We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Oberlin hotels

Oberlin Inn

7 North Main Street, Oberlin, OH 44074
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner & a Movie Package
Oberlin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oberlin Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oberlin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014
cjsalexva Alexandria, Virginia
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    31
    21
    21
See reviews for
18
19
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
28 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I often eat here on my frequent visits to Oberlin (the Sunday brunch is wonderful!) but never had stayed before. The location couldn't be better for visiting Oberlin. While the rooms are generally comfortable enough, they do need some major updating. Bathroom had several deferred maintenance issues, and I would guess the mattresses are several years old. It was quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our Sunday Brunch as it was named the Best Brunch in Lorain County per Pulse Magazine. The construction project, that is currently going on adjacent to the Oberlin Inn, will be the home of the new hotel. It is projected to open within the next... More 

Edwardsburg, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I wanted to stay on campus to visit our son who is an Oberlin freshman but was a bit concerned given recent reviews. The Inn was much nicer than I was expecting. Here's what I want out of a hotel: safe, clean, quiet, comfortable, affordable, and in a good location for what I'm doing. The hotel is on campus at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Trisha, It was a delight and a pleasure to accommodate you on your recent stay in Oberlin while visiting your son, a first year student. It is always our goal to provide comfortable, clean accommodations at a responsible value at a premiere location. As you are aware, a new hotel is being built which we will take occupancy in... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is the only hotel in town and it is owned by the college.The hotel is very out dated and needs a complete make over. There was construction going on next to the hotel. The rugs have tape over the holes. It got cold in our room and I tried to turn up the heat. But that did not work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bob P, Thank you for choosing the Oberlin Inn for your recent visit to Oberlin. We are very much aware that the inn is in need of refurbishment. The construction you referenced next door to our building is actually the new building in process. Our projected completion date is 18 months. As for not being able to get the... More 

Cedar Hill, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The room was clean and the wi-fi easy to connect to, but there was no heat. I complained at the desk and was told that the inn is part of the college and the college controls when the a/c and heat is turned on or off. The lady vacuuming the lobby was bundled up and shivering. All the employees were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I sincerely apologize that the heat had not been turned on yet for the fall/winter season, so therefore the information that you were given was correct. I've share the concern with the Food & Beverage Director and that will be addressed. Again, my apologies and we hope to accommodate you on a future... More 

Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Anytime you visit Oberlin a stay at the Inn is a must, because its the only hotel in town. The Inn is scheduled for a much needed facelift. But I have to say the old Inn brought back a lot of good memories. Pros: Friendly staff Clean room Free parking Awesome food at Brewsters Cons: The place is old!! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midwest
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A bit of dated décor isn't going to scare me. I'll hand it to the Oberlin Inn...while it is dated, they do seem to take some pride in keeping it clean and tidy. So while the interior of the room reminded me of something straight out of a 1985 era time capsule, at least I didn't stick to the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Comfortable, inviting, and worn because it's been loved. Ideally situated in the middle of town and in the middle of the campus of a great college with a world class music and arts program, as well as within easy access of Cleveland without all the traffic and pollution. Though the furnishings are dated, is everything about the hotel, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

It was a delight accommodating you on your recent visit to the Oberlin area. It is always a pleasure to know that we make you feel like family with our warm hospitality and homestyle ways. We are aware that the property is tired and in need of updating. We are happy to announce that ground was broken on June 12,... More 

Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is not a big city so one cannot compare what can be found in, say Chicago or San Francisco. However, certain things should be a constant. Service. And this facility is right on top of that. Cleanliness. Yes, our room was clean but very, very tired. Really could use some redecorating, new carpet and bedspreads for sure. What struck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Bringing back childhood memories is always a great thing. Certainly glad that the smell of our award-winning Sunday Brunch reminded you of your wonderful family tradition. We hope that you have the opportunity to join us again once when our new facility is up and running, as the groundbreaking is set for June 12, 2014. It's always a delight to... More 

Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hideous pink tile in the bathroom, the faucets heavily used and chrome rusted, but the water was hot and there was good pressure in the shower. Bed was ok, pillows small and lumpy. Towels skimpy, but utilitarian. The room served its purpose. We were driving on the highway and wanted to stop in Oberlin, which is a small college town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

It was a delight to accommodate you on your recent stop in Oberlin. We are very much aware that our rooms are tired and in need of upgrade. We do pride ourselves in keeping the building clean and with comfortable bedding and a good night's rest. A new lodging facility is in the process of being constructed with the groundbreaking... More 

OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location of the Inn is perfect, close to downtown, the college & the museum next door. Yes, the rooms are dated, but clean and with extra comforts (like coffee, extra pillows, blankets). The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. We did the winter room package with the murder mystery and buffet dinner. The food was plentiful & hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased that you attended the January Murder Mystery and that you had an enjoyable evening of laughter, good food and delightful hospitality. We look forward to seeing you at another mystery in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oberlin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oberlin Inn

Address: 7 North Main Street, Oberlin, OH 44074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oberlin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberlin Hotel Oberlin
Oberlin Inn Ohio

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay