We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 South Bloomingville hotels

Hocking Hills Resort

25780 Liberty Hill Road, South Bloomingville, OH 43152
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Hocking Hills Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    3
    3
    13
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Love Bug 6. At first it seemed a little austere but by the end of our first day we determined it had everything we needed and was very clean. It was very pleasant to sit in the jacuzzi and enjoy the view of the secluded scenery. The setting is beautiful, we sat out on the deck in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just left Hocking Hills Resort today and were mostly pleased with our experience. The cabin and furnishings were clean...just a bit dated. Check-in was a breeze. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. They even let us check out late as we were also attending a wedding on premises and had nowhere to keep our dog until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Ash Cave Cabins (at Hocking Hills Resort). The maintenance issues are being addressed. The recent heavy rainstorms did some structural damage and Love Bug 3 is definitely on our To-Do list. The drive up our rugged hill is, indeed, an experience that will make the more tender souls flinch. As one... More

Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After reading some of the recent reviews, I was concerned about our 3 night reservation at Love Bug 1. While it is not a ritzy hotel with fluffy towels and a million TV stations, it IS a cozy, clean, neat cabin for two with some added amenities like a huge bathroom with lots of windows even in the ceiling that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ash Cave Cabins. Don't forget that as a repeat guest you get 20% off the price of your next cabin stay (or 50% if your reservation is made within 24 hours of your stay!) We look forward to your next visit. More

Canton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I rented a Love Bug cabin. It was absolutely beautiful and quaint. We had a beautiful view of the woods off the back deck, where we spent most of our time when we were at the cabin. Our cabin was so close to the trails that we walked to Ash Caves from our cabin, and then from... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Where are all the nature lovers? It is refreshing to host guests who appreciate the rugged beauty of Hocking Hills and don't require all the amenities that they left behind in the city. Simplicity and peace--that's what you get here. Looking forward to your next visit! More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We should have known at the bottom of the drive! The road was washed out and rutted making it a difficult climb even for my 4 wheel drive vehicle. Check in was meager! Not very welcoming from the start. Stayed in Love Bug #1 for one night. There is nothing resort about this place! We weren't looking for much but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all comments seriously and have been carefully reviewing each of your complaints about your Love Bug stay. Although most visitors leave lovely comments in the cabin guest books, occasionally things go wrong and unfortunately your visit was one of those times. We are sorry for that. To respond... More

Tiffin, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Love Bug # 3 My husband and I decided to stay in Hocking Hills at the last minute. We've stayed in several cabins over the years and have always been pleased with our accommodations until now. This place was HORRIBLE! As soon as we walked in and shut the door behind us there was a foul odor coming from somewhere.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We got back to Columbus today from our 1 night stay at Hocking Hills "Resort." (Seriously.....resort? No. Not even close) I'm going to be completely honest with our stay here and give the pros and cons. Keep in mind, I have NEVER given a 1 star review in the 20 TripAdvisor reviews I've left the past couple of years. GOOD... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked Love Bug #3 for early November, and I was happy to even get something like it so close the peak of the fall season. I couldn't get a cabin with a hot tub for anywhere near the HHR price, so I "settled" for the big garden tub with jaccuzi jets and the nice view from the bathroom windows.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Love Bug #1, Walked in and the smell was overwhelming of either a septic tank or water problem somewhere. I tried spraying my $90 perfume throughout the cabin and finally opened the window in the bathroom and that aired the cabin out temporarily. There was a broken piece of tile sticking up where you step out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review

Wow. What to say. First, we are sorry for your unpleasant stay. We were horrified about the alleged condition of your cabin so we ran over and checked it out. Nothing. No smells, not even the $90 perfume. We were unable to verify your problem. If you had stopped by the office and told us about it at the time,... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in Love Bug cabin #4 and when we walked in, the small round table for two was romantically set with plates and wine glasses. The refrigerator is a full size unit which is very nice when staying several days. The bathroom is very large with a big garden tub and huge walk in shower all enclosed with glass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hocking Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hocking Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hocking Hills Resort

Address: 25780 Liberty Hill Road, South Bloomingville, OH 43152
Location: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Hotel South Bloomingville
Hocking Hills Resort Ohio/South Bloomingville

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cozy cabins in a natural, wooded setting on a rugged hill, large reception hall for weddings and events, restaurant serving American cuisine, bar, gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Hocking Hills Resort to your Saves list