We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1932 Cleveland Rd/I-80/90, Opposite Cedar Point Entrance, Sandusky, OH 44870
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    35
    37
    64
See reviews for
77
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance
See the most recent reviews
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

People were nice and polite, but the room was GROSS! We stayed in room 110. One of the bathrooms was not cleaned properly. The floors turned our socks black. Curtain rods were barely hanging on. Safes didn't work, windows didn't lock. The room in in desperate need of a dehumidifier, the indoor humidity matched the outdoor humidity. PLEASE, SPEND A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. While we satisfy hundreds of people every month and have satisfied other guests in room 110 since your stay, we’ll take the room out of service and recheck it. In fact, we’re in the process of rechecking and recleaning all rooms to make sure we always meet Howard Johnson standards in every way. I apologize... More 

Ona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well, I thought all the bad reviews were just picky people. I was wrong! Front desk people were polite and helpful. Room 104. Had a foot print on the door, some one tried to kick it in I guess. Door jam was rusty and beat up. Room was OK, just old. We had a nice view of the Japanese restaurant's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that some small lapses detracted from your stay. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process designed to correct any issues and make the hotel nicer than ever before. Still, most guests are completely satisfied, and I again apologize that you were not. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Goderich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can't think of a better venue for complete and utter despair. As our society continues on its protracted downward spiral, the acceptable minimum standard of lodging in a major chain will continue to deteriorate. Perhaps there is no better sign and avatar of this trend than the Sandusky Howard Johnsons. My room stank of cigarette smoke, mould and broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While your exaggerated comments are humorous, they also unnecessarily damage the reputation of this hotel. We take great pride in this property and satisfy many guests, as you saw when reading other reviews. In any case, we sincerely apologize for any ways we fell short of meeting your needs. I hope you will indeed return to our hotel... More 

Bloomingdale
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff I dealt with were very friendly and helpful. But the rooms need to be cleaned much more thoroughly. The carpet is so dirty, it turns my bare feet black. And the bathroom mold should be dealt with. Maybe more cleaning? Tougher cleaning product? And the room could use a fresh coat of paint. Perhaps a lively color? Because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that we somehow failed to meet your expectations and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Nothing is more important to us than customer satisfaction. That’s why we’re involved in a continuous improvement process and are changing and improving every day. I look forward to having you with us... More 

Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just needed a place to sleep for about 6 hours prior to running in a 5K the next morning and shower afterward. The room stunk like mold and mildew. The maid (or someone??) had left a dirty Magic Eraser on the floor near the sink, but somehow missed the mildew in the bathroom. The bed was so hard and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. While we cannot condone your inflammatory comments about our staff, we can assure you that we take great pride in this hotel and strive to provide the best experience possible. I sincerely apologize if we fell short of meeting your needs in any way and hope we can make it up to you the... More 

Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed in the large suite with several friends. We were all very impressed by the size of the room(s)! I got a good deal by booking early and it was definitely worth the price. The room was very clean and functional- nothing fancy, but perfect for what we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question