We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfsand Resort

Certificate of Excellence
148 West Gower Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Surfsand Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    441
    139
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
201
309
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (174)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a family reunion of five siblings and spouses in July 2015. We stayed in an oceanfront ground level unit. Amazing! Room was lovely - comfortable bed and luxurious pillows/linens. Room came with two bathrobes. We had lovely porch with two chairs for sitting and watching the ocean. Two steps up from our porch was a flat grassy area where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on Cannon Beach the hotel is more of a nicely done Super 8 than a luxury resort. Still, the rooms are clean, comfortable and up-to-date. Just to the south of our beach view was the Haystack. This is a great place to stop off for a night, walk the beach, have a sea-front dinner and then move on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a 10 day tour of Oregon and stayed here one night. They are one of the few hotels in this town that do not have 3 night minimum in summer. The place is gorgeous. Right on the beach and in front of Haystack Rock. The 1 bedroom suite we had was beautiful and clean with an enormous bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to this resort several times over the years. They are pricey, but their service is top-notch. They have resort sponsored Bon fires and s'mores each night. Rooms are a decent size. Tempurpedic mattress was very firm. Bathroom was large and updated. Parking is very limited and there are tons of dogs on vacation here as well. Restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had reservations for an ocean front room at the Hallmark Resort but upon our weekend arrival they had changed our room to a partial view and treated us with such poor customer service that we asked for a refund and left. We were celebrating a birthday and I wanted some hope to find a room even though the heat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a fun experience at the Surfsand. We’re happy to have been a part of your wife’s birthday celebration. Tara and the rest of our staff love their jobs and it shows in everything they do. We look forward to having you back! Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My gf and I made Cannon Beach our first stop on an 8 night trip down the Oregon/Cali coast. This place is beautiful and quaint. Our res was at the Surfsand and we we're thoroughly impressed. The staff was friendly and the accommodations were in great condition. My only knock on the staff was they gave dining recs that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We’re so glad you made a stop by the Surfsand during your trip down the coast! We hope the rest of your vacation went well and we hope to see you again. Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great place to see the sun set, and also if you want to see the haystack rock. We liked the fireplace in the bedroom, the barstools by the window, and the configuration of the bathroom to the back. The hotel staff may try to direct you to the Wayfarer restaurant, which is nearby. It was the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you liked your room set up! We are lucky to be in a location where our guests can go down on the beach, enjoy the view of haystack Rock, and relax as the sun sets. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Surfsand and Stephanie Inn are the premiere hotels in the Cannon Beach area. I stayed at the Surfsand Resort last week, and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are modern and immaculate, the Tempur-pedic bed along with the sound of the ocean deliver a perfect night's sleep. A pool, exercise room, spectacular views of Haystack Rock and a bonfire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

We’re glad you had a great vacation! It sounds like you were able to enjoy several of the amenities in your room and around the resort. We can’t wait to have you back. Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been going here for years and enjoy the people who work there. They are always kind and courteous. I had a massage which was good. We are still waiting for the owners to get rid of the horrible mattresses. You lay on the bed, your body creates an impression and then its like being a turtle on your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your recent vacation with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the beds to your liking. Next time you stay with us we would be happy to discuss other possible options to help make your stay more comfortable. We hope to have you return. Thank you, Jerry W. Martin More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in an ocean front studio on the second floor. The view is great right on the beach. Open bathroom with an ocean view from the large soaker tub. Bathroom can be closed off for privacy. The bed and sheets are very comfortable. However, towels in the bathroom are not soft. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for vacationing with us! It’s great to know you enjoyed the room you stayed in. We are lucky to be in such a great location so close to Haystack Rock and a short walk or drive to the downtown area. We hope to see you again. Cheers, Jerry W. Martin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (283)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#14 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay