We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Put in Bay hotels

Commodore Resort

272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Commodore Resort to your Saves list
Commodore Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
  • Overview
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    16
    8
    32
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Really had a great time at this establishment as always. I have been coming to the island for many years and always have an enjoyable time. I really do not understand some of the "reviews" that have been posted regarding Commodore Resort, have never encountered any of the posted negative comments. It is a party atmosphere, which if researched, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed on a weekend, and the hotel was very loud with people coming and going constantly and yelling in the halls. We were next to the elevator which we could hear dinging all night long. The room itself was clean, but the beds could have used blankets- just a sheet and a bedspread and extra pillows-only two per bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We do agree that the weekends are very busy and loud. With us being right downtown, we are usually at full capacity from the first of June through Labor Day. We do not put the blankets on the bed, but they are in the room to use as needed. We do supply extra pillows upon... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start by saying that I travel with my profession and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. This by far, IS THE MOST DISGUSTING PROPERTY I've ever stayed at, not to mention the staff (including management) is completely rude and ignorant. I've never encountered such horrible guest service (which was non-existent) in my life. These people truly should not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Commodore for 3 nights with 14 of my girlfriends. We were pretty much just looking forward to a weekend of drinking, which is exactly what we got. We had a blast, and staying at the Commodore was exactly what we expected it to be. It's definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel, and the prices... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your review, thank you. We are extremely happy that you and your guests had a blast staying at our establishment. We also appreciate your honest opinion regarding us not being a family(child) friendly establishment during the peak summer months. We do not like to turn people away but we do like to stress this point. We... More

Toledo, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the commodore hotel was wonderful the staff was great, the room was clean and the overall environment was excellent we are gong to stay here again, oh yea we can't forget the swim up at the mist pool great!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments! We are so happy that you had an enjoyable time at our establishment. We look forward to your return trip. Print off this response and bring with you for a 10% discount off your future nights stay! More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Front entrance in an alley near smelly dumpsters. "Front" lobby simply a front desk and a subway counter. Elevator labeling for floor numbers are mislabeled. Seems to me that is a terrible safety hazard waiting to happen. Carpeting in hallways stained and dirty. Shower curtain smells of mildew. Broken TV remote - with noticeable rattling inside. When brought to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

First let me start by saying, thank you for your input. I will try very hard to address each one of the concerns that you listed. The dumpsters you mentioned, they are not on our property and are maintained by another establishment so we do not have control over them. It is an ongoing issue we have. Yes we do... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hands down ...best resort on the island! From the pool to the staff your in store for a great time! Check in was smooth-thanks to Nicole;) This resort is def for people looking to have a loud (drunken) time! Its a party atmosphere! In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with that! We stayed in the newer section and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that your stay was a memorable one and you would love to stay with us again. We appreciate your review. Thank you for the nice comment about Nicole, she is a great asset to our hotel along with all our staff. Please print this response and bring with you for a future visit and... More

Toledo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Headed over to the Bay on a last minute thing on a Sunday through Tuesday. For those who haven't been to Put In Bay, its a non-stop party on the weekends, loud, lots of drinking, packed bars, and your gonna spend a fortune... on the week days, its a lot more laid back, and not as loud(think key west on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

We want to start by saying thank you and we appreciate your review. We are very happy that you had a nice stay at our establishment and enjoyed the island. We would love for you to join us again for another stay. Print out this response and bring with you for a future stay, valid Sun. through Thurs., upon availability... More

Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was a mess from the beginning. We came into town for the Phlocking of the Phaithful event so we were part of 250 others that were on the island this weekend. Our hotel rooms were not cheap and for $200/night, I would have expected WAY more. We chose this hotel because my husband had recent knee surgery so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Michelle M, Front Office Manager at Commodore Resort, responded to this review

First we want to start by saying thank you for your impute. As for the "situation" that occurred, we do not have enough words to be able to apologize for it and your inconvenience. It is not standard practice of our establishment for this kind of thing to happen. We are happy to know and hear, as you stated, that... More

Toledo, Ohio /Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Commodore Hotel @ Put-in-Bay on South Bass Island in the western basin of Lake Erie features a one of a kind swim up bar "MIST". This is the ultimate in pure pleasure in the water, with it's cascading waterfall in the pool, and a comfy seat at the in pool Tiki bar, it just doesn't get any better. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Commodore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Commodore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Resort

Address: 272 Delaware Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456 (Formerly Commodore Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Commodore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Put In Bay
Commodore Motel Put In Bay
Commodore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
72

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer