We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

3.5 of 5 5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    61
    43
    28
    18
See reviews for
59
36
15
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing too special about this hotel and this is maybe what's nice about it. The rooms are large and comfortable. I was upgraded to the executive rooms with an entrance to the lounge. The lady there was really friendly and the food was above average to what you normally would expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear RoniO: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for business and loved the month I was here. The corner rooms offer a WONDERFUL view to share with someone special; the surrounding area provides a great many delights; and there are a number of ways to navigate the hotel if you need to not be seen. My buddy and I met Ric Flair here! WOOOOOO!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Brett H: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night. They gave me a complementary upgrade to the executive floor. Room was very big and clean. Plenty of toiletries, real starbucks coffee, large 42" TV. Bed was great, I slept like a baby. The restaurant serves fantastic burgers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear ProverbiaYeti: Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night before an interview at MetroHealth (Old Brookville Campus). The hotel is very spacious and front desk was very friendly. My room was clean and comfortable. I had an issue with the temperature of the room though. It was very cold when I got there and when I tried to turn up the heat with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Kreebees: On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity... More 

Raleigh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Very friendly staff, awesome Black and Blu Burger with Homemade Cajun Chips. Quiet, Clean, And comfortable. Very Convenient to downtown Cleveland and Akron/ Canton, and the Cleveland airport. Road Warriors restful stop. Clean room. A- on my critical scale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear sunshades1: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel: the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us! As a property we strive to provide the very best experiences possible for all of our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback, time and patronage. We hope you will join us again!... More 

Xenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We were there for a medical appointment. The check in was fine and the room was really nice, however in the morning when we were looking for a stuffed toy we found the former guests slippers under the bed... then went to take a shower and there was NO hot water. We had to leave before the crack of dawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear TAS890: I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you found a item under your bed, I have taken note of your valuable comments, and rest... More 

Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We are rewards members and Sandy, who runs the happy hour and breakfast in the rewards lounge, is THE reason we stay there. She makes an effort to get to know her guests, and makes sure we have everything we need to be comfortable and to enjoy the ammenities. Hotels don't differ much in the rooms they offer but when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear john45454: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. i will make sure I personally acknowledge Sandy on... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The hotel room itself was really nice--our room (228) had a perfect view of the pool, too bad we were there in October and it was pretty cold, so no swimming for us--they do have an indoor pool though..our bathroom was big but I think we had an handicap accessible room. The king bed was big and comfy. Had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear mrswalton629: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

They couldn't accommodate my family. Said they had no cots left. Did very little to accommodate us. Since we had booked with hotwire, we were essentially told too bad and had to get a third room. There is no excuse to not stock enough cots. What a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear AriF: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Unfortunately when you book a reservation on a third party site you are not guaranteed a room type and we only... More 

Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because of the location to the Cleveland clinic. The hotel is literally 15-20 minutes to the clinic. 10 minutes interstate plus 10 minutes once off of the interstate to clinic. Our room was very nice and we will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Cindy L: Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Address: 5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence Ohio
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Independence

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay