We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Sandusky hotels

America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
18%
Ranked #28 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
  • Reviews (106)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    19
    12
    56
See reviews for
42
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was a little worried about staying here because of mixed reviews. We stayed two nights while at Cedar Point and really had no complaints other than there was no continental breakfast the second day. The first day there were mini muffins. Not a big deal to us. There was free coffee and a restaurant on site. The hotel sits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for the overall positive review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the time it took you to offer a rating and review and we really appreciate it! In terms of the breakfast, as you may know, ABVIs are budget-friendly properties. As such, we are not required by the franchise to offer any sort of free... More

Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staying in at America Best value for the first time was uneventful, this will be my last time. Major problem was the urine stench, it stunk like urine the first time we went in. And it stunk like urine even when the room got cleaned. I believe the urine smell came from the rug, we could not open our window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your encountered a number of issues during your stay with us. Just so you know, we had (and still have) a major sewage line issue that has resulted in major work. The work on this issue will probably extend another month. We are working to resolve the issue as fast and effectively as possible. We have... More

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is our first time staying at an America's Best and will most likely be the last. The building smelled EXTREMELY musty; uncomfortable beds/pillows; pool needed a good cleaning; no secure entrances; and continental breakfast consisted of eight muffins and really bad coffee. However, the room was clean and the attached restaurant had good food. Wouldn't be bad if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm extremely sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We, unfortunately, have had some major sewage problems in this particular hotel which has caused bad odors and we have been working diligently to repair the problem. ABVI's are not required to have... More

Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I had to keep up with the pool because drunks teens would get in it after hours and throw the furniture and empty bottles into it. The location was perfect so that the girls and I could go do stuff while we waited on my husband to finish with his work. The rooms were better than most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry that you had to encounter the mis-behaving guests that you mentioned in your review. As you know, we are very much a tourist town and, unfortunately, sometimes attract guests who don't always behave in the best manner. I'm truly very sorry for... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

For the money this place was not that bad. It was your typical lower grade hotel room. The sheets, towels, bathroom were all clean. There was a bedspread which I hate, but that's just me. No breakfast, but Sonic was right next door. There was a restaurant downstairs -- we only went to the bar and had some appetizers which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again despite some of the issues that you raised in your review. We take our guest comments and feedback seriously and will absolutely be talking with our front office staff about their enthusiasm level and their outward pride in providing top-quality customer service. Thank you for taking the time to... More

Newark, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel was nice, rooms were clean, room wasn't ready when we got there but asked to get another room and they changed our room right away. Typical hotel rooms but not horrible like a lot of reviews I read before booking our room. It was a very nice place for just one night to sleep after being at Cedar Point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks, very much, for your--mostly--good comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found the accommodations to meet your needs and that the staff was attentive and friendly. We will have a discussion with our maintenance department to ensure that better attention is paid to the pool area. Thank you for bringing that to our attention!... More

Lewis Center, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

There is not enough words to describe this stay.This place should be called Americas Bare Bones inn.My wife and child had to go next door and pick up some towels because the ones in the room were so thin and worn out that they could not be used.No coffee in the rooms and no breakfast in the lobby unless you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I am sorry that your recent stay didn't meet your expectations. This hotel is definitely geared toward the budget-friendly individual who places a premium on having a clean, comfortable, safe place to sleep. This brand is not required to have continental breakfast and/or in-room coffee; thus the price point is normally significantly below that of our competitors. We will have... More

Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I feel i may be a little unfair writing this review as i'm not a budget traveler but still feel obligated to share my experiences with travelers that have preferences similar to my own. That being said... The America's Best Value Inn is not exactly my ideal place to stay if I could help it. I was here because a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful; I'm not so happy to hear that you didn't find the accommodations to meet (or exceed!) your expectations. We take guest comments very seriously and your comments will help us have teachable moments with our staff on our high... More

ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are going to Ohio Bike Week, stay away from this hotel. The shower water turned from hot to cold every 10 seconds, so you can't take a comfortable shower. The fixture in the bathroom was a light bulb hanging from a socket. When my husband went for coffee in the lobby in the morning they had put out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for rating and reviewing your recent stay with us. I must apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As you may know, this is one of our seasonal properties and we're still prepping it for the season. Unfortunately, you stayed with us VERY early in the season and we're still working on getting everything up and running. We appreciate... More

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and bathroom was big and well stocked with towels, hotel is well located near freeway and within walking distance to many stores and restaurants and most of all close to cedar point amusement park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found the location to be convenient and that the accommodations were clean and well-appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to America's Best Value Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Address: 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your vacation dollar goes farther here where our 100 beautifully appointed guestrooms feature everything you need for a fun-filled vacation including complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary HBO and premium channels, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck, in-room coffee maker, and more. There’s also an onsite restaurant and lounge. The famous RoadHouse Restaurant & Saloon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer