We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Certificate of Excellence
7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,233
    755
    320
    201
    190
See reviews for
1,810
99
4
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2699)
  • Mar-May only
    (742)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (881)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (479)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (597)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just spent a week at Kalahari for a dance competition. Here are a few tips to make your visit better: 1. Eat off site as much as possible. Everything at Kalahari is overpriced and the food is a disappointment. 2. The indoor waterpark can become very crowded. The best time to visit is before noon or from 8-10 at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of fun and fairly affordable for how large the Waterpark is. Of course the food is a bit overpriced but at places like this, it's to be expected. Rooms were good size and clean. Convention area was great and well managed. Plan on visiting a lot more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review Mandy! We greatly appreciate it and we are very happy to hear of your great experience within our resort and conference center. We cannot wait to see you again! More 

Bellevue, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, Kalahari was very nice, but it was so expensive, and not worth the price. If I had known how little bang for my buck I'd be getting on this trip, I probably wouldn't have gone to Kalahari with my friends in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended a conference in June 2015. My children stayed with me as well. Our experience was nothing but positive. The rooms were clean, the staff were superb, the waterpark was fun for the children. The food served at our conference was delicious. I recommend this resort to all! You will not be disappointed folks. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Gina! It is great to hear that your experience here was wonderful and you got to experience both our conference and waterpark area with your kids. We thank you so much for taking the time to review us and cannot wait to have you back in the future! More 

Southeast Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of six adults and one toddler enjoyed a full day at Cedar Point where line jumping is not tolerated. We followed up with an overnight stay at Kalahari, enjoyed an outstanding breakfast buffet, the animal park and a full day of activities in the indoor park. The main criticism I offer is that some guests at Kalahari feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear of this line jumping issue you experienced during your stay. We greatly appreciate feedback like this as we can then find ways to improve the situation and pass the information on to the rest of our team. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are glad you were... More 

Jonestown, PA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for a convention. Having grown up in South Africa, this place made me nostalgic! Whoever owns it has imported a lot of decorations directly from Africa. Some of it looked really tacky, though, but a lot looked really authentic. The hallways and rooms are all decorated with an African theme, but hardly "Kalahari". The Kalahari is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your great feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time and really enjoyed the convention space and loved our African themed decor. As for some of the inconveniences that you encountered, we are very sorry you had any issues and are glad they were resolved, although not as immediate as... More 

Clinton Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we enjoyed our stay. But we would never stay on the floor leading into the gaming room and entrance to the waterpark. There were people running up and down the halls all night making enough noise to keep you awake. We had a two bedroom suite June 7th and 8th 2015. The lights stopped working by the beds half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Andie, we are very sorry about the experience you had during your stay. Although we are happy your family overall enjoyed your stay, we want your visit with us to be flawless. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be sure to get passed on to our team. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been to the Ohio Kalahari two years straight I love it. Only thing I don't like is The closing of the pools and arcade so early. As a adult I don't sleep early and there's nothing else to do after 12

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great feedback and taking the time to review us. We are very happy to hear that you have been returning to our Ohio resort location and we hope to see you again soon for another great experience! More 

Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife, parents and two girls (age 3 and 1) stayed there Friday and Saturday night. The facilities are nice and the food is good, which you would expect for the very high prices of everything. Unfortunately crowding and unruly guests left us less than satisfied and we probably won't return. The check-in lines, as other reviewers often point out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

HI David! While I am thrilled to hear that you felt our faculties & food & beverage good, I am disheartened to hear the occupancy of the resort left you feeling disappointed. Some of our guests enjoy coming in the middle of the week when occupancy is a bit lower, perhaps this would work for you & your family. I... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for the Colossalcon anime convention a week ago, as I did last year. Last year, our large group booked the smallest room type, which had some maintenance issues, and I didn't feel as if I got my money's worth, especially since I was there for the convention and not for the water park/other attractions. This year was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

539 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (487)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (87)
Viewed
Family/play areas (42)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (151)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities