We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Port Clinton hotels

The Island House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2nd Night 25% off
Save Saved
You added The Island House Hotel to your Saves list
The Island House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
85%
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
54
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms were very clean. The bed was comfortable, flat screen tv in the bedroom. the bathroom was really nice, and clean! Our room was pretty small but for the price we paid, with the bed, the cleanliness and just over all comfort it does not really get any better. There were two restaurants located on both sides of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I am glad our rooms met your expectations on cleanliness. I am sorry that you didn't get the opportunity to eat in the restaurants. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon and take advantage of the convenience of the restaurants on site. Peggy Slauterbeck General... More

Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was fun to stay in a historic hotel. The location was perfect for where we needed to go - centrally located. And we were pleasantly surprised with the freshness/ cleanliness of the room. The staff was always pleasant and friendly. Our overall stay was a great experience and we would stay again if in area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you found the room to be very clean. I hope you come stay with us again. We would love to have you back! Thank You, Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Willard
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is situated in downtown Port Clinton within walking distance of several pubs and restaurants. The place has a cozy feeling that is hard to describe but makes you want to come back over and over again. Call Peggy today to arrange a visit to a special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please do come visit us again. Thank you, Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I want to say that my stay here of 4 days 3 nights was absolutely great! The girls were very friendly and had no problem at all putting a smile on your face with a hello or a laugh! Thanks to a good friend who recommended me the stay, i will be sure to go back again and have passed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Marty, Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you found the beds and pillows comfortable. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome anytime! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. You were a joy to have around. I hope to see you soon. Thank you Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Shelby, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I visited the Island House Hotel for our Valentines getaway. The hotel was very charming. Very clean! It is in the heart of Port Clinton. The staff was wonderful! There is a great continental breakfast that isn't advertised. We will definitely consider staying again. The Jet express dock is literally across the street, so this is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do come stay with us again. Thank You, Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a wonderful hotel to have had the pleasure of staying at while visiting Camp Perry for my daughter's NJROTC Precision Rifle Teams CMP National Competition. From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by the Concierge. The rooms were very clean, warm and cozy. Overall the hotel was impeccable, quiet and made you feel as if you were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Lisa, I can not thank you enough for your kind comments. You and your group were such a pleasure to have here. I thoroughly enjoyed talking with you. We all enjoyed your stay with us. We were sorry to see you go. I am sorry I didn't get to personally say goodbye. I hope you will come stay with us... More

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband an I were bowled over by this hotel. We came on an impromptu visit to Lake Erie (which the hotel is just a stones throw from) and for the Motel price we came prepared to be disappointed. What we weren't prepared for was the top notch cleanliness of the place, the boutique hotel feel and the incredibly courteous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our staff and hotel. We have high standards of cleanliness and I am glad to know they met your approval. I am glad that you enjoyed a little history while you were here as well. I am sorry you were not able to stay longer. Perhaps next time! Thank You, Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Island House on a trip from Cleveland to Detroit in early January (2014). The hotel is very nice and the staff (actually just one person) was exceptionally friendly. The rooms were well appointed and warm (it was 8 degrees) and the hotel was quiet (although we may have been the only ones in the hotel that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peggy S, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your first experience of eating walleye. Please do come visit us again. Thank You, Peggy Slauterbeck General Manager More

Flat Rock, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the moments we arrived we were treated like the most important guest there. The staff was so accommodating and thoughtful. Rosie's bar was inviting as well as The 1812 Restaurant. The Bed was awesome, King size with the most comfortable mattress. I was comfy the whole time. The Concierge was very informative directing us to all the sites we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

the island house was a little more than i expected, very nice place but formost was the quality of personnel that was very friendly, helpful and went out of their way for us and made us feel more like old friends, we were very pleased. room was clean and comfortable with very controllable heat and air , I plan on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio
Address: 102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.