We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   4592 Bessemer Rd, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bessemer Hostel to your Saves list
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (5)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Looking forward to my next stay. If you're looking for a polished room near some amenities, there are plenty of hotels that cost more than $20. If you want to be in the forest and save some money, check out this Hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We paid this creepy owner and left about an hour after checking in when we heard creepy sounds coming from the basement like someone was tied up! All I have to say is, most horror movies start out this way. Creepy, dirty, not at all like any of the other reviews we read on it. The owner also accused us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Chad K, Owner at Bessemer Hostel, responded to this review

The reviewer clearly had a political grudge. The hostel is always quite quiet, and any noises from my first floor primary personal habitation area are likely from me watching movies or making films. Any sounds would be barely audible, so this is clearly a creepy guest paid by competitors to attack me. Because I have the best rates, this is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nelsonville hotels

Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Like another reviewer, my traveling party was hit with unsupported property damage charges on our credit card. When we asked the owner that we be shown the damaged items or an invoice on how he came up with the charge, he would not comply. The owner stated he was within his right to charge us and did not have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Chad K, Owner at Bessemer Hostel, responded to this review

Somehow these travelers think they can do a lot of damage and just get away with it. I have sued 3 police agencies successfully, and have a pending federal lawsuit against former Athens County Sheriff Pat Kelly, who is also under 25 criminal indictments. Corrupt police have attacked me before. More than a thousand people have stayed in my hostel... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Off the beaten path, slightly gritty. Fine for a quick stay with a group, but if you're by yourself, it could be creepy (as in the hostel version of the Bates Hotel creepy). This place hasn't been cleaned in a few years and no general upkeep for a few decades. Camping would be a preferable option...

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chad K, Owner at Bessemer Hostel, responded to this review

The hostel is cleaned regularly (several times a day), and has had major renovations within the last year. It continues to get a lot nicer, while still maintaining by far the lowest cost lodging in the area status. The hostel is a tourist attraction in itself with great views of forested hillsides, and a hiking trail going into thousands of... More 

Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

As a touring band, this place had beds for all, a kitchen, internet office space and tv. Plus access to a bathroom we shared with only two people. besides us 5. Clean, but rustic. Literally in the national forest. 10 bucks a person for a decent bunk bed. Again, really great for a group whom you are cool sharing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bessemer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessemer Hostel

Address: 4592 Bessemer Rd, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Location: United States > Ohio > Nelsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bessemer Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bessemer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessemer Hostel Nelsonville, Ohio

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay