We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Newark hotels

Cherry Valley Lodge

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cherry Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Cherry Valley Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Newark
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jacob S
  • Reviews (230)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    42
    34
    35
See reviews for
119
28
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in June . First room smelled like smoky bar so upon checking in after maintenance confirmed complaint we moved to 2nd room. That night told husband felt legs getting bit . In morning found ants everywhere not sure what got legs but both had bites. We were moved again after trying to get room at another hotel. Hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your review of Cherry Valley Lodge. I sincerely apologize for your poor experience and assure you that it is not typical of a stay at our Lodge. My staff has already reviewed your circumstances and I noticed that we were able to make a credit to your account prior to check out. We did have... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed one night here. The room was set up a little weird. Clean room. Good atmosphere to walk around in. Lobby was clean. Did not take part in water park. Was not wowed but was not disappointed. Exercise room left little to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Jacob, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. More

Heath, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is a dirty hole. Dirty hot tub inside and out, the outside hot tub had like 35 cigarette butts laying around it, like no one has cleaned this place in a year. Downhill is where this Motel has went over the years!! Rooms smell like dirty dog and wet moldy yuck in both rooms we rented. We will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Newark hotels

Lima, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here the Sunday before Memorial Day. I booked two rooms but upon check in I was told they only showed a reservation for one room. Virginia and Shawna were very helpful and friendly and were able to get me adjoining rooms. The lobby has a warm and inviting feel. There is a pond in the main courtyard with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tigers Fan68 Thank you for your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge and also for your review. I am glad that your overall stay was a good one and I will share your comments with our staff to help us better serve our guests in the future. We hope to see you here again soon. More

Sheffield Lake, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our room was nice and big and loved the balcony. Beautiful pond w/ wildlife outside. Coco key water park that is in this hotel was very nice. Kids loved every min. of our stay. We are going back in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, So glad that you had a great visit and took the time to tell us and others all about it. We look forward to serving you again. More

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked several rooms at Cherry Valley for the out of town guests for my charity golf event. The rooms were clean, nice, roomy. The hotel has a family oriented feel and for that is pleasant. If you are planning on a wedding reception, retirement party, or any other event in which there may be bar activity I would look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Maple Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here because my husband was presenting at an organic farming conference, and this was one of the closest hotels. The front desk was top-notch, all the way through. I had a feeling that this hotel was coasting on its laurels. My husband went to present his material at a conference nearby, and I stayed at the hotel all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in mid April 2014 on a business trip visiting the Science and Technology center for my company. All of the staff I meet were very friendly and helpful. During my stay I had no issues, but I am sure if I had they would have taken care of me. Breakfast was very good each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Grasspike, Thank for taking the time to share your review of Cherry Valley Lodge. We appreciate your kind comments concerning our staff and I will be sure to share them with all departments. The fish and ducks in the pond are getting lively in these warm Spring days and we hope to be in full bloom with our cherry... More

Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you look at the website, you kind of get an idea of how the rooms are set up. Rooms with two queens are L-shaped with a queen at both ends of the L. There is a dresser with a refrigerator and TV on top that separates the two beds sitting in the middle of the floor... A little weird.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay at Cherry Valley Lodge. We always appreciate the comments we receive from our guests. Our rooms are unique in their layout and work great for many of our guests. From our 18 acre grounds, our beautiful courtyards, and our arboretum, and our indoor waterpark, we are unique in many ways. I... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

The spa is outdated. The equipment is not clean. The towels are stained. The room was freezing. The robe I was given was dingy and stretched out. I had to hold it up because it was stretched out at least 5 times the size it should have been. The facial was very bare minimum. The girl never even removed my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Larry M, General Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our Banyan Leaf Spa. I sincerely apologize that you were not pleased with our facilities or services. I will share your comments with our staff as we are committed to providing service levels that exceed your experience. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cherry Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cherry Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Water park(12)
  • Hot tub(5)
  • CoCo Key(4)

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark, Ohio
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
200

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer