We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
Add Photo

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    17
    25
    14
    69
See reviews for
49
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Hamilton, Michigan
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Oh, where to begin! First impression was nice lobby. Then we got to the door of our room. Should have been repainted, kind of scary, looks like someone broke into it previously. The room was dirty, hair on the clean towels left in our room, toilet filthy and did not flush properly. The entryway to the rooms smelled of cat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremont
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first off the bar/restaurant they advertise is closed doesn't look like it has been open in years. The rooms were muggy despite running the air all night. The towels were like drying off with sand paper. Not sure it could even quality as a kennel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

First, thank your for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We know that the sudden departure of our bar/restaurant partner has caused considerable concern for our guests. We are working hard to resolve this issue. We hope you'll treat this as an isolated incident and give us the opportunity in the future to prove... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Brighton, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i'm not picky BUT i was highly disappointed in this hotel. it was dirty, the coffee was awful and their was no coffee maker in the room. i woke up sore because the beds were uncomfortable. i am cancelling my future reservations with america's best value inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm surprised and disappointed that we weren't able to exceed all of your expectations. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This experience was awful! The first red flag - we were one of 2 cars in parking lot. No carts to help get luggage to room. No elevator. I have only seen one staff member. -first room given had not been clean, our second room still had the previous guests bath towel hanging on back of bathroom door, which immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We are a seasonal property and you stayed with us in the very early stages of the summer season. Many of the issues you presented in your review have been resolved. We have been hard at work with our housekeeping department to TEACH them our high... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This Hotel was horrible, we booked it via trip advisor, which said the hotel had a restaurant and bar. It did but it was closed and looked like it had been for some time. We explored the hotel and found fire alarm boxes were empty and full of bugs, there were room doors left open. And the most disturbing thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

As you may or may not know, this is one of our properties that is seasonal. You stayed with us very early in the season and we have worked hard to improve many of the issues you spoke about in your review. Our restaurant/bar partner left us very unexpectedly and we are working hard on putting in a new concept... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I will never stay at this hotel again. The breakfast which was included in our stay was just pastries and coffee. The pool wasn't clean. Our keys didn't work have the time and there were ants in the room that got all over my clothes. There was no microwave or fridge. In the middle of my shower the water went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We are a seasonal property and you stayed with us very early-on in the season. The pool issue has been resolved and we have been working with our housekeeping staff to improve their performance as well. We have also had pest inspection in and have... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there with a group for bike week and the motel was terrible. The room was never cleaned while we were there, the continental breakfast is watered down coffee and store bought pastry. The pool was closed for maintenance in JUNE! When I attempted to politely complain about the pool to management I was told " I'm not prepared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

As you may or may not know, this is one of our properties that is seasonal--and you stayed with us during the very early part of this year's summer season. We have worked with our housekeeping staff to improve their efforts and have also better trained our front desk staff on the issuance of key cards. We are continuing our... More 

Huntley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Bar/Restaurant is closed. Our room was not clean, even after housekeeping finally cleaned it. Constantly had to go to the front desk for towels. Key cards didn't work after 2nd day there. Dirty towels were left in the hallway for 2 days. Would never stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

As you may or may not know, this is one of our properties that is seasonal--and you stayed with us during the very early part of this year's summer season. We have worked with our housekeeping staff to improve their efforts and have also better trained our front desk staff on the issuance of key cards. We are continuing our... More 

Buckeye Lake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was never cleaned our entire stay...(4 days). Had to ask two times for clean towels finally went a bought our own. Explained this to hotel manager, her response was " that sucks" Rooms were dirty, phones in room do not work. There add claimes heated pool and restaurant. Both were closed and had been for sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Although these are things we don't like to hear, we NEED to hear them to know what's most important to our guests. As a result of your review, we are working with our housekeeping staff to make sure things don't happen in the future like they... More 

Springfield, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed here for the first time and unlike advertised - there was no wifi. Furthermore, the continental breakfast is simply mini muffins and coffee. The management staff needs to do a better job of training the reception staff - as i had to wait for 20 minutes to get checked in (even though i went through booking.com to reserve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. As we are a budget-conscience hotel, you're not going to get the expanded breakfast that you would get if you paid double the price at a higher priced hotel. We are also a seasonal property and you stayed with us just as we opened the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay