We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    65
    49
    30
    20
See reviews for
62
37
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is terrible, not because it doesn't have potential, but because the staff so obviously doesn't give a single crap about their guests. I'm so annoyed by this place that I'm just going to list the various irritations: 1. When we arrived at 1 am after a long flight, the front desk guy decided to help the guy who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Amy L: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations... More 

Athens, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through Priceline to meet up with family traveling in for the NCAA tournament in Cleveland. After an exhausting day, we arrived at our room around midnight to get some rest. I noticed stains near the top of the bed on the comforter and as I pulled it back, the same exact stains were on the sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Brooke A: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed... More 

kent, ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few good things - Very nice staff- front desk, bellman, and manager, Went above and beyond to be helpful. Really great Temple Spa amenities in room. Room is nicely fitted, One preference things- NO comforter- which seems to be common these days in nice hotels, just a blanket. I was quite cold and uncomfortable, although the bed and pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear TerryC: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to... More 

michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cleveland Clinic appt at the last minute, appts back to back over two days, so I had no choice to stay at the hotel overnight! Based on the reviews I was quite concerned, and since I use a power wheelchair for mobility, I was very concerned that I would get the smallest cramped room possible, well that did not happen,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear edog152: On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity... More 

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really don't like giving negative reviews, however, I feel that people should know what has happened with a recent stay at this hotel. I booked this hotel originally for a Monday, February 16, 2015 through Thursday, February 19, 2015 stay. I booked through Priceline, so the rate was very reasonable. We were visiting Cleveland because my oldest sister had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Meldon, Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. We have the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take guest security very seriously. In the unusual event we are made aware of a concern; we respond immediately to the situation and take the appropriate steps to remediate the problem. I regret that... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In need of updating of common areas some better education of the front desk staff we were there on the rock and roll hall of fame package yet no one at front desk could answer questions such as if there was parking at the hall of fame. Hot tub at pool was very dirty full of sand

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Keith M: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations... More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This place is great. They treat you like royalty. I was upgraded to executive level, which is awesome! Free breakfast and finger foods and beer in the evening. Room is exceptional. I know where I am staying every trip to Cleveland. Keep up the me good work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear joelc63: On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity... More 

Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Was there for the weekend in a king corner room on the 5th floor. There is a broken Jacuzzi in the corner of the room, a tiny bathroom and a vanity/sink outside the bathroom with carpet on the floor. This is so unsanitary and a by product of the late 80's and 90's - how about closing in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear J4man: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

First, I'd like to say that I booked this room using Priceline's Name Your Own Price, so my husband and I paid an excellent rate for the two nights we stayed there. With that in mind... My husband and I stayed here Saturday and Sunday night for Valentine's weekend. We were very much looking forward to arriving afrer driving most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear jsm62014: I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room you received. I have taken note of... More 

Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I opted to upgrade to a 3 star place since It was a one night stay, It was not an upgrade. The mattress had a nice mattress cover, but you could tell the bed was worn out. The grandma style bedding was low end, sheets where nice though. Bathroom Dirty, and ceiling had a painted patch above the bed. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Zayne, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. It is nice to hear that you liked the mattress topper and sheets in your room. I would like to truly apologize that we missed some other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question