We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Bandon hotels

Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunset Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Bandon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cindy B Bowling Green, Kentucky
  • Reviews (143)
  • Photos (103)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
24
78
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very spacious room. We were pleasantly surprised to see we had a gas fireplace which was nice after a cool and windy evening. We had an okay view of the ocean. The breakfast was really simple but worked great for us since we were on the go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view from our room is very good, we get to watch a horizon sunset every night. The access to the beach is very close to our room, which is nice. The value of the room accommodations is average, similar to what you would find at a average Best Western hotel. Wi-Fi in the room is a strong signal. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We did not realize we were getting an Economy room, while booking through expedia, the only reason we stayed is we were already being charged. The room seemed like a broom closet with a shop or a garage bathroom, I have seen better rooms at economy motels. We will not go back and will not recommend friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In Room 207, there was barely room for anything but a double bed. The room was hot, cramped, and uncomfortable. When we inquired about the accommodations, we specifically asked about a mini-frig and were assured that there was (but there was not). We were also told that there was cable TV, but the manager did not mention that the TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hello 384R0bert_P, We apologize for your inconvenience. We do encourage our guests to let us know if they are dissatisfied with their room or if they find that something is missing; so we can find a suitable solution. However, we also understand that sometimes we cannot provide all of our room options when it is a holiday weekend, or when... More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

A real fireplace, King bed with huge pillows, fluffy towels, great water pressure. Plus a view that will knock your socks off. The weather was so mild that we slept with the sliding glass door open. It just happened that we stayed with a full moon and minus tides. The rock forms are amazing, and worth checking out at eye... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Andrea R, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with the full moon and the minus tides! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Bryce More

Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

In room 186, studios. Disabled room. FABULOUS. Small kitchen type room, big bathroom, sofa, chair, 2 beds (not side by side which was fun), patio w/chairs, small tv, ample drawers, fireplace, at door parking with ramp, no threshhold, shower has 2 settings (massage and typical) with wand and fold down seat, rails, table and chairs, desk, phone, clock, sufficient lighting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hello cindysn, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to list so many good things about your stay! We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Bryce More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This isn't the type of place you come to if you want to relax and watch tv. The rooms are intimate and ours had a fireplace. The view of the ocean in the expansion rooms could not be beat. Overall I would absolutely come back. I can't rate the breakfast since we brought our own food for the morning but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed in one of the "Original Oceanfront Rooms," which had an unobstructed and amazing view of sea stacks, ocean waves, and sunset. But this is a review of the motel, not of the view and the sunset. The room itself was rustic but adequate and clean. A little overpriced given the older beds and size of the room, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in one of the lower units across the street from the office. It was clean and had a great view. Unfortunately (for some people) there is little to no cell service and the Wifi was non-existent. Not a big deal to some people but I like to read the news on my tablet in the morning so... All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I had slow connectivity, if ANY, during my 2-day stay. Great views, but expect to drive back to town for Wi-Fi. Am very disappointed staff did nothing to compensate for many trips out. Apologies aren't enough when you need to do business on-line. I won't stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear jenieugene, We were dismayed to find this review posted about us, especially since it appeared a day before we were given an opportunity to rectify the problem. We recognize that free Wi-Fi is a crucial amenity for many travelers, which is why we installed new Wi-Fi equipment and contracted another company that offers 24 hour technical support. While Wi-Fi... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sunset Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Bandon
Sunset Hotel Bandon

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully situated on high ground overlooking a sandy beach, majestic sea stacks and the Pacific Ocean, Sunset Oceanfront Lodging offers beach access and a variety of accommodations. Family owned and operated since 1936. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer