We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Oceanfront Lodging

Hotel website
1865 Beach Loop Rd., P.O. Box 373, Bandon, OR 97411
Announcement
Bandon's Cranberry Hop
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    82
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
50
116
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
TWIN FALLS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great ocean views, beaches were almost private. Enjoyed the maids. They were their wanting to help in any way. The People at the motel desk were very nice. We have spent a week there every year for several years and will always go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay was most enjoyable, and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in staying there. The staff was most efficient and helpful. The scenery is spectacular and the ocean inspiring.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Vern Brown addition. The view was spectacular. And we slept with the door open so we could hear the ocean. Very peaceful. It is a lot of stairs to the beach, unfortunately, there weren't railings all the way, which made it challenging for the elderly in our party.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We get to Bandon about once every year or two because we love the relaxed beautiful town. Staying at the Sunset Oceanfront Lodging is always our choice because of the lovely view. The rooms are varied and each is pleasant. The staff are uniformly helpful. We will visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Medford, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was 50s style. Older carpet wasn't great (some snags and stains). Electric fireplace was a nice touch. Bedspreads were very old. Bathroom was adequate and clean. Didn't use the kitchen. Breakfast was just coffee, rolls, and yogurt. Old dark wood on walls in our room. Nothing fancy. We had to get a hair dryer from the desk. Grounds were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Shasta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent. If I had to nitpick something, It would be the continental breakfast. Pre packaged muffins, yorgurt, coffee and tea don't get it. I have stayed at much less expensive motels where the breakfast included hot and cold cereal, A pancake machine, fresh fruits, fresh pastries and fresh juices and coffee.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hi cattuzzo, Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your input on what would improve our continental breakfast. We'll keep those suggestions in mind! We'll see you on your next visit. More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although we knew we weren't getting the most deluxe room, we were surprised at how rundown & cheesy it was. Dark, gloomy, carpet stains, extra small TV. Hung out in lobby or pool to escape the dreariness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel 'oceanview' rooms are terrible, very old, outdated and shabby with scratched furniture, stained carpets and very dark and dingy inside. Being on the ground floor meant that the window was also the door, meaning that you wouldn't be able to leave it open at night to get fresh air and you had to have the curtains closed all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our bottom-floor "oceanview studio" room was large, but got stuffy at night with no AC or fan options. The continental breakfast was pathetic with plastic-wrapped muffins like you find at a 7-11. Skip and go to the Minute Cafe downtown, or one of the other fresh bakeries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hi Janet M, We apologize that your room was stuffy in the evening. We have extra fans in the office for guests who request one. We recommend our guests eat in town for a full breakfast, we only offer a light continental breakfast. Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to your next visit. More 

A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in and the man at the front was very friendly there was a cat that greeted us at checkin which was also good. The bad: long hairs on both our pillows, a bed bug, someone was able to get in our room in the middle of the night when we locked the doors.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bryce-Longland, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review

Hi lcm785, We're very sorry about what happened during your visit. We hope that you told us about your incidents when they happened, or at check out, so we can take the necessary steps to re-key the locks and exterminate any bugs. Thank you for writing a review, and we hope that you visit us again on your next trip... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

305 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (148)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
Oceanview Studio (33)
Viewed
Original Oceanfront with Two Doubles (26)
Viewed
Original Oceanview with Two Doubles (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Vern Brown Addition (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
0.5 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#4 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
20.7 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
17.1 mi away
Captain John's Motel
Captain John's Motel
#1 of 1 in Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay