We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Newark hotels

Cherry Valley Lodge

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cherry Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Cherry Valley Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Newark
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Betsy448 Florida City, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (234)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    43
    36
    35
See reviews for
120
29
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an older hotel with lovely grounds and spacious rooms are a plus. I was in the area for a meeting and would have liked on-site afternoon "snack" area. Restaurant and Bar have limited hours. There is a refrig in the room so get your snacks before arrival. I was in the #600 king room area and enjoyed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was disappointed with the Cherry Valley Lodge. The facility is getting rundown and could use some maintenance. Our sink and tab would not drain and we asked 3-4 times to get it fixed but nothing. Each time I reported it the staff acted like it was the first time they have ever heard of the problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Newark hotels

Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called a few weeks before our arrival to change our reservation, and the staff member was rude and rushed me through the call. When we arrived, our room was dirty (in general and there was a used washcloth and an old dry cleaning bag on the floor in the closet). The shower curtain wasn't wide enough to cover the entire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Granville staying at another hotel chain and decided to change to Cherry Valley Lodge to stay 2 nights and glad we did! With a room upgrade, we paid LESS with a AAA discount than the other hotel and had a much better experience. The reason why I didn't book this lodge initially was because of the mixed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry M, Owner at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teresa, Thank you so much for giving us a try. We are so happy to hear that you got outstanding service from both Shauna and Kim. We are grateful that you took the time to review our Lodge and to share your positive experience with others. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. More

Yulee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in June . First room smelled like smoky bar so upon checking in after maintenance confirmed complaint we moved to 2nd room. That night told husband felt legs getting bit . In morning found ants everywhere not sure what got legs but both had bites. We were moved again after trying to get room at another hotel. Hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your review of Cherry Valley Lodge. I sincerely apologize for your poor experience and assure you that it is not typical of a stay at our Lodge. My staff has already reviewed your circumstances and I noticed that we were able to make a credit to your account prior to check out. We did have... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night here. The room was set up a little weird. Clean room. Good atmosphere to walk around in. Lobby was clean. Did not take part in water park. Was not wowed but was not disappointed. Exercise room left little to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Jacob, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. More

Heath, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place is a dirty hole. Dirty hot tub inside and out, the outside hot tub had like 35 cigarette butts laying around it, like no one has cleaned this place in a year. Downhill is where this Motel has went over the years!! Rooms smell like dirty dog and wet moldy yuck in both rooms we rented. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lima, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here the Sunday before Memorial Day. I booked two rooms but upon check in I was told they only showed a reservation for one room. Virginia and Shawna were very helpful and friendly and were able to get me adjoining rooms. The lobby has a warm and inviting feel. There is a pond in the main courtyard with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tigers Fan68 Thank you for your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge and also for your review. I am glad that your overall stay was a good one and I will share your comments with our staff to help us better serve our guests in the future. We hope to see you here again soon. More

Sheffield Lake, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our room was nice and big and loved the balcony. Beautiful pond w/ wildlife outside. Coco key water park that is in this hotel was very nice. Kids loved every min. of our stay. We are going back in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, So glad that you had a great visit and took the time to tell us and others all about it. We look forward to serving you again. More

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked several rooms at Cherry Valley for the out of town guests for my charity golf event. The rooms were clean, nice, roomy. The hotel has a family oriented feel and for that is pleasant. If you are planning on a wedding reception, retirement party, or any other event in which there may be bar activity I would look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cherry Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherry Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Water park(12)
  • Hot tub(5)
  • CoCo Key(4)

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark, Ohio
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
200

See which rooms travelers prefer