We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Sandusky hotels

America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
18%
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    19
    10
    55
See reviews for
40
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Smelled disgusting! Nothing was plugged in! Cable was ripped out of the wall! The places was filthy! We asked for extra pillows and blankets - never received them! The pillows in the room were hard as a rock!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very disappointed to hear that we weren't able to meet (or exceed) all of your expectations. We're constantly trying to refine and improve our product and services and your letting us know specific issues you had during your stay will help in our efforts.... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a good experience at America's Best Value Inn and Suites. Nothing really Fancy but after a day at Cedar Point we really wasn't looking to do much else but sleep. They have nice rooms that where clean, Beds that are comfortable, Endless HOT showers and a GREAT staff was VERY helpful. Cost was really good and with Walmart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your overwhelmingly positive rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our great amenities. We are working diligently to improve our breakfast selection so your comment regarding that was heard loud and clear. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Paid nearly a hundred a night and rooms all around us were filled by the homeless. Old charcoal grills and trash outside on the sidewalks. No secure entries. We're woke up in the middle of the night by the homeless couple next to us fighting and him throwing all her stuff out the window, just barely missing our car! Next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for the inconveniences you mentioned in your review of your recent stay. I certainly hope that you let our staff know about these issues as they were occurring so that some resolution could have been attempted. I AM glad to hear that you found the accommodations clean and that you found our staff to be friendly and... More

Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You get what you pay for, not much! Rooms smelled musty, front desk employee dressed for working in the yard, dirty shirt, no smile, short and to the point conversation. Hallways were warm, ice machines not working, Trash all over. Breakfast was a joke, a few tiny muffins on a plate. Only coffee, no juice. Worst part was the pool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that, overall, you found the accommodations suitable and that you found our location to be convenient to all that the area has to offer. As a budget-friendly hotel, we are not required to offer free breakfast. We offer pastries and coffee... More

nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was a little worried about staying here because of mixed reviews. We stayed two nights while at Cedar Point and really had no complaints other than there was no continental breakfast the second day. The first day there were mini muffins. Not a big deal to us. There was free coffee and a restaurant on site. The hotel sits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for the overall positive review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the time it took you to offer a rating and review and we really appreciate it! In terms of the breakfast, as you may know, ABVIs are budget-friendly properties. As such, we are not required by the franchise to offer any sort of free... More

Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staying in at America Best value for the first time was uneventful, this will be my last time. Major problem was the urine stench, it stunk like urine the first time we went in. And it stunk like urine even when the room got cleaned. I believe the urine smell came from the rug, we could not open our window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your encountered a number of issues during your stay with us. Just so you know, we had (and still have) a major sewage line issue that has resulted in major work. The work on this issue will probably extend another month. We are working to resolve the issue as fast and effectively as possible. We have... More

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is our first time staying at an America's Best and will most likely be the last. The building smelled EXTREMELY musty; uncomfortable beds/pillows; pool needed a good cleaning; no secure entrances; and continental breakfast consisted of eight muffins and really bad coffee. However, the room was clean and the attached restaurant had good food. Wouldn't be bad if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm extremely sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We, unfortunately, have had some major sewage problems in this particular hotel which has caused bad odors and we have been working diligently to repair the problem. ABVI's are not required to have... More

Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I had to keep up with the pool because drunks teens would get in it after hours and throw the furniture and empty bottles into it. The location was perfect so that the girls and I could go do stuff while we waited on my husband to finish with his work. The rooms were better than most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry that you had to encounter the mis-behaving guests that you mentioned in your review. As you know, we are very much a tourist town and, unfortunately, sometimes attract guests who don't always behave in the best manner. I'm truly very sorry for... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

For the money this place was not that bad. It was your typical lower grade hotel room. The sheets, towels, bathroom were all clean. There was a bedspread which I hate, but that's just me. No breakfast, but Sonic was right next door. There was a restaurant downstairs -- we only went to the bar and had some appetizers which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again despite some of the issues that you raised in your review. We take our guest comments and feedback seriously and will absolutely be talking with our front office staff about their enthusiasm level and their outward pride in providing top-quality customer service. Thank you for taking the time to... More

Newark, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel was nice, rooms were clean, room wasn't ready when we got there but asked to get another room and they changed our room right away. Typical hotel rooms but not horrible like a lot of reviews I read before booking our room. It was a very nice place for just one night to sleep after being at Cedar Point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks, very much, for your--mostly--good comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found the accommodations to meet your needs and that the staff was attentive and friendly. We will have a discussion with our maintenance department to ensure that better attention is paid to the pool area. Thank you for bringing that to our attention!... More

Been to America's Best Value Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio
Address: 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation dollar goes farther here where our 100 beautifully appointed guestrooms feature everything you need for a fun-filled vacation including complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary HBO and premium channels, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck, in-room coffee maker, and more. There’s also an onsite restaurant and lounge. The famous RoadHouse Restaurant & Saloon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.