We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    332
    268
    133
    102
    114
See reviews for
618
58
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (949)
  • Mar-May only
    (267)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (317)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (221)
All months
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Rooms are nice. 2nd time coming here for my daughters birthday and we all love it. Staff throughout the entire hotel are very helpful and friendly. Most importantly, the lifeguards are on point and I would be amazed if anybody ever gets hurt there......very safe environment. My daughters 9 and I think she is ready for a bigger park now,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Diago W: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest -- especially from someone who has visited with us before. Safety is a top priority. It is imperative that our lifeguards closely monitor the activities in the waterpark.... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I recently stayed here for a family getaway. I can't believe that anyone is allowing this place to charge the astronomical prices $$$ for in my opinion a "dump". The water slide landings smelled of urine. The pool water filthy, the balls that float in the water area ragged & torn up. The guards not attentive. The hotel carpeting smelly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear NancyNurse9: We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We want all of our guests to have a safe and comfortable stay at the resort. The waterpark usually receives many compliments from our guests. It has a variety of attractions that provide a day of fun for families. We expect our lifeguards to be courteous to our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Maui Sands resort is an awesome place for kids and family! It has a huge indoor water park...where water temperature is controlled. Hotel guests can make use of this water park whenever they want and as long as they want. This resort also provide several hot water jacuzzis; one of them is available on roof top. We relaxed in roof... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear AMITTAL2014: Thank you for visiting the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. With one of the area's largest indoor waterparks, clean and comfortable overnight accommodations and a variety of tasty food options, the Maui Sands is an ideal location for a fun-filled family getaway. (Plus, the... More 

Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Took the kids here back in July and never again...we bought day passes just for the water park and didn't stay in the actual hotel part. We needed to ask the front desk people a few questions and they seemed like it was such a chore and kept rolling their eyes at us. The waterpark itself was very fiilthy; women's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear TJJ1600: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are sorry you were disappointed with your day at the waterpark. We apologize that the waterpark was not as clean as it should have been. On busy days, it can be difficult to maintain all areas of the resort. We expect our Team Members to provide... More 

Tipton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel was very dirty, the breakfast bar never varied. I rented 4 rooms for 5 nights and the rooms were only cleaned twice and for the third time I had to call for clean towels. One day that our room was cleaned they left our door ajar, luckily no one came in and we didn't lose anything. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Robert C: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We apologize that your room was not serviced properly. We want all of our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations. This is not normal procedure for us. Each day, rooms are to be cleaned and inspected... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We purchase a one night stay through Groupon for a quick trip before starting the school year. When we first walked into the hallway to our room I immediately smelled mold which only intensified when we walked into our room. The room was "okay"....not terrible but had some wear which I was prepared for by the reviews I had read.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear kfbbutterfly: Thank you for spending your late-summer getaway at the Maui Sands resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay and they liked the rooms with the bunk beds. They are very popular with families. Our waterpark is ideal for young families. Although it is one of the largest indoor... More 

Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

This place is nasty! Rooms are in poor condition and very dirty. We had hair everywhere! The food is not good. We had 4 small children and they were blasting Lil Kim and Lil Wayne. .... seriously! Carpets are filthy and we have not seen one cleaning person. The customer service is extremely poor. I can't recommend this place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear kiesha_k21: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We apologize your room was not as clean as it should have been. All of our guests should have clean and comfortable accommodations. We are also sorry that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly.... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Only stayed one night after visiting cedar point. Did not go to water park. Got a good deal on hotwire. Room was clean, but you could tell some things were dated. Beds were very comfy. Only issue was we had a walk out balcony to the inside of the hotel, and when we went out to explore this area our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Pavogel: Thank you for telling us about your stay. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the key failure and the delay in helping you. Our goal is to provide the best guest service possible each and every day. Wish you would have utilized the waterpark. It is one of the largest indoor... More 

Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I booked this hotel for a two day stay with my kids during our return drive from a summer trip out west three weeks ago. I should have done more research before I booked; I'd have spent a little more money down the road,but it would have been well worth it to avoid this miserable, filthy pit of a hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear ke1877: We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the resort. Your input will help us make improvements for the future. We apologize for the unkempt conditions you experienced. This is not the norm for the facility. We want our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations. Our Team Members are expected to treat our guests courteously... More 

Barryton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This property was okay, but not what I thought it would be. First impression --- tacky. The atmosphere was absolutely tacky. The only thing positive I can say was that the hot breakfast buffet was good and was consistently fresh. However --- the room cleanliness was not the greatest. Housekeeping staff needs to be more attentive and not cut corners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbie S, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear sldavids: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We apologize that your room was not serviced properly each day. We want our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations. It is also imperative that our lifeguards closely monitor the activities in the waterpark. They... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (198)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay