We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandcastle Suites

1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandcastle Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    128
    97
    62
    69
See reviews for
295
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (444)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (334)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in was fast and friendly. The elevator did have a weird smell but the stairs were reliable and out in the open. We were in the Gemini wing in the end on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and cold on a 85 degree day. The beds were decent and the little kitchenette was nice. The enclosed deck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Regret staying here. This hotel could use an extreme detail cleaning. The room smelt very musty and after a night in the room, I found out why. The bathroom wall was covered in black mold! After speaking with management, I was offered 10% back (woo hoo!) For $300/night, one would expect at least a comfortable bed, however it felt more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at the Sandcastle Suites and it was a pleasant surprise. The Hotel is tucked in the back of Cedar Point and the views of Lake Erie are amazing. The Hotel Lobby was nice, overlooks the pool & hot tub area which is great. The rooms are larger than the Breakers Hotel which is where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful experience. Went to Breakers to eat at TGI Fridays and was very glad we had not stayed there but chose Sandcastle Suites solely because of how busy it was. Cedar Point itself was a busy outing so the low keyed atmosphere was perfect after a day at the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review. More 

Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is an overpriced dump. Room smells musty. Paid $300 for one night and service was terrible. It is the furthest hotel at the park and although it is within walking distance, it is da to walk after being in a park all day. Shuttle service was not offered readily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and I hope that you were able to speak with a manager regarding any issues you may have experienced. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're planning a family trip to Cedar Point this IS NOT the hotel to use as your accommodation. It a hotel that consists of four buildings all separated from the front desk and a cat walk actually connects them to each other. There is only ONE elevator per two buildings and you have to use the cat walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. All guests at Sandcastle Suites get free parking. There are various package options available to purchase that include a 1, 2 or 3 day ticket. We will review our offerings to make sure they are presented clearly as part of the purchase. Thank you for sharing your feedback. More 

Belmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with family while spending the weekend at Cedar Point. The room was nice and we had a great view. The beds was clean and comfortable. My recommendation would be to pack your own food and drinks. The vending machines was pricey. 4 dollars for a soda. But I would stay there again and definitely recommend it. We was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. More 

West Lafayette, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off we paid over $300 for one night, we got our room and got everything set up the way we wanted it and turned the air on high cool because it was extremely warm in there, spent the day at cedar point came back around 9ish and came back to a warm room still. So I call the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. We will review your comments with our management team. More 

Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is less of a review on the hotel which is what you would expect....you overpay for the great location and walking access to the park but that is ok and understandable.....Do Not Eat at the breakwater cafe which is located on site....the worst breakfast ever...not enough clean plates to serve the guests, no service at all...one employee was burdened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

I apologize that the breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations. Thank you for letting us know. More 

Oakland, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lake front rooms are far away from Lake with grass and dirty pond in between you and lake. Way overpriced for what you get. Walls are dirty carpet fraying. Shower head not installed correctly. Wall paper coming off wall next to tub. Laying in my uncomfortable bed all I can see is a roller coaster. Not lake. I am use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments, it's important that we hear from our guests and we will discuss your feedback with our associates. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Cedar Point(15)
  • Shuttle service(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.2 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#9 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay