We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    23
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
See the most recent reviews
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was totally disappointed with this Hotel - for what we had to pay and supposivly was getting a discount - we paid $305.44 including taxes for 2 nights!! The room had a smell from the very beginning -like someone had gotten sick - the bathroom was from the 1950s - and very small - if you were very big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for any problems you claim to have had. We wish you would have let us know during your stay so we would have had the opportunity to correct any issue so you have been able to enjoy your stay. Thank you More 

Franklin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The motel is older, but clean. It is convenient to Jet Express, restaurants, fishing, and parks. Our room was close to The Baithouse Bar, which offered live music into the early morning hours and was heard in our room, although not overly bothersome. We visited during Mayfly season. The motel staff did a good job of cleaning up the Mayflies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule. We are glad you liked your clean room and location to everything in the area. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you, Deb, Manager More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in May 2013. Love the fact that is was right on the water. We could see Lake Erie from our room and could sit on the dock and watch the boats go by. There is a great little bar right next to the hotel with live music. An awesome place to relax. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you like our location to everything in the downtown area and that you had a wonderful vacation. We are in the process of updating rooms as time allows and hope you come back soon to see some of the changes. Thank you, More 

Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Love this place. So convenient to everything! Would highly recommend staying here. The entire staff wants to accommodate you! If you love fishing this is the place for you. Also, don,t forget to go to the island while here. Recommend using Sassy Sal charters for a wonderful fishing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you, Deb More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

What we paid for our one night stay was ridiculous for the quality of the room, and the stay in general. We booked it for the location of being close to the activities of downtown. But our room was a joke. My husband is 6'5" and we had to sleep in a queen bed. The room was the smallest room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. I only wish you had told us of these problems the night of your stay so we could have had the opportunity to fix them. Thank you More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Clinton hotels

East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
302 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Check-in was no problem. At the time I only the second guest, another 6-7 vehicles within two hours. Room 106., This a basic & clean facility. Furnishings are firm queen bed, four pillows. Low, but long four drawer chest. 80's television, with 60 channels. Luggage rack. Walk-in closet, with five wooden hangers. Writing desk & two chairs. This facility was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review our hotel. We are glad you hear both the good and critical point of views. We will use your views to improve our hotel where needed. Thank you More 

Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

OK place, clean, nothing fancy. Strange heater in bathroom--always seemed to be on. They advertise a breakfast bar, but it really isn't--some coffee and pre-packed pastries. Need to get some tea bags for those who don't drink coffee. Nice enough place, workers pleasant. Can be a little noisy at times--a bar on the dock behind the motel, but not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We value all feedback, both positive and critical. We do hope to help you with your lodging needs in the future. Thank you More 

San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights to go to the birding festival close by. The location was convenient for that. The room wasn't anything fancy but it was clean and quiet. Birders are probably a hotel's favorite guests--we go to bed early and leave early in the morning for our field trips. I was surprised the beds were very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us while enjoying the birding activities this year. We hope you will call on us the next time you are in town. Thank you, Deb More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The front desk staff was friendly. That's the best thing. The room smelled very musty. The bedspreads were ancient and looked none too clean. The bathroom was Spartan but adequate. The "breakfast bar" offered only weak coffee and pre-packaged pastries. We were given a corner room with a connecting door to the neighboring room. The drunken men in the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are sorry the other guests disturbed you during your stay. We do try to make each guest stay a success with us. We are currently in the process of updating our linens to a new fresh look, unfortunately not all rooms were finished at the time of your stay. We... More 

Olin,Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great staff,location,location,location.Nice view of the harbor dining places close and ferry about a block or so away. Will stay there again! Check out Put n Bay and watch Kenny Kidd at the Beer Barrel Saloon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn. We look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs. Thank you, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 19 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#5 of 19 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 19 in Port Clinton
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay