly and unable to pack your bags up and down 2 flights of stairs don't stay there,the door to the outside was broken or something and wouldn't shut properly so being by the beach we got that breeze coming in at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We aim to ensure our guests have a great time when they are here and it sounds like we were unable to provide that to you. I would love the opportunity to chat with you... More 

Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Purchased tickets for the Dwight Yoakum concert. Had a great dinner in the buffet. Highly recommend visiting Jess and the Stir Fry Station. Not only he is entertaining but what he puts out is outstanding. The fry bread is second to none. And the buffet itself is outstanding. NO disappointment here. Had a grand time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stacy K, Hotel Director at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. I am so very glad you had such a great time. It is exactly our hope to provide a fun and memorable experience and it sounds like we hit the mark. That fry bread is a true standout and we love to share it with our guests. Please come back and see us again... More 

Munich
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They do offer a non smoking section, but you have to walk through sections with people smoking to get there - yuck! No servers offering you free drinks like they do in Vegas (at least we did not see any while we were there) but there was a beverage bar where you could get non alcoholic drinks for free. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for the review of our casino. I am very sorry that your experience with us was less than perfect and that our team was not helpful. I assure you that your concerns will be addressed. I would like to chat with you further about your visit with us. Please give me a call at 541-557-4304. Sincerely,... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me first say that I had very l low expectations of this place. We were traveling the Oregon coast and made no resies in advance, because we never knew where we would end up at night. We were pleasantly surprised. It was pretty old and rough looking (the hotel) but sits right on the water. The views are fantastic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am pleased to hear that your room was clean, our team members were pleasant and helpful, and that you enjoyed your meals. We strive to ensure that each of our guests have a great experience and it sounds like you did. Thank you, Shelly Stapleton Hotel Manager More 

Green Valley, Arizona
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overpriced, small room with no amenities. Bathroom was dirty. Had an oceanfront room with nice picture window but the window was dirty so couldn't enjoy the view. Wifi was so terrible we gave up in the end.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am very sorry that your was dirty and our WiFi was not working. I really appreciate you letting us know of your experience.The issues that you have mentioned in your review will be addressed immediately. I hope to get the opportunity to chat further with you about... More 

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here for my husband's 30th birthday and from the minute we checked in to the moment we left we were very impressed. They upgraded us to a suite with no extra charge and the hotel staff/shuttle service was awesome. The beach is very clean on that side of town. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am happy to hear that you and your husband really enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, Shelly Stapleton Hotel Manager More 

Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent customer service, from the time I made the reservation, until trying to locate a lost makeup bag. Very helpful, very attentive. Very professional. Buffet was wonderful, even won a little money! Updates needed and repairs on the hotel. Dry rot on the front door. Chipped bathtub, carpeting ok, dull uninviting color schemes. Ocean front view, wonderful! The bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. While it sounds like you had a good time, it also sounds like we missed some pretty important details. I am very sorry that we failed to catch those things. It is through reviews such as the one you have provided that we can truly improve... More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Great time and good lodging at Chinook Winds Hotel and Casino. The rooms are clean and the service at the front desk is outstanding ! They are so helpful and polite. Great fun. The Bus is available to drop you off at the Casino, The bus runs 24 hours and the drivers are pleasant, happy people. Good Rooms with beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelly S, Manager at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff was outstanding. We strive to ensure each of our guests have a memorable trip. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Shelly Stapleton Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

348 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (240)
Viewed
Accessible Junior Queen Suite (37)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Deluxe King Ocean View Room (26)
Viewed
Junior King Suite (35)
Viewed
King - Queen Combo Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities