We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Certificate of Excellence
7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,290
    788
    330
    207
    197
See reviews for
1,907
101
5
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2812)
  • Mar-May only
    (742)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (994)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (479)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (597)
All months
Cold Lake
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not surprisingly, this resort won Tripadvisor award for best Family resort. This place keeps your kids & vallet 😏entertained. Plenty places to eat& drink and to be entertained, although not many healthy choices. The rooms are spacious& clean, but bedding shows now wear& tear. Our had to be replaced as it had stain & holes... Also, no recycling bins?? Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolutely love this place, no complaints. staff are so helpful, food is outstanding. I love that you don't have to leave resort, everything is there. Rooms are clean and spacious. The water park has something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family absolutely loves going to Kalahari. The kids think it's a blast. Even me being an adult enjoy the slides. The staff if very helpful and friendly. The hotel staff that is. The water park staff/ life guards all act like they have an attitude, are rude and just stand there with a look on their face that screams... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Patty, thank you so much for this great review and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is great to hear that everyone has such a blast in our indoor waterpark and you are very happy with our hotel staff. I would like to apologize however for our lifeguard staff that seems to not live up... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really wanted to give this resort a chance because I like to make sure I don't totally depend on poor ratings. Well, I should have taken heed. We walked in and someone had pulled the fire alarm and it was chaotic. When I went to check in, I was about to sign the papers and I overheard another front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I traveled here with my son for a short getaway. We stayed one night, but we were able to use the waterpark the day we checked out, which is a great perk. We had so much fun at the waterpark! The slides were fun and offered something for both of us. I found the food in park to be pricey,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Amyaka, I am sorry to hear about your frustration with not being able to bring your son into the women’s locker room with you. I will be sure to pass this onto my team as well as the cleanliness of the bathrooms. I am very sorry that this was an inconvenience and I hope there is some way we... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well, my family with my daughter's friends went up for the night. I will rate this as the good and the bad. The Good: The waterpark is big, both inside and outside parks. They have great drink deals for beer. The place is clean, lots to do. Hotel room was nice, clean and good size. Pizza was priced well and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have relatives who have visited Kalahari so we thought we would spent one night at this "resort" to celebrate my daughter's birthday and to go to Cedar Point. It was a waste of $300. I had to call the main desk two days before we arrived. While telling the young girl (whose name I believe was Jamie) my situation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I visited Kalahari for an end-of-summer weekend get away. The resort is huge. We've visited many indoor waterparks, but this is by far the largest. We were impressed with the number of large water slides and the wave pool. It became very crowded during the middle of the day, but we found that if we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your night’s sleep at our resort. I will make sure to pass this on to our team as it is unfortunate for our guests to have to experience this. I will also be sure to relay your feedback about our resort fee to our team. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just came home from kalahari resort in Sandusky Ohio we had a great time so much 2 do we actually need a month here 2 enjoy all they have to offer swimming...zip line the arcade, kiddue area etc..etc...will definitely be back next year for a longer visit. Can't forget the wonderful staff busy but helpful with what ever we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Cindy! It sounds like your trip was amazing and we left you wanting more! Hopefully you can plan to stay a little longer next time to enjoy our amenities as long as possible. :) Thank you very much for sharing this great experience with us and we can’t wait to have you back! It was a true pleasure. More 

Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my second time visiting, and my first time taking the family. Check-in was easy and friendly, with staff trying to upsell slightly. We did call ahead to decline the $50.00 charge per person- we brought 12 people, that would have added up to the same price as the room itself (a "convenience hold" the staff tried to convince... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Josh, thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay at our resort with your large group was great and it sounds like everyone had a blast for their end-of-summer getaway! I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our team about the convenience hold and am sorry that this had a negative... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (524)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (87)
Viewed
Family/play areas (48)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (87)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
4.3 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay