We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Portsmouth

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Portsmouth
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    56
    35
    32
    30
See reviews for
84
32
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The breakfast was horrible. The fruit in the bowl contained rotten apples. The room had a horrible smell like a wet dog.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had some problems with our Super Start breakfast. We strive to insure the best quality and great selection of items. Thanks More 

Hurst, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked through Priceline on 7/21 and prepaid for 3 nights. (Aug 3-5) We called the 800# on 8/3 to confirm a late arrival and were told our room was secured. But as we pulled in at 12:45am the front desk person told us they had no rooms. I showed them the reservation with Priceline and their own confirmation number... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you has some problems with your stay here. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hold rooms with a 4pm hold till 4 than try to confirm. We suggest when making a reservation for late arrival that you reserve with a major credit card and the room will be held until you... More 

Jackson, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately as nice and accommodating as the staff is, and regardless of the updated rooms, unless you want to leave smelling like pot and being kept awake most of the night do not stay here. We did inform the front desk of the issues we were having, but were met with.....really....this is the first I've heard of that. Again, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

We always strive to make every guest stay a Super one. We try and remove any guest causing problems. We have a very strict policy about this and try to keep our hotel clean and quiet at all times. Thanks for your feedback More 

Lakeland, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

It was nice. Have no complaints. Staff were very polite and helpful. Price was great as well. One negative thing is the residual of smoking. It is very hard to get rid of it but they are working on it.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know how we are doing. I am glad you found the staff to be polite and helpful. Thanks for the great feedback, it lets us know how we can improve our guest stay. More 

In
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I stay at this Super 8 whenever I visit my hometown. It was needing an update when I stayed the last time. So I was pleasantly surprised with new carpet, mattress and box springs plus they have replaced the old TV with large flat screens. The breakfast has always been good and it still is. The staff were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back. Thanks again. More 

Portsmouth, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Super 8 has the top of the line amenities, the staff were always very helpful in making sure we were provided with anything we needed, and asked for. Housekeeping offered everyday, even offered to change bedding daily, if wanted, which is not common in my past stays at other hotels, so this was very much appreciated. ALL staff were extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy O, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review

We are glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and you found our hotel to be everything you wanted. Me and our staff look forward to having you as our guest and look forward to having you as our guest in the future. On behalf of all of us here at the Portsmouth Super , thanks for lettimg... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
12.3 mi away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay