We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Newark hotels

Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Highland Blvd., Newark, OH 43055
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
75%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Newark
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Don H Strasburg, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
12
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was greeted and checked in by a non-smiling robotic man who delivered below-average customer service. I was later assisted by a manager who seemed equally robotic and completely unhelpful. We booked and called a few days before our trip to ensure that we'd have a double Queen room on the top floor. When we arrived, we were given a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strasburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We try to stay at the Courtyard when we're in town for the Mopar Nationals because we know what to expect - a clean room, comfortable bed, adequate parking, and friendly staff. It was no exception this year - no disappointments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Dear Don H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable; our associates strive to provide a pleasant experience. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit. Best, Thomas Mate General Manager More

Marion, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were supposed to be charged with a wedding rate. We called to book and we're told that when we checked in, they would be able to get us in with the wedding rate, which was 99$ plus tax. We got there and wanted to pay in cash and were told that we had to first charge a credit card... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

megangalyk, Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us. Sincerely, Thomas Mate, General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here during Christmas vacation visiting family. Had a heated pool and hot tub. Bedroom was okay, but bed was way too hard for my back and had trouble sleeping. Wi-Fi was not very reliable with Smartphone, but used in house computer in Lobby to check on emails from personal account.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We loved hearing that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your honest feedback regarding areas in which we can improve. Our associates work to provide a pleasant stay in an effort to become your hotel of choice when in the area. We look forward... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The room could have used more cleaning attention (vacuuming) because I found 2 spiders and other dead insects by the patio door. The rest of the room appeared clean as did the lobby and pool areas. The entry keys were problematic but the staff attempted to rectify the problem. The property is right next to the highway, a McDonalds, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Dear Teresa N, We sincerely regret your experience. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, coffee in the lobby and air-conditioning noise. These are of great importance... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had a conference at the local college and stayed here for 5 days. The was CLEAN and the staff's customer service was superior. I travel quite a bit, so it surprised me that I constantly saying to myself "WOW, they are really friendly here". I used the pool and work out center, never crowded and just like the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

I’m so glad you enjoyed our clean rooms, convenient location and friendly staff! Incredible reflections like yours allow us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you on a return visit. Best, Thomas Mate, GM More

Dickeyville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice place. Staff was very nice and accommodating. The rooms and lobby area were very clean. The pool was a good size. Would definitely stay here again. Is in walking distance to a couple of restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our nice rooms and accommodating associates made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. It was a pleasure to host you. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Best, Thomas Mate, GM More

Rockford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice hotel, but the manager (Stacy) should be fired. Our refrigerator did not work on the first day of our stay and we lost $25 food. I was told a manager would call me back before we checked out two days later and that never happened. At checkout, the clerk refused to give me a $25 credit. Days later, after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Mbenham2, Thank you for your review. I’m glad we were able to resolve the situation. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future. Sincerely, Thomas Mate, General Manager More

Leesport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in late May 2014. The place is very lovely and well cared for. Our room was quite good,very clean, with excellent beds and linens. This hotel seems to be a favorite of business people coming to the area, and for good reason. The staff here all go out of their way to make sure you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

Strive49, We appreciate your kind comments and recommendations of Courtyard Newark to other viewers. We're thrilled to know the excellence in service and cleanliness that you experienced made for a comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing! Kind regards, Thomas Mate, General Manager More

Warren, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Staff went out of their way to make my stays with them enjoyable and friendly. The Newark Courtyard was if it was my "home away from home". Comfortable and great location to visit Denison University..

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review

pbsjr9, Thank you for choosing Courtyard Newark while visiting Denison University. It's fantastic to know our staff's warm hospitality and excellent service consistently make your stays enjoyable. We're thrilled to be your "home away from home" and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again! Kind regards, Thomas Mate, General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville

Address: 500 Highland Blvd., Newark, OH 43055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Ohio

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer