We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Sandusky hotels

Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1932 Cleveland Rd/I-80/90, Opposite Cedar Point Entrance, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    34
    37
    64
See reviews for
77
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Redford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the 4th time we'd stayed at this hotel. It's close to the park. I mean, you can't miss it when you get off the causeway. The rooms are clean but need updating. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, also. We'll stay again, though. I mean, we don't spend a whole lot of time in our room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for noting our exceptionally convenient location. I hope you will indeed stay with us again. We focus on providing a great experience for every guest and on providing value to you as well. I’m sorry the breakfast and some other aspects of your stay weren’t to your liking, but we look forward... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Good deal n great location but the beds were hard n tiny. Pleasant staff n clean room but the train running out back wakes you up. Very close to cedar point and close to restaurants. Didnt get to try there free breakfast as it starts later than we were staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your response. The appreciation we get from customers is what motivates us to improve our services and facilities. We take pride in the fact that our customers leave us with a pleasant experience. We will try to improve on the areas pointed out by you. We hope that you will visit us again. Thank... More

Advance, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Just outside the main drive to Cedar Point is a huge plus for this place. It was an older hotel with decent rooms and the beds are small but comfortable. The room was clean but the bathroom was not. The toilet had been taped to show it was clean but upon removal the toilet had hair and a black smudge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sincere thanks for your feedback. We, as a hotel, always try our level best to improve our facilities and provide our customers with best possible experience. Positive feedbacks from our different customers are proofs that we provide an excellent value for money. Cleanliness is on the top of our list of priorities and we are surprised that you... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to enjoying a weekend away and made the mistake of paying for a two night stay at this crap hole. The good pictures of this hotel are disceiving. The rooms are tiny. The walls have water damage stains. The bathroom floor was dirty and dead bugs behind the toilet. The bathrooms are so small the the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you feedback. Cleanliness is one of the areas where we pay detailed atmosphere and it is highly unusual for anyone to have gone through such unpleasant experience. However, we apologize if that was the case during your stay. We would like to assure you that we have taken your feedback into consideration and are looking... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

We had stayed two nights in a one bedroom. There was no curtain in the bathroom for the shower. The floor around the toilet was not finished and had water damage. The T.V. was broken. The bathroom light had a 30 second delay. And last but not least, the mirror was positioned infront of the bed, perfectly placed to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m terribly sorry that several maintenance issues detracted from your stay, but I appreciate you staying two nights with us nonetheless. We take pride in our rooms, and we’ll take your comments into consideration. While the missing shower curtain was certainly an oversight and easily corrected for you, water damage isn’t acceptable. We’re working to improve the property... More

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

People were nice and polite, but the room was GROSS! We stayed in room 110. One of the bathrooms was not cleaned properly. The floors turned our socks black. Curtain rods were barely hanging on. Safes didn't work, windows didn't lock. The room in in desperate need of a dehumidifier, the indoor humidity matched the outdoor humidity. PLEASE, SPEND A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
howardjohnsonexpress, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. While we satisfy hundreds of people every month and have satisfied other guests in room 110 since your stay, we’ll take the room out of service and recheck it. In fact, we’re in the process of rechecking and recleaning all rooms to make sure we always meet Howard Johnson standards in every way. I apologize... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance

Address: 1932 Cleveland Rd/I-80/90, Opposite Cedar Point Entrance, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Howard Johnson Sandusky
Howard Johnson Inn -Sandusky Park N Entrance Ohio

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay