We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Lodge
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    146
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
81
168
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Vancouver, B.c.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great room with a view of the river. It was very quiet and clean with friendly, helpful staff. Our room had a very comfortable king sized bed, a fridge, a microwave, and even a real potted plant! On top of all that, it was well within our budget. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had another great stay at the Vagabond Lodge. We had the same room as last time. We probably should try another room but it is so pleasant that we may just keep asking for it. What was good about the room? Very large with a great view of the Columbia River. Very quiet. Many of the rooms in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aloha, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Selected the Vagabond as we have always wanted to stay here. Stayed in Room #60 which is a suite and it was really a very nice room. The only thing that was wrong was that the gas fireplace didn't work, but the hotel compensated us for that. A nice quiet place on the river. The manager said that they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you had a great time and for visiting us! Hopefully next time we can get the eagles to fly by your building; the room you were in is a very popular eagle-sighting room. Thanks again! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful room and excellent scenery. Only negative that's keeping this from a five out of five is the distance from the main area of town. We stayed in (I think) the newest buildings so I can't say much about the rest of the hotel but our room was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, we are about a mile and a half to two from town, but because we're a short distance away things are a bit quieter and more serene. Glad you enjoyed your room too, we'll keep on making even more improvements! Thanks again More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and keep coming back and will continue to I recommend a river view room .only thing I was disappointed that our favorite front desk girl no longer works there :( it's a shame manessa was a delightful person to see every time we visited .she was the friendly face a hotel needs sad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, every once in a while someone here moves or switches fields. It doesn't happen too often but when it does we still keep in touch and she's doing well. Thanks again! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a wonderful weekend at the Vagabond and Hood River. The oldness of the building is deceptive, The rooms are inexpensive, clean and well kept. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Loved the spectacular view from the back room. Hope to be a regular to The Vagabond. Joy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you had a great time visiting us! Please do give us a call anytime you visit hood River and we'll reserve a favorite room for you. We'll keep making that view even better as well. Thanks again! More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

loved this place. Was kept up nicely and staff was beyond friendly. We had the queen room with the river view. Did not hear the neighbors one time and had a peaceful relaxing stay. Will recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks, glad you had a great stay with us! We'll keep on keeping things up and making improvements as well, thanks again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to thank the staff at the vagabond in Hood River. The rooms were clean and cozy and the view is amazing. Also every person we met associated with the Vegabond was kind and very helpful!I recommend this hotel to any type of person. Thank you for making our experience wonderful from extremely comfy beds to a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review and for your kind words. We like to care for our little place, and the people that choose to visit and stay with us. Thanks again! More 

New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely location. Beautiful setting. Nice wood and stone ambience admidst greenery. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room put together very thoughtfully like in B-and-Bs. We stopped for a night, wish we could have spent more time here. Away from it all yet a very short drive into Hood River town, which by the way is a quaint and nice little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, please do stop by next time you have a little more time to explore the area! We'll have some more surprises and improvements (stonework and woodwork around the grounds) done next time you visit; thanks again! More 

Bellevue
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I went to the "Apple Fest", in Hood River. We chose the Vagabond from reviews that I read. It is wonderful. The location is right along the Columbia and the views all around, are breathtaking. Get a room with a view, its worth waking up and seeing the river when you open the curtains. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant P, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks much for your review, glad you enjoyed waking up to our views out back! We've got some more improvements we're working on so guests can enjoy a nice warm evening overlooking the water. Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question