We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Sandusky hotels

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Denise3970 Wellington, Ohio
  • Reviews (693)
  • Photos (143)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (175)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    207
    85
    60
    59
See reviews for
450
46
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just got back today and had a wonderful time again! Still my favorite waterpark to visit. We had an issue with our room and Stephanie at the front desk put us in a new (and upgraded!!!) room immediately! Thank you Stephanie!! We got to see our good friend Doc before we left which made my day! He's such a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Liberty, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped on our stay to Cedar Point and this was by far the NASTIEST hotel we have ever stayed in. Our room smelled of mold and I was worried all night for the kids and what they were breathing in. There were stains all over our carpet, the bathroom was falling apart with holes in the ceiling and paint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wellsville, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just returned from a 2 night stay at Maui Sands. I booked through the Groupon deal they were running, and stayed with a group of 6 other friends (and their families) as our annual reunion (a total of 14 adults and 11 kids). The resort is quite nice, and the staff was all very friendly. Check in was simple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear KShadows: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are glad your family had an enjoyable reunion at our resort. It is a privilege to be part of such an important event. We are pleased the reunion went so well and that our Team Members treated you well, check-in went... More

Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in at 4 p.m. and went straight to our room. The room was not clean, there was hair in the sink and trash on the floors. We went down to the waterpark shortly after and had fun. Though there was a significant amount of dirt in the bottom of the pools and hot tub that was never swept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear 4Guest2014: Thank you for staying with us. We are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your visit. We apologize for your unkempt room. Our procedures normally prevent us assigning guests rooms that have not been cleaned and checked. Glad your children enjoyed the waterpark. We want our lifeguards to treat all of our guests with courtesy and professionalism.... More

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel room was nasty! There was hair all over the toilet. The shower wasn't clean. The jacuzzi also had hair all over it. The breakfast isn't good. I stayed two nights and they didn't even clean it when we were out. So we had to use the same towels and everything over. Also, I didn't feel safe. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear WhatsupMeg: We are very sorry that we did not provide the level of guest service our guests deserve. We want all of our guests to to have clean and comfortable accommodations and a fun-filled and enjoyable stay. Your visit was not a typical guest experience. Most of our guests have a very enjoyable stay and many are repeat customers.... More

dayton, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The check-in went smoothly and the front desk staff were very helpful. However, when it came to cleaning the room the service was very poor. After my first nights stay, housekeeping only made the queen bed and didn't change or make up the kids bunkbeds. They took all the towels and didn't leave any for the next day. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear brettlis a: Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry that you did not receive the level of service you deserve. We want our guests to have clean and comfortable rooms and to be treated courteously and professionally by all of our Team Members each and every day. Your visit was not the norm for our property.... More

Ashland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at check-in time (4 pm) - was told they had none of those rooms available (reservations were done 2 weeks ago) and to give them a minute. 20 minutes later I checked in again, got what I needed - got a room on the 2nd floor, no elevator, but no big deal. We had to drive around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Danielle P: Thank you for telling us about your visit to the resort. We are disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay. We apologize for the littered hallways. During busy days, we are sometimes delayed in completing all of our housekeeping duties. Your visit was anomaly. Generally, most of our guests are very pleased with their stay.... More

Lyndhurst, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a year of planning, my in-laws family reunion was held last weekend at Maui Sands. A great time was had by all. I would like to say a special thank you to "DOC". He went above and beyond to accommodate our large family and made us feel right at home. It would have been great to have the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear JaynTee44124: We are extremely pleased your family reunion at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark was a big hit! We appreciate the opportunity to host such a special event. Thank you for the kind words about Doc. He is a wonderful ambassador for the resort. We are disappointed that the front desk was not as cooperative as you... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice and pleasant. staff is very helpful, and water park is main thing to do here, and hotel rooms are quiet and pleasant. room service and food, bar is also excellent. bunk beds are really good to sleep and play for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Sreenivasa Moha: Glad to hear everything went so well with your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We want to provide everyone with a very special day. We were also very pleased that our Team Members treated you courteously and professionally and that your accommodations were clean and comfortable. The suites with the bunk beds are... More

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If your going to cedar point its the best place to stay .This hotel was so unique and fun to stay at.we had a pleasant two-night stay.It was a great hotel, 15MIN drive to cedar point.we had a blast at water Park and we enjoyed the slides. As for the rooms they were comfortable beds, friendly staff, free breakfast,indoor pool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear VENKATA VENU A: Glad to hear your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark went so well. We always strive to provide the highest level of guest service and satisfaction. As part of our commitment to our guests, we want to make sure our rooms are clean and comfortable and that our Team Members treat our guests... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. With our "soon to be Famous Hot breakfast" you will walk into a true Hawaiian themed property. You’ll experience the little touches that you’d only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you’re here, you’re family. When you compare the value you’ll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area’s other lodging choices you’ll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
224

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer