We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn South
Rodeway Inn South
Rodeway Inn South
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    8
    26
    19
    62
See reviews for
31
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby had an awful unpleasant odor which was a turn off. Front clerk was very friendly. Our first room had visible mold and was a smoking room. My husband and I used Expedia which the manager explained that when using this type to book, they just give first available. He said to make sure after yoi book, to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to meet your... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is NOT a luxury hotel by any means. It is an updated 1950s era motel. The original bathroom fixtures confirm that. Obviously it has been updated. New curtains, new A/C unit, new carpet, recently painted, etc. The furnishings were fine. Probably slightly used from another nicer hotel that had updated. Tube TV but it was fine. Our room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troy, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

do not stay at this hotel. It was WAY over priced to begin with. We decided to do a weekend trip to Put-n-bay and didn't want an expensive hotel. The hotel was run down, old, and smelled bad. I checked the bed for bed bugs when we arrived in the room and I didn't see anything. The next morning when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jagdish P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

In response to your claims, a complete inspection was done in that room, and there was absolutely no evidence to back up your claim. In addition, we have rented that room twice since that morning...and no other issues or complaints. Maybe you had a bug attached to your clothing from somewhere else, but I am 100% positive that you did... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were coming from London ON which is a 4 hour drive so we were looking for a cheap place to stay for the night before our day at Cedar Point; this was the cheapest hotel we could find. It's no 5 star but that should be obvious for the price. It was however, a good place to stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok first off let me start by staying the we stayed here on July 4th weekend and paid three times their normal rate but that was the way with all of the hotels in the area. As for the hot itself I would stay here again at their normal rate. The room was clean and it looked like they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

IS only worth it if you literally only have about 60 bucks for a room, and even then i was charged $73. The bathroom door knob was stuck in so it would latch shut, and the hinges were so slanted it constantly wanted to open, so my buddy had to watch me relieve myself of the mexican and italian lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My bf and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days, during July 4th, 2015. We accidentally spilled some chocolate on our sheets the first night - and when confronted by the manager - he went on to tell us the owner demanded he kick us out - as he (owner) was furious, thinking it was hair color or something.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Worst manager Blaine Boling. So rude. Workers are so rude. There is no house keeper. If u literally want a disease stay here !!! We made a reservation with there manager to stay there on r way to cedar point. When we got there the manager wasn't there they didn't have r reservation they offered us no discount and laughed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jagdish P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

In response to NICOLE S. MOLLHAGEN’S claims; we were totally in the right. Your reservation never made it into our computer. It’s not too hard to figure out that either your credit card was declined, or you were overbooked by your booking agent. Being that as it may, our front desk clerks DID try to accommodate you for an upgraded... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

stayed here with my wife for our 1 year wedding anniversary. close to the lake 1 min from the lake cheap rooms but customer service eas very poor no help with anything breakfast was cold and had mold on my bread.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jagdish P, Owner at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

First of all regarding this person who stay at our hotel on April 10 2015 is lying because our hotel is closed for season since November 2 2014 and we will be open our hotel on May 9 2015.and he did not stay at my hotel . He must provide proof including how he paid for the stay.so for that... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I stayed one night at the Rodeway Inn South on September 13 as it was close to cedar point and the price was right. Rooms were nothing great but I was not expecting too much based on the price. When I returned home I began to notice red, itchy bumps on my arms and stomach. Turns out these were bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. While I apologize sincerely that you were disappointed with your experience here, I can assure you there’s no insect problem at the hotel. The insect bites you found days after your trip here were likely from a nearby park or other outdoor area you visited. Still, I regret that you found our customer service lacking,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.9 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#11 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites
Days Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Sandusky
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky
Knights Inn Sandusky
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay