We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Mount Vernon hotels

Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
77%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
franmom Edgewood, Kentucky
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for a swim meet. Our room was nice, clean. It's a good location, the staff is nice. We didn't eat the breakfast. I agree it is a bit over priced for Mt. Vernon, but hey, when you're the only game in town you do what you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear franmom, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We do appreciate knowing how we are doing. We will certainly work on removing the smell from the guest rooms mentioned as well as take a look at the prices. We value your opinion very much and hope to see you again soon. More

ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this location due to the following posting on their website; "We have teamed up with Body Basics Health and Fitness Center for a great FREE workout just down the road from the hotel. Visit www.clubbodybasics.com for more details. Located at 11337 Upper Gilchrist Rd." They no longer partner with Body Basics, that business is gone. They claim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear koolfool, I am truly sorry for the misunderstanding. When Body Basics closed, I truly thought that I had removed all traces of their existence from the brand site and did not realize it was on the site until you pointed it out. We truly were not trying to "false advertise" and are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that it... More

Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My hotel room was clean and had enough space. The complementary breakfast was good. My only problem with this hotel was the cost of the room, which I thought was too pricey for a small town like Mt Vernon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Edward Z Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are constantly working to price our rooms appropriately and will take a look at the rates. We take your feedback very seriously and hope you will stay with us again very soon. More

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very attentive and friendly staff. Got two nights of great sleeping. Rooms are very clean and I would stay here again. Breakfast was clean and plentiful. Only down side was the small swimming pool and not hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Jim G, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate hearing how we are doing and love to be able to take your comments back to our staff to let them know they are doing well. We hope to see you again soon! More

Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
141 hotel reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We only stayed one night,which was probably a good thing. We are Priority Club platinum members and have stayed at very many H I E, this one was ok, but nothing special. We had a double queen room which was comfortable,but configured in a very strange way which caused it to feel a bit cramped.It had a large flat screen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear stokersam, Thank you sharing your thoughts with us. I am a little confused about the configuration concerns as all of our rooms have the bathroom at one end of the room and should not obscure the view of the television. I am truly sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please let me know if there is anything we... More

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After a long way driving from Wisconsin to Virginia, that was a good place for rest! No extra charge for our 2 cats. Very clean and excellent service, even that we arrived after midnight. Highly recommending!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Julia K, Thank you for letting us know you had a great experience while staying with us. Its a pleasure to have you and your furry friends stay with us (we are all animal lovers here!) and we hope to see you again soon. More

Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were visiting the general area and planned on driving home (Cleveland), but all of a sudden it was 10 PM and I was tired and we were still two hours of mostly back roads from home. We stopped here and they had room. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very helpful. I thought it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear NDfan65, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that our staff is doing well and that you had a pleasant stay. It brings us great pleasure to take your comments back to the staff. We will take a look at our price structure to see if there are any changes we can make.... More

Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Hotel has easy access from Freeway, it is large warm and feels roomy. it is close to major outlets and eating places. the rooms a clean and well equipped, gym, and heated pool. the staff are very helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Mustan645, Thank you for staying with us and rating the Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon. We truly appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your thoughts with us. Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay a *Five* star stay! More

Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent one night on the eve of picking up our puppy and we were very pleased did. This Holiday Inn Express delivered! The staff was friendly and helpful, from helping amend our reservation, to being cheerfully greeted upon check-in, to pleasant nods from the cleaning crew, to small talk over the breakfast buffet with the attendant. The hotel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear L M, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so happy you had a great time staying with us and that our staff delivered great service. We love being able to take our guests' back to the staff to let them know that they are making a difference in our guests' stay! Please let us know... More

Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed there because we had business in Mt Vernon. It was the cost you would expect from a good hotel in a small city or even in a big city After all it is a Holiday Inn Express! It was very cheaply made. You could see the light shining under the wall of the bathroom if someone was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear BemJR, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We will take noise levels into consideration when we begin renovations. We care very deeply that you did not have a good nights-rest and hope that we will be able to find a quieter room for you in the future. Thank you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Address: 11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mount Vernon with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Breathe easy at the completely non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Mt. Vernon, OH that is conveniently located near many restaurants and businesses, all within a 5 mile radius. The beautiful Kenyon College and Mount Vernon Nazarene University are just minutes away from the hotel making it convenient to visit students and rest peacefully each night. Sneak a peak next door at the seven-screen Premiere Theatre that features new releases and weekend matinees. Treat yourself to a great game of golf at any one of the golf courses near the hotel including the beautiful Apple Valley Golf Course located in the heart of Apple Valley in Howard, Ohio only 7 miles east of thehotel. Visit historic downtown Mount Vernon the home of Johnny Appleseed and Daniel Decatur Emmett. Break away from the mundane and treat yourself to another way of life in Amish Country only an hour north east of Mt. Vernon.Priority Club members workout for free at Body Basics Health and Fitness Club located just down the road from the Holiday Inn Express hotel-Mt. Vernon, OH. After a refreshing workout, pamper yourself with a great massage, a facial or steam away the day in the fabulous sauna. Relax and enjoy a great Yoga workout or speed things up with a spinning class. Personal trainers are available for a personalized assessment. Cool off with a refreshing dip in the hotel swimming pool. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer