We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oberlin Inn

Hotel website
7 North Main Street, Oberlin, OH 44074
Oberlin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oberlin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Rebecca J Collinsville, Oklahoma, United States
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    31
    22
    22
See reviews for
19
20
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place houses a Mystery Diner Show, I opted to go, with my lady companion. The hotel has surely seen better days and is in need of more than a face lift. Thankfully, there is the steel skeleton of what will be the new main bdlg. This place has been poorly renovated, leaving old technology blatantly visible for all to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Collinsville, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

i'm basing my excellent review on the people & the service. I have never felt so welcomed. First of all let me say.. The hotel is being rebuilt right beside the old hotel. So I can't wait to return to the new facility soon!! The hotel now is older and out of date BUT I'd like to say it's full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Oberlin Inn. We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate you. We take great pride in our service and are pleased that it met your expectations and that your overall experience was very satisfactory. We look forward to accommodating you on future visits to Oberlin. Enjoy Spring! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

The minute I walked in the lobby I was worried. It's smelled stale and musty. Our room looked like it was from the Baits Motel. Someone had carved "horror hotel" on the bathroom door. The furniture was scratched and so old looking. The bed spreads looked 40 years old. I sat on the bed and the headboard bent forward. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I often eat here on my frequent visits to Oberlin (the Sunday brunch is wonderful!) but never had stayed before. The location couldn't be better for visiting Oberlin. While the rooms are generally comfortable enough, they do need some major updating. Bathroom had several deferred maintenance issues, and I would guess the mattresses are several years old. It was quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our Sunday Brunch as it was named the Best Brunch in Lorain County per Pulse Magazine. The construction project, that is currently going on adjacent to the Oberlin Inn, will be the home of the new hotel. It is projected to open within the next... More 

Edwardsburg, Michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I wanted to stay on campus to visit our son who is an Oberlin freshman but was a bit concerned given recent reviews. The Inn was much nicer than I was expecting. Here's what I want out of a hotel: safe, clean, quiet, comfortable, affordable, and in a good location for what I'm doing. The hotel is on campus at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Trisha, It was a delight and a pleasure to accommodate you on your recent stay in Oberlin while visiting your son, a first year student. It is always our goal to provide comfortable, clean accommodations at a responsible value at a premiere location. As you are aware, a new hotel is being built which we will take occupancy in... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is the only hotel in town and it is owned by the college.The hotel is very out dated and needs a complete make over. There was construction going on next to the hotel. The rugs have tape over the holes. It got cold in our room and I tried to turn up the heat. But that did not work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bob P, Thank you for choosing the Oberlin Inn for your recent visit to Oberlin. We are very much aware that the inn is in need of refurbishment. The construction you referenced next door to our building is actually the new building in process. Our projected completion date is 18 months. As for not being able to get the... More 

Cedar Hill, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The room was clean and the wi-fi easy to connect to, but there was no heat. I complained at the desk and was told that the inn is part of the college and the college controls when the a/c and heat is turned on or off. The lady vacuuming the lobby was bundled up and shivering. All the employees were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I sincerely apologize that the heat had not been turned on yet for the fall/winter season, so therefore the information that you were given was correct. I've share the concern with the Food & Beverage Director and that will be addressed. Again, my apologies and we hope to accommodate you on a future... More 

Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Anytime you visit Oberlin a stay at the Inn is a must, because its the only hotel in town. The Inn is scheduled for a much needed facelift. But I have to say the old Inn brought back a lot of good memories. Pros: Friendly staff Clean room Free parking Awesome food at Brewsters Cons: The place is old!! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midwest
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A bit of dated décor isn't going to scare me. I'll hand it to the Oberlin Inn...while it is dated, they do seem to take some pride in keeping it clean and tidy. So while the interior of the room reminded me of something straight out of a 1985 era time capsule, at least I didn't stick to the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Comfortable, inviting, and worn because it's been loved. Ideally situated in the middle of town and in the middle of the campus of a great college with a world class music and arts program, as well as within easy access of Cleveland without all the traffic and pollution. Though the furnishings are dated, is everything about the hotel, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
795x, General Manager at Oberlin Inn, responded to this review

It was a delight accommodating you on your recent visit to the Oberlin area. It is always a pleasure to know that we make you feel like family with our warm hospitality and homestyle ways. We are aware that the property is tired and in need of updating. We are happy to announce that ground was broken on June 12,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question