We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Mount Vernon hotels

Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014
mad4scrapping Richmond, Virginia
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Montreal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed on multiple occasions at the Holiday Inn Express in Mt Vernon and I've never had a good experience doing so. The rooms often reek of cigarettes, you can hear the television/snoring from the next room and it feels like the upstairs neighbor is doing jumping jacks when he's probably just walking around. However you do get a breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Radaghast, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is lovely to hear you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for the noise challenges you experienced... More

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in August. The place was clean and the breakfast was very nice. However, although the entire hotel was supposed to be non-smoking, our room had clearly been a smoking room before. The smell hit us in the face every time we opened the door. It needed a much better cleaning than it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear mad4-scrapping, Thank you for staying with and taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your breakfast. I am very concerned about the odor in the room. If you could please contact the hotel to let us know what room you stayed it, we can make sure that the odor is... More

Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed there for a swim meet. Our room was nice, clean. It's a good location, the staff is nice. We didn't eat the breakfast. I agree it is a bit over priced for Mt. Vernon, but hey, when you're the only game in town you do what you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear franmom, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We do appreciate knowing how we are doing. We will certainly work on removing the smell from the guest rooms mentioned as well as take a look at the prices. We value your opinion very much and hope to see you again soon. More

ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at this location due to the following posting on their website; "We have teamed up with Body Basics Health and Fitness Center for a great FREE workout just down the road from the hotel. Visit www.clubbodybasics.com for more details. Located at 11337 Upper Gilchrist Rd." They no longer partner with Body Basics, that business is gone. They claim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear koolfool, I am truly sorry for the misunderstanding. When Body Basics closed, I truly thought that I had removed all traces of their existence from the brand site and did not realize it was on the site until you pointed it out. We truly were not trying to "false advertise" and are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that it... More

Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My hotel room was clean and had enough space. The complementary breakfast was good. My only problem with this hotel was the cost of the room, which I thought was too pricey for a small town like Mt Vernon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Edward Z Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are constantly working to price our rooms appropriately and will take a look at the rates. We take your feedback very seriously and hope you will stay with us again very soon. More

Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very attentive and friendly staff. Got two nights of great sleeping. Rooms are very clean and I would stay here again. Breakfast was clean and plentiful. Only down side was the small swimming pool and not hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Jim G, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate hearing how we are doing and love to be able to take your comments back to our staff to let them know they are doing well. We hope to see you again soon! More

Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
142 hotel reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We only stayed one night,which was probably a good thing. We are Priority Club platinum members and have stayed at very many H I E, this one was ok, but nothing special. We had a double queen room which was comfortable,but configured in a very strange way which caused it to feel a bit cramped.It had a large flat screen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear stokersam, Thank you sharing your thoughts with us. I am a little confused about the configuration concerns as all of our rooms have the bathroom at one end of the room and should not obscure the view of the television. I am truly sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please let me know if there is anything we... More

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After a long way driving from Wisconsin to Virginia, that was a good place for rest! No extra charge for our 2 cats. Very clean and excellent service, even that we arrived after midnight. Highly recommending!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Julia K, Thank you for letting us know you had a great experience while staying with us. Its a pleasure to have you and your furry friends stay with us (we are all animal lovers here!) and we hope to see you again soon. More

Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were visiting the general area and planned on driving home (Cleveland), but all of a sudden it was 10 PM and I was tired and we were still two hours of mostly back roads from home. We stopped here and they had room. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very helpful. I thought it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear NDfan65, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that our staff is doing well and that you had a pleasant stay. It brings us great pleasure to take your comments back to the staff. We will take a look at our price structure to see if there are any changes we can make.... More

Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Hotel has easy access from Freeway, it is large warm and feels roomy. it is close to major outlets and eating places. the rooms a clean and well equipped, gym, and heated pool. the staff are very helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Mustan645, Thank you for staying with us and rating the Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon. We truly appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your thoughts with us. Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay a *Five* star stay! More

Do you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Address: 11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Clear Fork Ski Area
Clear Fork Ski Area
Ski/ Snowboard Areas