We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Brookings accommodations

Whaleshead Beach Resort

19921 Whaleshead Road, Brookings, OR 97415
Hotel amenities
Whaleshead Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brookings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    9
    6
    14
See reviews for
27
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't believe some of these reviews (negative). I have stayed at many different cabins over the years and I will say this; now that Bill is running things, and his assistant Danielle, Housekeeping is even better than years past, customer service is Fantastic and whatever you need, the entire staff is ready to help. I"ve seen complaints on here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eagle Point, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Whaleshead numerous times and have always enjoyed our stay, except for when we wound up getting the flu and had to stay in bed the entire time we were there. This time though was wonderful!! We decided on going on spur of the moment and got a pretty good deal. However the cabin we were booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is no way I will stay at this place with all these bad reviews. The owners need to get their stuff together and maybe they will get people to stay again. It's called customer service. I have a small rental unit myself. The number one most important thing is cleanliness. The pots and pans don't have to be brand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

While we have made great strides in improving this resort; hiring a new cleaning staff and spending time and money in training, it is very disappointing to read a review like this one. To begin with, this reviewer has not stayed with us so she is not qualified to write a review such as this. She points out the bad... More

Fortuna, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I had heard about this place from a co-worker and since my husband and I hadn't had a weekend/night away from our children in years I decided to plan a surprise night away for Valentine's day weekend. We stayed in U-17 and first walking in it felt like home. The view off the back deck and kitchen table were beautiful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been going to Whaleshead for many years. We used to love to take our children and friends here for vacation. Unfortunately, the last few times I have been there, it was horrible!!! The cabins are not taken care if and the staff are not friendly! Do not even think of complaining to the manager unless you are prepared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

While sites like Trip Advisor and Yelp were necessary in the beginning, reviews like this one have made the sites irrelevant. This review has nothing to do with the stay of the reviewer and everything to do with trying to get 'something for nothing.' This reviewer wanted a $20 refund on her stay because the web site showed a price... More

talent
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We have traveled all over the coast and love to find great places to stay. This was not one of them. The cabin was so filthy. The toilet had feces on the back smeared and sprayed, the bath was soap scummed and had curly hair in it, the shower curtain had splatters of red smeared on it. Looked like blood.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

I really feel for this reviewer but I have to disagree with her review for the simple reason that it just isn't true. We have our cabins checked on a periodic basis by a local firm and to date there has never been any evidence of bed bugs. A more plausible explanation for the rash on her children could be... More

Medford, Oregon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed at Whaleshead Resort on and off for the past 16+ years and have always found the cabins to be affordable, clean, and well equipped. However, we just returned from 2 nights in T-4, our favorite because we have a little dog, and it has a small, fenced yard. The cabin was not the cleanest I have seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

I have to agree with this reviewer. When I read this review I immediately went to the cabin in question to see for myself and found several things wrong. My regret is the reviewer didn't present herself at the front desk and have someone go to the cabin with her. From what I observed, her family would have been immediately... More

California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I see now that it's really 'the luck of the draw' with the cabins. My first two stays were nice, but understanding each has a different owner and different amenities, this last one was NOT a pleasant experience. The shower doors were warped somehow and kept falling off the track. There was enough hot water for a 5-minute shower before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

It really is the luck of the draw as far as cabins go but all cabins are listed, with pictures, on the web site so a little investigating before vacation would be in order. Some like older and rustic, some like newer and luxurious. Some are easy to please, some are hard to please and some cannot be pleased at... More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I made reservations over the phone cabin unseen, had no idea where it was located in the area. I asked the lady to pick one for us that looked at the ocean and that had a hottub. We arrived and we were totally appreciative as to what she picked out for us. It had all the comforts of home and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate a good review and strive to make every guest comfortable. I am so happy this reviewer enjoyed their stay and look forward to their return visit. Always remember that all cabins are privately owned. What is in one may not be in another but all are comfortable. What pleases one may not please another. Check the website... More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I made our reservation on the road as we spent too much time on some wonderful Oregon beaches. Their website showed they had pet friendly accommodations, but I called to make sure. We arrived after sunset, so it was dark & couldn't see the cabin's outside. There wasn't much light when I took the dog for a walk--a lot like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
Bill D, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

Check out the review just below this one. Same cabin, different perspective. The web site actually has pictures of the inside of the cabin and is described as an older model that shows wear and tear. Cabin has new sheets, pillow cases and towels; all matching. Owner advises this cabin will be pulled out of the rental pool after the... More

Been to Whaleshead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleshead Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Whaleshead Beach Hotel Brookings
Whaleshead Beach Hotel
Address: 19921 Whaleshead Road, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty lodging in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaleshead Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whaleshead Beach Resort to your Saves list