We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

This motel seemed perfectly fine for us after a long day at Cedar Point. Sure it's not the most updated or comfiest, but it seemed safe and was easy to get to. The staff was quick and friendly. However we could hear the TV in the neighboring room and our pink and teal mixed bathroom features showed its age. I'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you had a good experience even if there were issues. I apologize that the people in the adjoining room turned the television too loud and that some of the décor didn’t appeal to you. We focus on providing affordability as well as comfort and may not remodel as often as more expensive hotels.... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Firstly, this is not a comparative review. Of course this motel is dated and far from "5-Star" but it was just fine for our needs for the price. If you expect near perfection close to a major attraction then you need to fork over the cash for it and skip this motel. There were no bugs, the sheets were clean,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shrkchsr
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you in every way with our comfortable and clean facilities. Still, I’m glad you would recommend us to others. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all... More 

Metro Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

The room was moderately clean, but this property is dated and worn to the point of being beat up. Dings and damage along walls, doors, furniture & exterior & ice/vending area was dirty. 90s era tube TV had one single working channel and snow on all the others; phone did not function at all. AC unit was lethargic and needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Sandusky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Room was dirty and very dated. Carpet turned your bare feet black. Spiders in the bathroom, very small bathroom. But better than camping. AC barely pushed a breeze but worked. They had cable tv but the phone in the room was dead. Pool was very clean and decent. Overall, you get what you pay for here.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank johngD9744WJ
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m pleased we could provide you accommodations, but I sincerely regret that we let you down in some ways because of maintenance and housekeeping issues. I’m glad you liked the pool, however. Overall, please understand that we’re working to make the hotel better each day and are always working to provide the best possible... More 

Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Yeah, this isn't the Ritz, but for $50/night and close to The Point, it was everything I expected. The room could have used some updates, we had to plug in the lamps and not a lot of plugs in room for our electronics, but we weren't there to hang out in the room and enjoy the motel... we had other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thecrab714
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

The room was dirty, filled with the smell of old, stale smoke and so much grime, mildew and mold that both my wife and I woke up with respiratory problems. The window, of course, could not be opened and the a/c unit just recirculated the stench. The faucets all leaked and when turned on sprayed water in all directions. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaptainEmanuel
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.... More 

Windsor
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

First off I am not overly picky about the hotels that I stay in. Rarely do I care about how it looks on the outside or really even on the inside. The hotel yes is outdated and definitely could use an upgrade of some kind. The check in was quick and the employee was super friendly. I went to my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Casinoboy
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. While we don’t take any shortcuts when it comes to guest satisfaction, we are indeed a budget hotel and focus on providing a great value for all kinds of travelers. I regret that we let you down. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. We’re always changing and improving to... More 

Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

First off, the people at the front desk were great. Having worked a front desk job before, I know it is NOT their fault. We got into our room expecting something that was...well, just ok. What we found when we got there - 1. Dead cockroach on the bathroom floor. 2. Used soap in the shower, complete with the previous... More 

Helpful?
Thank sfischer99
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you found several lapses in maintenance and housekeeping that caused you to be dissatisfied with your stay here. These were related to personnel problems and have been solved. We focus on providing all traveler a comfortable and value-conscious experience. I sincerely apologize for letting you down. I hope you will give... More 

Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

The room is very average. Bed was hard, bed was also rather small, pillows were mediocre. The TV has a descent amount of channels available. Location is nice for the parks only 10 or 15 minute drive and lots of restaurants in the area. The pool looked nice did not have time to try it out. The girl who checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank sped01
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you found our staff friendly and the price appealing. I’m sorry the bed wasn’t to your liking. They are not all the same, and we could perhaps have moved you to a room with a bed you preferred. We take real pride in our hotel and in doing whatever it takes to... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

I read the reviews after I booked and was skeptical. I decided to stay anyway. I'm not sure who the other guest dealt with but when I arrived there were 2 people at the front desk who were awesome! I wish I could remember their names. They were very helpful, suggested places to eat for me and my family and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chatrise H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
2.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#9 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay