We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel by the River

279 Muskingum Dr., Marietta, OH 45750
Hotel amenities
Magnuson Hotel by the River
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Marietta
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014
gwevans South Jersey
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In town for a family function and used Priceline to get me the best deal on a 2 star hotel. This hotel is really a motel with access to each room from the outside with parking right outside your room. The front desk person told me it used to be a Best Western. The two women working the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I play roller derby so I travel, we said at this hotel because it was recommended by the home team. Room was clean, no bed bugs (we always check). We needed extra pillows and the pillow cases didn't even look clean, they smelled like people's hair, and they looked like they just came out of a dirty used room. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
david-fitzgerald, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel by the River, responded to this review

Messages from financial institutions are sometimes difficult to interpret. Our guest believed that we had charged $2,000 for her room. She emailed me the bank information from which she drew her conclusion. The $181.02 charge for her 2 rooms was there. What I also saw was $2000 being removed from one of her accounts and transferred into another of her... More 

Bluffton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We reserved a room at the Magnuson for two nights a week before arriving. When we arrived at 4:30 PM, we were told the room would not be ready for and hour. When we got back at 6:00 PM the room was ready and clean. There was no soap in the bathroom and we did not bring any. The next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nancy, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed there one night, we had chosen this hotel because we thought it was a Best Western, when we found out it itsn't anymore we decided to stay there anyway. We were a little bit disappointed when we arrived, because from their website we had imagined it would be closer to the Muskingum River and with much more grass areas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willoughby
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are 2 adults with 2 dogs and this was the perfect place to stay. Room was roomy, and clean. Near river and lots of walking space for the dogs. Office staff friendly and gave us ideas of what to while in Marietta. Town small enough to get around easily. breakfast was good. There is a Farmers Market down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was happy with my stay last weekend. Had a king size bed and paid about $90, which was cheaper than every where else. The sheets were brand new and room was kept clean. The breakfast was decent in the morning, but the man working was very friendly. The hotel is not necessarily right on the river by close.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a fairly inexpensive hotel will a good location. Do not expect luxury, of course, but the room we had was clean, spacious, and had a refrigerator and the other amenities you would expect. The service was friendly, and the breakfast was fairly good, a bit above what could be expected for the price. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stay a few times a year. Love the boat dock! If you need the Ritz Carleton this isn't for you. If you want old fashioned good service, clean and very adequate room, convenience, friendliness in a small town atmosphere, it would be hard to beat anywhere. Family owned for many, many years. You keep any business going that long,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Back side of building 2nd floor has porch & river view. Most of the rest are looking at a parking lot. Filthy furniture (see pic), cracked tub, rusty shower curtain rod. Clean towels, soiled (ICK) sheets. My room didn't look like it had been updated since approximately Y2K, which is when the 27" Zenith tube-style TV dated from. If the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Clean, spacious, well kept. Great service, beds sooo comfortable! Shower heads were amazing. Try it you'll be charmed by the place like we were. Have traveled for business for 20 years- this place makes my top 10 list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question