We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Toledo hotels

Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
37%
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Toledo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mpetersen34 Sylvania, Ohio
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    34
    17
    32
See reviews for
19
25
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed to nights here. Valet was backed up and took a few minutes for us to get service. Appeared only 1 person was working. We had block of rooms booked and it took an hour for me to get my room. Late checkouts was excuse. Staff very friendly. Great potential for this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mpetersen34, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very excited to anounce our partnership with PSI (Parking Solutions Inc.) who is a professional valet company. They will be taking over the Valet part of our property. While we have had several recent challenges in that department, we are very excited to welcome PSI to the Grand Plaza... More

Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel could be so much better than it is. I'm not sure if it's having money issues, whether there is not enough attention to detail, or both. It's funny the first review I read about when I returned home and checked this site was about poor valet service. Unfortunately that is the first impression I started with when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dayton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Valet is horrible, the rooms were disgusting...brown streaks on sheets, greasy handprint on headboard, dirty floors, peeling wallpaper, damaged furniture, hair in bathroom, cloudy pool...we usually stay at marriotts, thanks best western for reminding me why! Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toledo, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We drove in for a wedding. When we got there, well after check in time, our room was not ready!! When we asked to speak to a manager he was rude and unprofessional. His only response was that "100s" of guests are in the same situation and that there was nothing he could do. He also could not tell us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Jenni Please accept my apologies for the troubles you had tring to check in to your room at the Grand Plaza Hotel, in Toledo. We had 3 seperate conventions happening at the same time, and i am sure it was extremely busy. This is no excuse for being anything less than friendly with everyone who walks up to our... More

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed last night, the Hotel was busy crazy with a convention. The staff was very helpful even with the large numbers of guests. Our room was clean but warm, not unbearable but not controllable. Had reserved 2 queens but were given a king. The location and room view were very good. Shuttle took us out but was done at 11:00,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Mr.Mike S. Thank you for taking time to fill out a trip advisor on your most recent stay at our Grand Plaza Hotel in Toledo Ohio. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay! Your feed back is very valuable to us as this is the way we continue to improve! We hope to see you again! More

Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I travel a lot. Mostly for business. I loved this hotel and will book again for sure! Dre at the front desk was very kind in making my reservation. The ease of booking was great! He actually had me looking forward to stay at the hotel. The building is just off of the river. Beautiful view. When I checked in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Mr. William Thank you very much for the very wonderful words of encouragement. My staff definitly enjoyed seeing your survey. We strive to give every guest the best experience possible! Thank you for sharing yours with us, and Trip Advisor! Mr. William, if you are ever back in the Toledo area again, we would love to have you back here... More

Clyde, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Checked in by a lady...Vernanna? Was obviously talking on the phone to a friend, I had to wait for her to finish up the giddy conversation before I could check in. Valet was slow and watched me struggle to unload my baggage. Room was very clean to my surprise after reading some reviews, view was nice. Restaurant was closed for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Sara L, Thank you for taking time to evaluate us on trip advisor. It is through concerned guests giving us feedback that we are able to continue to improve our guests experience. All employees mentioned have be appropriately recognized. we have been on the look out for the foul and mysterious odor you mentioned, but as of yet, we... More

Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was here on business and this was my first time at this hotel. From the moment I checked in the front desk was really friendly and actually used my name. I thought the place looked good and my room had a wonderful view and was comfortable and clean. I really was surprised of the value and frindlyness of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Jana, Thank you for choosing us to be your Home away from Home! We are always striving to improve our guests experience while with us. Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. We really do value our guests! We hope that if life brings you back into the Toledo area, you will again choose to stay with... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Maybe it was the time of year, maybe the very cold weather, but there was nothing happening at the hotel or in the town. very quite, the hotel was ok, rooms pretty standard, staff very friendly. breakfast choice a little basic and dinner quiet. its in a good downtown location , but dont expect to get a cab, they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! January in Toledo Ohio is a very quiet time of year. We are very glad that you chose us to be your home away from home, and look forward to being able to serve you again! More

Owosso, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We thought the hotel was really pretty, the kids loved the pool. It was a good location central to everything. Check in was great however, the valet was not run well. We waited a long time, maybe it was just an off night when we checked in. The hotel was COLD in all the main spaces except the pool area.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Grand Plaza Hotel. It is through constructive observations we are able to continue to keep improving ourselves. I apologize the public area's were a bit chilly during your stay. We hope to again be able to serve as your home away from home on... More

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.