We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ravenwood Castle

Certificate of Excellence
65666 Bethel Rd., New Plymouth, OH 45654
Ravenwood Castle
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    27
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to love this place. My husband and I stayed in the Shakespeare room. We were scheduled for two nights, but after the first night, decided to forgo our deposit and go somewhere more comfortable. The carpeting is worn and dirty and needs updating. The room smelled very musty. The room is located next to the pub and things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that you did not find Ravenwood up to your expectations. The Shakespeare Suite that you mention is one of our most popular rooms. To clarify for future guests it actually isn't located next to the Pub, although it... More 

Canton, Ohio
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is beautiful. It was so peaceful. The only thing was I would love to have had a picture of my husband's face when he found out there was no TV. LOL. Plus there was really no place to eat. The bar is expensive and very limited. We called a local restaurant and had food delivered. Everyone was doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you were able to spend some time disconnected from the TV and other electronic devices, and hope your husband enjoyed it as well! More 

Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The castle is beautiful. We were staying in the gypsy wagons with little girls they loved the wagons and the castle especially the library. One note of caution the wagons have an upper bunk and kids due fit through the railing. My oldest niece (7) fell off the upper bed. Luckily she did not get too badly hurt. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that the girls enjoyed the Gypsy Wagons! Thank you also for letting us know you had an issue with the railing. I'm surprised that someone is able to fit through that railing, but we will... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Wonderful time with beautiful grounds, books to read, games to play and booze to drink. You do not need to leave the grounds if you want to stay in and relax for a weekend. It's true that this is not an appropriate place if you want to spend the weekend on the internet or watching cable, but this place keeps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review - I apologize for being so late in responding. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and had a chance to learn some new games with Zac. I'm also glad that you found all of our staff friendly and helpful, we strive... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This castle is amazing. From the beautiful grounds of lush trees to the divine atmosphere of the rooms you will be blown away. This is the perfect place to unplug and connect with your friends and family. Whether you thinking of a romantic getaway or fun with friends Ravenwood is the place. Tons of activities nearby as well as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Streetsboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I was invited to the castle for my brother's wedding. They had bought out the grounds so it was just our families but the staff felt like family too. We were treated as if we were part of their family and they took awesome care of us. I would highly recommend visiting the castle if you want to get unplugged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solon, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Ravenswood Castle is a good place to step out of your normal routine and get away from it all. I would recommend it for a romantic getaway for a couple, especially if you are into medieval times. My room had no TV, no alarm clock, no cellphone reception, and no WiFi. However, it was large, had beautiful antique furniture, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Quaint. Charming. Quiet. And unique in an excellent way. Rooms/ cottages are all quaint and charming. Guests may to to navigate some stairs. Not much for kids beyond walking in the woods and a campfire. Our host couple were great as was the entire staff. Enjoyed the pub with the selection of wine and beer. My only mild complaint was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

What a charming little castle, hidden away in the hills. My husband and I had a great time this past weekend. I made a mistake and didn't realized until we arrived that I had booked our room for the NEXT day. D'oh! Zach Morgan took care of it --no problem-- & by a happy accident, we stayed in the Silversmith... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

A recommended stay with some things to keep in mind. First and foremost it is definitely out of the way. It is not beside any major areas and does not provide cell coverage and or wifi. If this is a problem I would suggest going else where however I would recommend giving it a try you just may realize that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities