We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
50 North Second Street, Newark, OH 43055 (Formerly Newark Metropolitan Hotel)
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
13
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We go to Doubletree because of the comfort of the beds. You just melt into them. Cookies are great too. The location is downtown so we explored antique shops. The building looks like an office building but inside it's a Doubletree.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree! We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. I am happy that you were able to explore our historic downtown. There are so many great shops to visit. I hope that you will be able to visit our area again in the near future. On behalf of the DoubleTree team, we appreciate you! More 

newark, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was clean,and very quiet! It is kid friendly, I took my 6 grandchildren, and they enjoyed the pool, and the fitmess room! The cookies at check in were delious!!! The location has many local resturants within walking distance. Check in and check out was very simple.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

What a pleasure it is to read your great review! Thank you! I am happy that you and your 6 grandchildren were able to enjoy our facilities and our yummy cookies as well. I hope that you will visit our hotel again in the near future. The DoubleTree team and I appreciate you. More 

Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've chosen the Doubletree in Newark twice for visits to the area. Located very close to the center of the city, this hotel is walkable to entertainment and dining. Almost anything you want is also a short drive away. The hotel staff is great, parking is easy and the rooms are nice, clean and comfy.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to our DoubleTree hotel and the Hilton brand. I appreciate that you were able to take time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that kind words you shared regarding the team, parking and our guest rooms. On behalf of the DoubleTree team, we appreciate you! More 

Girard, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in town for the Michael Bolton concert at the Midland Theatre. The hotel was with in walking distance of the venue. Very clean. Friendly staff. Would stay at again if I was ever in the area. Easy check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

I am thrilled you were able to attend the Michael Bolton concert at the Midland Theatre. What a great concert and venue! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our overnight rooms and team members. It is my sincere wish that you will return to our hotel on your next visit. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The remodel of the location is awesome. The restaurant is fantastic with a very diverse menu and drinks. The fitness center has all of the latest machines and quality weights. The rooms are very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

I appreciate your great review of our DoubleTree hotel. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy our overnight rooms, Elements Local Bistro and our fitness center. Your business is important to the team and myself. I look forward to your returned visit. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I payed 124 dollars to stay at this hotel and they didnt have a hot tub or offer free breakfast.. For a Hilton the hotel wasnt the best hotel ive seen the service was good!! I had no complants there.. The hillton didnt offer free toothe brushes or eye drops and dental floss.. ect.. I cant see paying for all... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our DoubleTree hotel. I am sad to hear that our offerings did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding our service. I hope that you will consider us again when you visit the area. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here based on experience at another Doubletree and not disappointed at all. Staff was friendly, room was spacious, and the Elements restaurant has a good breakfast--you can even get an omelet included with the buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. It is pleasing to read your review and know that you had a great experience. One behalf of the DoubleTree team and myself, we appreciate you. More 

Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What I found amazing is that this town HAS a Double Tree. The town is lucky to have such a nice hotel. We stayed here because we needed a Hilton property close to Kenyon College. We checked in really late but the front desk service was top notch. Next morning had to run to drugstore for contact lens solution and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our DoubleTree hotel. You are correct, downtown Newark is fortunate to have such a nice hotel. I am proud to share that our hotel is locally owned by an amazing family who strive to be the best of the best. I am thrilled that your experience with our Front Desk team was top... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly recommend. The rooms are nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The indoor pool isn't noisy even when we had a hockey team of 11 to 13 year olds in it. The Element restaurant was great also. Finally, the staff made for an EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Your kind words are appreciated by the DoubleTree team and myself. I am delighted that you and the team were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. We have a talented team of individuals at our hotel who will all be excited to read your review. Thank you for taking time to share your experience. On behalf of the DoubleTree team,... More 

Wheaton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel in what seemed like an economically depressed area. In house restaurant was also very good with good service and food. Rooms were very generous in size but the bathroom shower was a little undersized.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kendra P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your review of our DoubleTree hotel. I am happy you were able to enjoy Elements Local Bistro - our Executive Chef is very talented along with our overnight guest rooms. I am happy to share that downtown Newark is in the process of renewing our downtown experience. It... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question