We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Gearhart hotels

Gearhart by the Sea

1157 N Marion, Gearhart, OR 97243
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gearhart by the Sea to your Saves list
Gearhart by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
54%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Gearhart
A recent review
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came to Gearheart by the Sea on a Sunday, stayed in room 604, pleasantly decorated and well equipped. Balcony with partial ocean view, bed was not very comfy. Loved this resort, right across from McMenamins and you can drive on the beach with an access road right next to resort. We will be back for sure, but wanting an ocean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband myself and our two young children stayed for five days in room 637. It was comfortably furnished had a nice flat screen tv, was clean and had a beautiful view! The pool was nice and warm and the family had a great time swimming, it was a little confusing getting to the pool the first time but easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our second stay in unit 691 at Gearhart by the Sea. All of the units here are individually owned. This unit is great. It is one bedroom (king bed) with an additional upstairs loft with two twins. The open living area is nice with a huge deck overlooking the Pacific down towards Seaside. The kitchen is adequate in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Two of our children and their families spent two days and one night (in two different units) at Gearhart by the Sea. Our Unit (#652) which allowed our dog, was well located, fairly modern, clean with possibly the best equipped kitchen we have encountered in all our travels. The two bedrooms with two bathrooms were much appreciated, albeit without a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We'd driven down from Vancouver and arrived late on a busy holiday Friday. We were greeted by helpful staff across the road in the hotel where admin for this flat is located. The flat itself overlooked other holiday homes with the ocean beyond. The accommodation was very spacious, well equipped and ideal for a self-catering stay. Shirley in admin' was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
westminster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Gearhart, after driving from Portland. We opened the door to find a beautiful condo, nicely furnished, with a welcoming deck. I wouldn't consider the view to be an ocean view, however you could see beyond the units directly in front and see the ocean beyond. We were treated to a different kind of view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times and have had some wonderful memories but that WAS NOT the case this summer. We rented the UNIT #660 as a pet unit to take our sweet dog. We have always stayed in pet units and have NEVER had a problem like this unit. The overwheling odor of cat urine hits you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
huguenot new york
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two days in August. Beautiful unit with ocean view. Nice indoor pool. Unit was well equipped, it was very comfortable. My only complaint was that it was not cool enough to use the fireplace! On our last morning we saw a small herd of elk walking along the bluff above the beach! Wish we had spent more time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently stayed there for a honeymoon, in room 607. Although the trip was amazing and we enjoyed ourselves, the room was not the least bit comfortable. For starters, the main bedroom bed was as hard as a rock and no mater how well we tried, it was not working for us. So we moved to the pull out bed from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This unit is so much in need of upgrading. It has a limited view of ocean. Dishwasher is so poor, you can't utilize it to the max. Terrible waste of space. No disposal. Deck is ugh! Bathrooms need serious attention. Housekeeping staff is attentive, but simply does not cover for the deficiencies in this unit. They've jammed in as much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your stay. We do not have garbage disposals in the units because we are on a septic system as there is no city sewer. I will look at the dishwasher and have it repaired or replaced. I will send your response to the owner of this unit regarding your concerns. Thanks, Paul Tice... More

Been to Gearhart by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart
Address: 1157 N Marion, Gearhart, OR 97243
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gearhart by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.