We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Cannon Beach hotels

Surfsand Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Hotel amenities
Surfsand Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surfsand Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014
Marcia B Seattle, Washington
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    125
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
187
289
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (586)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (174)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
There are newer reviews for Surfsand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This was our 1st time at the Surfsand Resort and we couldn't be happier. We were traveling with our 4 month old puppy and the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. They even gave us a list of pet friendly restaurants in town. The lobby dog treats and water bowl with fresh flowing water was appreciated by the pup and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your vacation with us! We love it when our guests bring their furry little family members and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of the pet-friendly amenities we offer. Hopefully you were also able to utilize the warm water pet washing station we have near our beach access! We look forward to seeing... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed for the first time and loved it. Rooms were great, we had a north west ocean view which was a dream waking up to every morning while having out morning coffee Cookies and milk in the lobby was a cute bonus. We paid the 25 dollar fee for a bonfire on the beach which came with everything you needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

It’s wonderful to hear that you found your room to your liking. Sometimes it is the smaller details that can make a great vacation and we are glad that you enjoyed the various amenities such as the milk and cookies, free wifi, and bonfire down on the beach. Hopefully next time you’re here you can enjoy a massage in our... More 

Kamloops
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way through Oregon. We were in a partial-view room which looked straight down the wide pathway to the beach and out onto Haystack rock. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and updated. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and there are plenty of family friendly activities and amenities. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and the room you were in. We pride ourselves in our family friendly environment. Hopefully we will see you again! Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately the room was not quite clean, the cold water in the bathroom did not work and the carpet was filthy. The desk clerk overcharged my card and then the supervisor Rachel was incredibly rude and condescending . So for the price the quality is not there nor the customer service I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE HOTEL!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

I would like to first and foremost apologize for the unsatisfactory cleanliness of the room that you mentioned. We set our standards much higher than the quality that you have described and would like to let you know that we will follow up with housekeeping staff about following through with the details of a visit that can make or break... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This my first trip to Cannon Beach, and based on mixed reviews, I was unsure of where to stay. We settled on Surfsand because they had our travel dates available, and the room had a view of Haystack Rock....I am so glad we stayed at this wonderful resort! The proximity to the beach and great restaurants was wonderful, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your very first time visiting Cannon Beach. We’re glad that we were able to help make your vacation special for you. If you are ever this way again, hopefully you will consider staying here again so you can experience even more of the amenities and activities that we have to offer. Thank you,... More 

Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

For a coastal hotel, the Surfsand Resort was amazing! It sits right on the beach, so our little kids could run out and play. In the wind and/or sun, the hotel was happy to build us a share both from the site and put an umbrella overhead... Pretty much anywhere on the beach. Each child was provided with a sand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

It’s great that your entire family was able to enjoy a fun and relaxing vacation at the Surfsand. We offer a lot of kid friendly activities such as our ice cream socials on Saturdays and our kids eat free program at two of our restaurants. We look forward to having you back. Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wonderful resort and one of our most favorite places to stay. Great location just south of downtown Cannon Beach (easy walking distance) and offering lots to do. Super friendly staff in all areas from check in to maintenance to housekeeping to cabana staff. Everyone there works hard to make sure you have as nice a time as possible. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for vacationing with us again! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed both the amenities in the room and the other services we provide. We’ll see you soon! Cheers, Jerry W. Martin More 

Wilsonville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Easily one of the nicest places we've stayed on the OR Coast - or any other coast. This is a premium site, so it's not cheap, but it's a lot of fun. Rooms have mini-fridges and microwaves (and really good in-room coffee), pleasant decks/patios, comfortable beds, and great service from the staff. There are several excellent restaurants within easy walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We’re so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation. We really are in a great location situated just a short distance to Haystack Rock and the downtown area. We can’t wait to have you again. Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

If you're looking for a family-friendly, full-service resort-type hotel in a great part of Cannon Beach, this would be a good choice. It's a large resort but with friendly feel, and they are trying to make your stay as nice as possible. It doesn't have the cozy feel of a B&B obviously, but my wife and I found it just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a great time during your vacation. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of so many of the amenities we offer. If you get a chance to stay with us again you should be sure to check out our on-site spa, as it provides another great way to relax. Cheers, Jerry W. Martin More 

Lake Oswego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This full service resort hotel provides excellent accommodations and amenities. We especially enjoyed the cabana service on the beach including a fire and s'mores. Wonderful service, very relaxing, all your wishes granted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We’re glad you enjoyed your time here! Our cabana staff does a wonderful job taking care of our guests down on the beach. Next time you’re here hopefully you will get to experience some of the other amenities we offer such as the indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, and spa. We hope to see you soon. Thank you,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfsand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach

274 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (263)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay