We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

1.5 of 5 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    23
    14
    61
See reviews for
45
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
There are newer reviews for America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The rooms were okay but the hotel could use some updating. They could fix the arcade room and provide better pool area. It wasn't safe because back doors were open so anyone could walk in. The beds were okay. Could use a microwave and fridge in the room. The front desk guy wasn't willing to help me get a different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed that we were not able to meet (or exceed!) your expectations--as we are with so many of our guests. While it is true that our restaurant tenant left recently rather abruptly and without notice, we DO have plans to develop that space into... More 

Euclid, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Room was very clean. A little dated, but clean. Continental breakfast has little to be desired, but we didn't stay there for the breakfast. HUGE ice machine. Friendly staff. Beds were very comfortable. They had a pool but we didn't have time to use it. Overall a good experience and we will be staying there at a later date.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for the overwhelmingly positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're glad we could meet (and hopefully, exceed) your expectations and are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and our bed and rooms comfortable. We can't wait to welcome you back hopefully many times in the future. Thanks for choosing to stay... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My fiancé and I booked last minute for our yearly anniversary. At $70 a night..room was okay, we had the fire alarm go off at 12am and then again the next morning at 9am. Spiders in the room and the air conditioning left a musty smell on our clothes and bags. You get what you pay for at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry for that you encountered problems with our fire alarm going off. That issue has been resolved but, nonetheless, I realize this was an inconvenience for you. I'm also terribly sorry to hear that your room was not up to... More 

Sandusky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

When I saw this online it advertised for $122.00 per night. I booked for 2 nights but my husband had to have surgery on his foot so I immediately contacted you online and cancelled the second night. When I called you for my refund a phone center in the Philippians told me that they could only give me a $69.00... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. Anytime that a guests books with a 3rd party (easytobook.com, hotels.com, etc.) we, at the hotel, are at the mercy of the deal that was struck between the guest and the 3rd party. We cannot make changes to a reservation--that has to be done by the guest with... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had to leave the first room we were given because of the strong smell of smoke. The receptionist told us the entire motel was non-smoking but it didn't seem like an of the other occupants were aware of that. Our second room was better but I smelled smoke throughout the night (either from the balconies or from the adjoining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that your experience fell short of what we expect for all all of our guests. We will obviously have to retrain our front office staff to better know our policies on smoking--as we do have smoking rooms available as is clearly stated on... More 

Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

While I understand this hotel is not required to offer amenities such a breakfast it still does not excuse the filth. I Checked in on 6/20 and was disgusted that while my room was ready the floors in the room looked as if they had not been vacuumed in a while. This was not an isolated problem because the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm VERY sorry that you encountered the problems that you identified in your review. I agree with you 100%--a budget hotel does should not translate into anything less than clean, comfortable, safe surroundings. Your comments have been forwarded to the executive housekeeper as well as... More 

Springfield, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We checked in around noon on Saturday. Our room keys wouldn't work, at all, at any time. We ended up going to the front desk a total of 9 times to get into our room. We had to wait each time. The last time was when we came back for bed around mindnight, we had to wait for quite a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm really very sorry for the issues you had with your key. This SHOULD NOT have happened. After one or two key problems, you should have been promptly moved to another room if we couldn't address the lock issue. It is also true that we... More 

Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Smelled disgusting! Nothing was plugged in! Cable was ripped out of the wall! The places was filthy! We asked for extra pillows and blankets - never received them! The pillows in the room were hard as a rock!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very disappointed to hear that we weren't able to meet (or exceed) all of your expectations. We're constantly trying to refine and improve our product and services and your letting us know specific issues you had during your stay will help in our efforts.... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a good experience at America's Best Value Inn and Suites. Nothing really Fancy but after a day at Cedar Point we really wasn't looking to do much else but sleep. They have nice rooms that where clean, Beds that are comfortable, Endless HOT showers and a GREAT staff was VERY helpful. Cost was really good and with Walmart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your overwhelmingly positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our great amenities. We are working diligently to improve our breakfast selection so your comment regarding that was heard loud and clear. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Paid nearly a hundred a night and rooms all around us were filled by the homeless. Old charcoal grills and trash outside on the sidewalks. No secure entries. We're woke up in the middle of the night by the homeless couple next to us fighting and him throwing all her stuff out the window, just barely missing our car! Next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for the inconveniences you mentioned in your review of your recent stay. I certainly hope that you let our staff know about these issues as they were occurring so that some resolution could have been attempted. I AM glad to hear that you found the accommodations clean and that you found our staff to be friendly and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to America's Best Value Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Address: 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay