We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    95
    71
    51
    30
    21
See reviews for
65
41
17
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
See the most recent reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night following a benefit for my private nonprofit work place. As far as the event space, the room was packed pretty tight, and the food, served buffet style, while it did have flavor, was rather cold. Our room was a double queen on the 3rd floor. The room decor was surprisingly modern, but the sheets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear iwantjewelz: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager More 

Clarence Center, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After reading all of the other reviews, I was terrified to stay here but had no choice because of hockey tournament. Some of the things previously mentioned seemed to have been addressed: the sheets appeared brand new as did the towels and the furnishings and carpeting were in very good shape too. The rest of the room definitely needed updating,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Mauzy61: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

For a hotel that states it was remodeled, my room was horrendous. Wall paper falling, furniture had cracks, scratches, and nicks, bathroom tile cracked and tub surround was moldy. Our window leaked cold air and we had to keep the heat on 85 so it would stay warm. Dining area nicely renovated however, service was very poor. Food was cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Cherylann1976: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of... More 

Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Cleveland may be the home of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but the Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence does not rock! The Executive lounge is closed - due to lack of use ... really. I asked for a refrigerator for my room. It never came, for two days I asked. On the last night I told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear B C: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

So the staff is awesome BUT blood stains on comforter, dirty as in big black spots on the towels, walls even have stuff smeared all over them, smoke detector in NON smoking room looks like it came out of the trash, hair in the bathtub (several of them not my hair), under bathroom counter is disguisting looks like hasn;t been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear ffron69: Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. Crowne Plaza has the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Crowne Plaza has established very strict standards of cleanliness for all its hotels that either meet or exceed public health department regulations.... More 

Coquitlam
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed here about 6 times this year and there have been some persistent issues with unsanitary housekeeping practices. I have caught housekeeping repeatedly wiping out the glassware in the room with whatever rags they have on hand, as opposed to providing clean glasses out of the catering dishwasher, despite the management stating that it is the hotel's policy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear MrMarcR: Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. Crowne Plaza has the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Crowne Plaza has established very strict standards of cleanliness for all its hotels. Should you ever have concerns of your room’s cleanliness,... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I went up to Cleveland for a food show at the I-X center and needed a place to stay. We were thrilled to find a Crowne Plaza after our Priceline bid for a 4 star hotel so our expectations were high. Our check-in was smooth and typical of the service we've experienced at other Crowne Plazas -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear PaullnOhio: Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. Crowne Plaza has the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Crowne Plaza has established very strict standards of cleanliness for all its hotels that either meet or exceed public health department regulations,... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff is nothing short of amazing. They were receptive to every need we had. There with 18 families on a hockey tournament and the food, service and every need was excellent. Reccomend all the way. Value was there. Staff did everything to help make your stay better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Moshe7777: On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, great staff. Get the suite, it was very nice. I've stayed at most of the hotels in Independence, and this hotel is very similar. Probably the nicest room I've had. Guys at the front desk were very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Frank B: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities.... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I strongly suggest avoiding this establishment. Let me list the reasons: (1) I originally booked for four nights, expecting to be staying by myself. My sister decided to join me and when I arrived I asked for a room with two beds. Was told this was impossible, hard to believe as the hotel was not full the first two days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear alesk810: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay