We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard

Certificate of Excellence
9600 NE Worden Hill Road, Dundee, OR 97115
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cave Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've hesitated to write this review because it really doesn't matter - but I was on line raving about another place we stayed on our recent trip to Oregon and I thought I might as well share our experience and thoughts. I know that the owner will write up her response blasting what I say but... I'm going to write... More 

Helpful?
Thank creeker5050
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

This is an interesting review since neither my husband nor myself can remember ever saying anything to a guest about Harper's and given that we are quoted in this review. In addition,we continue to get reservations from this travel agency. We would like to make it clear that we have never paid to be a part of Harper's group of... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband & I stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for 2 nights during our trip to the Willamette Valley and loved it! We had an adorable room with a great view on the vineyard. They serve breakfast every day and it was fabulous! The staff was extremely nice and new the area very well for suggestions on vineyards, restaurants,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our inn. Our staff works to ensure that guest stays are up to their expectations. Our location is lovely and we are pleased that you enjoyed your authentic Oregon wine country experience. We are hopeful you will return if your travels bring you back to Oregon. Safe Travels! Karen and Staff More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

This place was really nice! We stayed in the Vineyard room. It was one of the nicest rooms, overlooking the vineyard with an outside deck to sip wine. Breakfast was great. Location was great! You cannot go wrong here. Something interesting is you can walk across the vineyard to another vineyard in the distance that has good wine and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank etqglenn
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We are pleased to see your review for your stay with us. When we started building the Vineyard Suite, it was supposed to be our tasting room but as the space took shape we decided it needed to be a guest suite for many reasons but our main one was the comfort and beauty of the view from that location... More 

Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

We stayed here only one night. The facility is very nice but the room was small, and the attached bathroom had zero counter space. The owners were extremely nice and I enjoyed talking with him over breakfast. We didn't know where to eat dinner so we selected a restaurant at random from a list that the owners provided. We ended... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BillDiane2011
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your one night stay at our inn. We try our best to answer questions about dining choices but we do not tell guests where to go. We offer lists which our other guests and our family enjoy and we provide menus and website links for guests to go too. We are know exactly where these... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We had a wonderful experience at this bed and breakfast. The innkeepers, Karen and Neal, were friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and willing to answer any questions, about the area, about their Inn, and about the vineyard and winery they operate on the premises. We can't say enough about them and the hospitality they showed. We went as "wine tourists"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug N
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review and yes, we are on the market and are hopeful that if the estate sells and remains open as an inn that it will continue in our tradition, a place of comfort, peacefulness and quality. Hope to see you again when you are able to return to our wonderful state. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We had a great stay at the Inn while wine tasting as couples in Oregon Willamette Valley. The rooms were spacious and service was nice. The was a gorgeous inn which was quiet in the evenings and had great views! The only complaints I have were that you had to make a "reservation time" for breakfast, which was off of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrixieTraveler0423
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We are always glad to hear from our former guests. Our reservations for our dining room are taken as you arrive in order to be fair to all guests. We are always happy to move guests as spaces on our reservation list open when other guests depart. We are sorry our system did not work for these guests however with... More 

Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at this beautiful inn. This was our 3rd stop in Oregon to celebrate our anniversary. QI will begin with the positives. The location and property is breathtaking. We were in the master suite which was very nicely furnished, beautiful bathroom and had spectacular views. We are very particular when it comes to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mindygor
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

Everything is about perception...we are sorry this guest felt their stay was not up to par with stays at other properties they have visited as we always hope to provide a wonderful experience for all our travelers. Our Innkeeper checked these guests in and carried their luggage to their room. We apologize that they did not understand who she was.... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

This place is amazing! We felt like in heaven everything was so nice and peaceful. It felt like coming home. The people there was very helpful and kindly with us. the rooms are very big and clean, the view is gorgeous. We enjoyed every single minute there. We would definitely come back there if we will get a chance again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viktorija84
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We love to have visitors from other countries stay with us and this couple were no exception! They had been on a whirlwind tour of Oregon and were with us for a wonderful time in wine country. Thanks for your kind words and we just loved hosting you for your US visit. Safe Travels. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We return after an 8 year absence. The location, quality of accommodation and attention to detail make this a great choice for a long weekend in the Willamette Valley. The breakfast is wonderful, the view spectacular and the staff terrific. We will be back next year.

Helpful?
Thank Mle1279
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We are really happy for your return. Bet it was fun to see the changes and taste the wine! We are so appreciative of return guests...it speaks volumes to the work we do to make sure everyone has a grand time. Safe travels and hopefully we will see you again. More 

Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We chose the inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we are delighted that we did! Accommodations, food, and surrounding area were amazing. Hospitality 2nd to none. The proximity to wineries was perfect and the delightful newsletter each morning provided excellent recommendations for things to experience. We have not relaxed like that in years! Karen and Neal made us feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Karen U, Owner at Black Walnut Inn & Vineyard, responded to this review

We love to be the location for special celebrations! Glad that you enjoyed our little rescue dog, Diva and "the Girls" who lay the eggs for our special breakfasts each morning. You were here at a special time of year as we were processing the grapes and not many get to see that process. Hopefully we will see you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#3 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities