We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Breakers

1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Breakers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Breakers
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    531
    338
    175
    128
See reviews for
904
217
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1581)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (280)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I enjoy staying at Hotel Breakers. We enjoy the convenience of the hotel being within walking distance of the park. The shuttle is also a great feature that we use to get to Famous Dave's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have mixed feelings on my ranking for the Hotel Breakers. Although the location is amazing and the building itself is rich in history the rooms were disappointed for the amount I paid to stay. Updating and a thorough cleaning would definitely do the Hotel Breakers some good. It definitely has potential but needs some TLC. Until updated I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Navarre, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted to book a room for the 2015 4th of July weekend. You can't stay here on the 4th unless you stay at least 2 nights. With the recent renovations, that would make it a $500 weekend to stay here. Also, the rooms I really wanted to stay in in the main section or rotunda are unable to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

A couple friends and I headed to Cedar Point for the weekend and we decided to stay at the Hotel Breakers in the older part of the hotel in a 3 bedroom suite. The hotel lobby and rotunda have lots of historic charm, of which has been lost in the rooms. The room we received looked to be renovated in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

So first the down sides ... it is a dated hotel. However, I know they are supposed to be updating Hotel Breakers. Also, the pool is not that adult friendly. Of course, this is right across from Cedar Point and therefore you are going to have alot of kids in the pool. So if you enjoy a little quiet time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Half of the hotel was gutted which we were not made aware when the reservation was made, nor were we told that the pool and all restaurants were closed. Upon check in told that the breakfast was under the tents outside?!?! Really……….in temperatures in the 50's. Rooms need major updating, mattress had to have been 10 years old and tv... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize for miscommunication about the renovations and breakfast. We are currently undergoing renovations and next year our whole hotel will be updated with new furnishings, bedding, and TVs. More 

Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

To begin with I gave this 3 stars for average - I would not stay at this hotel! We made a reservation for the Halloweekends and it was too EXPENSIVE and the 72 hour cancellation policy is way too far out to judge the weather (they might want to rethink this policy), the room was decorated nicely for Halloween, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our management staff. More 

Grimsby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Our 4th stay @ Hotel Breakers, again was a blast! The hotel is clean & the staff are very accommodating. We had a bar fridge in our room for drinks & snacks. We also rented a comfortable cot for an extra $10. The Japanese Restaurant on premises is a must do, great food & entertaining for all ages. The decor... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your continued business. We look forward to seeing you back for the 2015 season! More 

Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

For $215 plus a night not what you'd expect. Upside: Location, kids can play on the beach and at Cedar Point Amusement Park. Unfortunately, you do not need to stay at Hotel Breakers to enjoy the best amenities of the area. We did not opt for the $300 plus lakeside view, and instead got the great standard view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was not what you were expecting. We are currently undergoing a renovation and the entire hotel will be updated. We hope to see you back during the 2015 season. More 

Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We came up for Labor Day weekend to spend a few days in the park. We were originally placed in the Bonair Section (which I always request, but unfortunately they're tearing that section out) but we found 2 very large spiders in the room. Without question, they moved us to Breakers East, which is a bit more modern. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler A, Manager at Hotel Breakers, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Breakers. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Cedar Point(77)
  • Amusement park(16)
  • Early entry(13)
  • Very clean(7)
  • Hot tub(5)
  • Old section(4)

Additional Information about Hotel Breakers

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44871
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Sandusky
Breakers Resort Sandusky
Breakers Cedar Point
Breakers Hotel Ohio
Hotel Breakers Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in

464 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (409)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (133)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (57)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay