We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 McAlester hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
80%
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in McAlester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
texaskdog Austin, Texas, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (10)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just passing through trying to get to Muskogee so booked this on the fly. Turned out it was a very nice room. You're on a highway but the room is not noisy. Well worth the money we paid and very nice overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for considering our hotel during your trips to McAlester OK. We are pleased that our services and accommodations had met your satisfaction. We look forward for your next visit at Econo Lodge McAlester OK. Sincerely, Jennifer. More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It was right on our route. The bath area was tiny but the room itself was spacious. Good breakfast. Internet access seemed a mite slow. Only real downside was the room's heat pump/air conditioner. The fan ran continuously, so all night it was blasting either hot air or cool air. The unit needs a deflector to force that air upwards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Howard, We very much appreciate and value your feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on my way to visit family in Dallas,Tx. The hotel staff is wonderful. Very friendly and helpful and eager to please. Our king­size non­smoking room was clean and very comfortable. It was great to have the mini­refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. We are not TV people, but the TV was adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for giving us positive feedback for the accommodation we provided during your stay. Please know that your comments inspire us even more to stay focus in our goal to offer comfortable stay and great experience every time you visit us. Sincerely, Jennifer Patel General... More

Creston, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

CLEAN updated room. Friendly service. Close to everything. Very impressed! And what a great price!!! With breakfast! Can't beat it. Just passing through but nice to be able to relax! Can't express enough what a deal it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you very much for your appreciation of our effort to offer you comfortable accommodation and best value services at Econo Lodge in Mcalester OK. Please know that your positive feedback brings us inspiration to stay committed in our goal to provide you and all of our guests great experience every time you stay with us. We value... More

Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I only paid 40 dollars for this through priceline, but it was just fine for a couple of nights. Jennifer, at the front desk, was very friendly and efficient. The hotel is old, but everything was in good shape. The a/c worked fine, but the internet wasn't always well connected. That might have been a problem with my computer though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very pleased to have serviced your lodging needs in our hotel. Thank you for finding our hotel of best value. We assure you that we will maintain the accommodation you enjoyed during your stay in Econo Lodge. Your satisfaction completes our business. We truly appreciate your choice to stay in our hotel. We look forward... More

Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I will start out that I had stayed a few other econo lodges in the past with bad results. So I cringed when I made the reservation for this property, but the aarp rate was $44.10 for the night for us. Raj the front desk manager is a very helpfull and nice guy. It turned out when I made my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are traveling for 5 weeks through the US. Most of the time we stay in a hotel from the Choice group. Since we had a very good stay at an Econo lodge in Grenada we thought we could book again an Econo Lodge. However this was the worst hotel we ever stayed over the past years.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frederike, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again... More

Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. It was clean. It was worth the low rate of $55 we paid for it. Check the alarm clock, ours went off at 5:15

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for giving us positive feedback for the accommodation we provided during your stay. Please know that your comments inspire us even more to stay focus in our goal to offer comfortable stay and great experience every time you visit us. Sincerely, Jennifer Patel... More

Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Beds/pillows/sheets/ were nice/comfortable. Hotel is located at intersection of main road and highway 69, close to everything. I stayed almost two weeks and i felt home. Complimentary wireless Internet connection was excellent at the hotel. I enjoyed the Breakfast between 6am to 9am daily. Great service, very friendly staff, very clean rooms and great beds. Would stay here again. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for making Econo Lodge in Mcalester your choice of hotel. We are glad to have provided you accommodation sufficing your needs. Your very generous review is an added motivation for our team to stay committed in our goal to offer our guests affordable, quality services at all times. Sincerely, Jennifer Patel General Manager Econo Lodge,... More

Midwest
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Econolodge still considers this to be one of their properties -- maybe it's undergoing a de-flagging. (It should.) How a family-owned property could have been (apparently) run this poorly is a mystery. We stopped here on our way north for an inexpensive place to stay, and based off of recommendations from other non-TA sites. The hotel "appears" to have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raj P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

The guest checked in at the Econolodge, around 8pm on October 3, 2011. There were 2 reservation made online by the GUEST ,but at the check in time the night clerk removed one reservation with no penalty. Econo Lodge website does not book double reservation unless you have acknowledge and the guarantee policy twice yourself. After the guest checked in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in McAlester with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer