We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Breakers

1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Breakers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Breakers
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    530
    337
    174
    128
See reviews for
904
217
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1576)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (280)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So first the down sides ... it is a dated hotel. However, I know they are supposed to be updating Hotel Breakers. Also, the pool is not that adult friendly. Of course, this is right across from Cedar Point and therefore you are going to have alot of kids in the pool. So if you enjoy a little quiet time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Half of the hotel was gutted which we were not made aware when the reservation was made, nor were we told that the pool and all restaurants were closed. Upon check in told that the breakfast was under the tents outside?!?! Really……….in temperatures in the 50's. Rooms need major updating, mattress had to have been 10 years old and tv... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for miscommunication about the renovations and breakfast. We are currently undergoing renovations and next year our whole hotel will be updated with new furnishings, bedding, and TVs. More

Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To begin with I gave this 3 stars for average - I would not stay at this hotel! We made a reservation for the Halloweekends and it was too EXPENSIVE and the 72 hour cancellation policy is way too far out to judge the weather (they might want to rethink this policy), the room was decorated nicely for Halloween, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our management staff. More

Grimsby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 4th stay @ Hotel Breakers, again was a blast! The hotel is clean & the staff are very accommodating. We had a bar fridge in our room for drinks & snacks. We also rented a comfortable cot for an extra $10. The Japanese Restaurant on premises is a must do, great food & entertaining for all ages. The decor... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your continued business. We look forward to seeing you back for the 2015 season! More

Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For $215 plus a night not what you'd expect. Upside: Location, kids can play on the beach and at Cedar Point Amusement Park. Unfortunately, you do not need to stay at Hotel Breakers to enjoy the best amenities of the area. We did not opt for the $300 plus lakeside view, and instead got the great standard view of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not what you were expecting. We are currently undergoing a renovation and the entire hotel will be updated. We hope to see you back during the 2015 season. More

Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came up for Labor Day weekend to spend a few days in the park. We were originally placed in the Bonair Section (which I always request, but unfortunately they're tearing that section out) but we found 2 very large spiders in the room. Without question, they moved us to Breakers East, which is a bit more modern. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Breakers. More

Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, and perfect location! We stayed here for one whole halloweekend and loved it! The staff was great, the beds were comphortable, and the hotel has a very cool vintage mood for Halloween.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We appreciate the positive comments about our staff. More

Scott Depot, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would never stay anywhere but hotel breakers when visiting cedar point. It has amazing food, pool, and staff. Plus it is right at the park and lake. You get in an hour early when staying with the resort, and if you get tired you can walk back and forth easily. The pool and hot tub both outside and inside... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your business. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel Breakers is old. In the common areas this is very quaint and attractive--especially seeing the old pics of Cedar Point from days gone by. The guest rooms however need to be updated. Our room wasn't bad but the bathroom was so tiny you could not sit on the toilet and open the door without hitting your knees with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are undergoing major renovations for the 2015 season and hope to see you back next year for the updated hotel. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was nice, we paid almost 700$ for the package deal and the room was out dated including a tube TV, very small with awful pillows. There was no continental breakfast, they had everything shut down within the hotel due to construction but didn't adjust the costs or offer other options to accommodate guests. It was 4$ for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and I hope we were able to address your concerns while you were here. Thank you for letting us know. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Cedar Point(78)
  • Amusement park(16)
  • Early entry(13)
  • Very clean(8)
  • Hot tub(6)
  • Old section(4)

Additional Information about Hotel Breakers

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Sandusky
Breakers Resort Sandusky
Breakers Cedar Point
Breakers Hotel Ohio
Hotel Breakers Sandusky, Ohio

463 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (409)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Other (55)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay