We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gearhart by the Sea

Hotel website
1157 N Marion, Gearhart, OR 97243
Special Price
30% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gearhart by the Sea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gearhart by the Sea
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    8
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Lower Mainland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our four night stay in an ocean view one bedroom suite through a third party company and received confirmation. When we arrived at the front desk, the unwelcoming receptionist informed us that they didn't have any ocean view deluxe suite available for four nights and that we could have a standard no-view unit instead. There was no apology,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt you were not getting good customer service from us. I will look into that situation and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention as we want you and all our guest to have a great experience with us. More 

Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Background: Family of 4 (two teenagers) and dog visiting during spring break. This has got to be the best little vacation we have ever booked. We rented a 2 bed/ 2 bath condo for 2 nights. We found this place on travelocity for 1/2 the price offered by the hotel site (avg 141.00 per night) and it is worth every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Great golf across the street. Ocean behind the 'hotel'. Short drive to Seaside. Stayed in a 3rd floor loft, facing the ocean. Spectacular view. Cozy, clean, full cooking facilities. Village of Gearhart has a couple of good restaurants/cafes. Clubhouse has good eats. Golf course runs scrambles every month. Lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Bend, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This is our default place to stay on the Oregon Coast. Just 2 miles out of Seaside, so cheaper rates, but just down the road from beach side shopping and boardwalk type fun. Plus they have a great pet policy, each child gets their own space, and a kitchen to cook in making the cost of a vacation a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The condo was clean and had a great view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was the perfect end to a long day of driving. Ocean view. Fireplace. Pet friendly. Non smoking. Full kitchen. All in all, a lovely place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We've stayed here many times over the years. Sometimes just myself and my wife, other times with a group of 6 people. Rates are very reasonable and rooms are clean with nice views of the ocean and the grassland between. The beach is a short walk away. Across the street is a warm and inviting McMennimans restaurant and pub. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I've been going here since I was a child and I believe this will unfortunately be my last stay. I agree with others that their front desk staff could use basic customer service training, however my main concern came with the housekeeping. The 2nd day we were there we had two girls come by around 2 or 3 in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Elisa R, We appreciate that you have been staying with us since you were a child. I have spoken with the Head of the Housekeeping department and the Head of the Front Office regarding the concerns you had. Unless you have a do post a do not disturb notice on your door housekeeping will knock on your door and... More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is great. Went for a wedding that was held there. The food was good and the people that work there are terrific. The room and bed were very comfortable. All wood interior, a lot of history to this place. Very quiet. There are only 900+ people living in Gearhart. Nice ice creamery/fudge shop too., which both were delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This condo was perfect! Great, great, great for a family getaway. Plenty of room, clean, well equipped and decorated and for the most part toddler proof. No clutter or attractive nuisances :). The kitchen was by far the best, better than my home kitchen, and had everything one could possibly need. Will definitely be returning to 616. This condo is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

You need to train the people at the check-in desk to be more hospitable, especially Sandy. She didn't smile and wasn't welcoming at all. We called to change rooms after we found construction noise too loud for a restful stay. She was very rude on the phone. Our room was finally changed, no thanks to Sandy. The head housekeeper, Mandy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question