We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Add Photo

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    96
    74
    52
    31
    22
See reviews for
67
42
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

At the price I paid per night during my 3 night stay this hotel earns 4 stars. Physically it's a bit tattered around the edges but the service is good, the rooms are spacious and the facilities are in keeping with a hotel at higher price points. The restaurant is good. Breakfast was a highlight -- great service at good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. At the Crowne... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for a 2 night stay, still here. Thank god we are leaving tonight! My kids swam in their pool and the chlorine levels were so high that both my kids have rashes and inflamation all over their body. My 7 year old's hair was black, but now she has light brown highlights due to the chlorine. My swimsuit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Runy K: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed... More 

Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel while visiting Cleveland for short stays. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant. Our rooms were clean and had all of the basic amenities. The beds are extremely comfortable! We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Cleveland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager More 

Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times for business meetings. Each time, the staff is friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast team in the restaurant ! It is always fresh and clean with various amenities for guests that make it a great business hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Nancy A: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests.... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time here my last visit, so when I found out I was going to Cleveland again, I knew where to stay. Well, not so much this time. No hot water in my room and others I was told. Also found lipstick on my to go coffee cup. Complained repeatedly about the water to the front desk, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my daughter, everyone I encountered on the staff was beyond polite and accommodating to anything we needed, (which was minimal, but still). Had a wake up call and front desk ordered us a cab to the hotel for 4 am, both were executed flawlessly. Couldn't be happier, can't wait to go back and check out the pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear bigjaygobrowns: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. At... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overheard front desk girl asking guy checking in what country they were from.. and her reply when he said NZ was "you don't look like someone from NZ"? WT? Why does she care where he is from. Aside from pieces of paper in toilet seat (easily removed by flushing) and water in tub that came out initially as yellowish (rust?),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear rsunico: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was filthy upon arrival. I showed the manager pictures (unclean bathroom floors, very stained comforter, someone else's used soap in the shower). We asked for the room to be cleaned and the manager said "I'm so sorry and your stay is on me." After the "cleaning" the soap was still in the shower, black stuff still on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear: nmo1: I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room you received. I have taken note of... More 

Trophy Club,TX, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From the welcoming smiles at the reception desk to the friendly wait staff in the restaurant, lovely clean room, great workout facility and pool, and convenience to area attractions, all provided an excellent trip to Cleveland. We have stayed here before and will defintely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Nancy K: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager More 

Trophy Club, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. Everything is clean. Breakfast buffet is great. No waiting at all to check in or out. Good office for computers, TX is excellent and the athletic club is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear retlokmot: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay