We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn South
Rodeway Inn South
Rodeway Inn South
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    7
    24
    16
    61
See reviews for
28
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Worst manager Blaine Boling. So rude. Workers are so rude. There is no house keeper. If u literally want a disease stay here !!! We made a reservation with there manager to stay there on r way to cedar point. When we got there the manager wasn't there they didn't have r reservation they offered us no discount and laughed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

stayed here with my wife for our 1 year wedding anniversary. close to the lake 1 min from the lake cheap rooms but customer service eas very poor no help with anything breakfast was cold and had mold on my bread.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jagdish P, Owner at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

First of all regarding this person who stay at our hotel on April 10 2015 is lying because our hotel is closed for season since November 2 2014 and we will be open our hotel on May 9 2015.and he did not stay at my hotel . He must provide proof including how he paid for the stay.so for that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I stayed one night at the Rodeway Inn South on September 13 as it was close to cedar point and the price was right. Rooms were nothing great but I was not expecting too much based on the price. When I returned home I began to notice red, itchy bumps on my arms and stomach. Turns out these were bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. While I apologize sincerely that you were disappointed with your experience here, I can assure you there’s no insect problem at the hotel. The insect bites you found days after your trip here were likely from a nearby park or other outdoor area you visited. Still, I regret that you found our customer service lacking,... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed 2 nights with my 2 daughters & 1 friend we didn't care much 4 the room smelt musty no fridge ... the outdoor pool was ok but freezing only I swam.... overhaul would not stay there again we even took a cab to the mall which was pretty crappi it was less than 3 miles & he charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I apologize that the experience here didn’t impress you. I also apologize that a cab service in the area took advantage of you even though there’s nothing I can do about that. Since the time of your stay, we’ve made numerous improvements designed to increase the overall guest experience at our hotel. I... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Leave it to a guy to not read reviews before checking into a hotel. Check in was suppose to be at 3, out room wasn't even cleaned until after 4. Front office staff was nice enough, not overly friendly. I will say that the beds and linens were very clean but the rest of the room just seemed blah. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not completely satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after the races at Sandusky Speedway. My husband went to check into our hotel room and a fellow racing friend was in the Lobby explaining he just walked into his room and found 3 girls smoking crack. Big red flag. Should have left then. The hotel room was disgusting! The outlets didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jagdish P, Owner at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

This is complete wrong (he just walked into his room and found 3 girls smoking crack. Big red flag)--We have proof, Picture,and video that puppy was in the room (The next morning i went to pick up my puppy at my parents motor home that was at the race track since we were getting ready to leave)--Guest has signed Folio... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I just stayed here (room 121), the staff is friendly and we had clean sheets/towels... That's where the good ends, the outside of the building is filthy, the bathroom was stained with mildew, the tub used to be pink and was repainted (?) white, there was a huge chunk of paint missing on tub, and paint was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I spent about $96.00 to stay at this location. There is a strong smell at this property. I'm not sure what it is. It smelled like curry powder and body odor. If you've been overseas, you probably know what I'm talking about. My room was dirty. There were small bits of black plastic on the floor of my room. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that a temporary unpleasant odor and some maintenance or housekeeping issues detracted from your stay with us. We take pride in providing a great guest experience, and I truly apologize that we let you down. When you visit the area in the future, please give us another chance. We’re always working to... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was just "okay" for the money--it was close to Cedar Point, restaurants, shopping, etc. However, there were several other hotels nearby that looked a lot nicer. There was no remote for the tv and no hair dryer. I had to go to the office to get both items and had to wait forever to get them. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that a couple of items were missing from your room and that you disapproved of the look of other guests. We take pride in providing the best possible experience and let you down in some ways. We’ve improved the hotel and the service we provide significantly since your stay, and I hope... More 

PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were litterally stuck staying here because all places were booked. I felt like I was in the getto walking into the entry way near the stairs. Very dirty, the door didn't even shut. The hallway wasn't bad and our room wasn't bad. The night guy who apparently was the manager forgot to give us our credit card. We checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations. Since your stay, we have made many changes, including some staffing changes. If you will give us another chance, you’ll see that we’re now providing a better overall experience than ever before. We welcome your return visit. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay