We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway Bay Resort

2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castaway Bay Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castaway Bay Resort
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    204
    113
    86
    78
See reviews for
408
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (646)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (311)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Fremont, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to Cedar Point for Hallo Weekend. The weather was colder so we spent more time at the hotel than planned. We loved the waterpark! Hotel & Water Park were both very clean. Only complaint was the hotel room wall were a little thin. We will be back next year!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed @ castaway bay before and always love it... The only thing I would recommend is utilizing the Walmart that is located near by because the food seemed a bit expensive. With a microwave and a mini fridge in the room is was way cheaper to got to walmart and get food. We stayed for one of the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again! More

Buchanan, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing like walking into the 1970's, we knew we were going to have ugly rooms, you can tell by their pictures online, time for an upgrade! My sister and I came to Castaway Bay because of the closeness of Cedar Point, and the Indoor water park to warm up in after a cold day at Cedar Point, but that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay not being satisfactory. The review you provided is not typical of what we hear, but we always want honest feedback from our guests. If you were not able to address these issues while you were here with us, please contact Parker, the front office manager, at 419-627-2500. Thank you for your business. More

East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice stay at Castaway Bay. We had a Tarpon suite which was perfect for our group (4 teens & 2 adults). The kids had their own room and beds while we got our own area. It was nice to have the indoor water park to retreat to as the weather was not great. We took a break from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. More

New Haven, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of the season. I think the hotel is overdue for an update. There were also some bug issues. Since it was in September there were more spiders than I'd liked, plus other bugs. Some dead some alive. It probably didn't help being over the water. It had the typical hotel trashcans, way to small so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and waterpark. More

Troy, o
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great waterpark but skip the breakfast buffet - ripoff... just grab a starbucks coffee & donut/fruit great staff - friendly helpful welcoming - rooms were nice, clean & functional... would stay again in future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

don't take shower,water smells like sewer water,but everything else great.went for hollowsweekend ,had great time,.location great,waterpark great except,no big pool.but u got kids,.they will love it,.If u got even littler ones,story time and movie is great.I think this place is great for family,.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More

Kentland, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Castaway bay in the beginning of September so it was the beginning of the slow season. Everything was Nice and clean and service was really nice!! We had lots of fun at the water park. the kids loved the slides and coaster and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub also. was a great package deal we got... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate your business. More

Fredericktown, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room is pretty nice. Bring an extra trash bag, as the cans are really small and overflow quickly if you are eating/drinking in the room. Also not a lot of room to organize and unpack food or refrigerated items (tiny fridge). We had 6 people in the room for two nights. Bringing snacks, cereal, lunch meat, milk, drinks, etc,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review. More

OHIO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and benefits for a trip to Cedar Point! Nice, clean and friendly place to stay. Only thing lacking is a free shuttle to Cedar Point. Would definitely stay here again. Water park is just the right size when you are traveling with small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Castaway Bay Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaway Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Water park(14)
  • Cedar Point(11)
  • Breakfast buffet(5)
  • Wave pool(4)
  • Hot tub(3)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Life guards(3)

Additional Information about Castaway Bay Resort

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Castaway Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Castaway Bay Resort Sandusky, Ohio

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay