We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

3.5 of 5 5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    43
    28
    18
See reviews for
58
35
15
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel room itself was really nice--our room (228) had a perfect view of the pool, too bad we were there in October and it was pretty cold, so no swimming for us--they do have an indoor pool though..our bathroom was big but I think we had an handicap accessible room. The king bed was big and comfy. Had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear mrswalton629: Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They couldn't accommodate my family. Said they had no cots left. Did very little to accommodate us. Since we had booked with hotwire, we were essentially told too bad and had to get a third room. There is no excuse to not stock enough cots. What a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear AriF: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Unfortunately when you book a reservation on a third party site you are not guaranteed a room type and we only... More

Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because of the location to the Cleveland clinic. The hotel is literally 15-20 minutes to the clinic. 10 minutes interstate plus 10 minutes once off of the interstate to clinic. Our room was very nice and we will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Cindy L: Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the... More

Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My opinion of this hotel was formed very early. A shuttle was included from the airport to the hotel. Our driver was obviously impaired by lack of sleep or something else when he drove us at approx. 1:30 p.m. Became aware there was a problem when he swerved into and out of another lane ON THE FREEWAY. I looked into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear JWMF1: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to... More

Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love staying at Crowne a Plazas but this one is the worse we've stayed at. Wish we would have kept our reservation at the other hotel. We checked into our room and we were tempted to check out. Our bathroom floor had black spots all over it, the wallpaper was coming up from the wall in spots. The worse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear:ashes33: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every... More

Miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Third time I stay at this hotel. Always check in late as I fly into Cleveland in the last flight from miami. Never have had an issue with room not being ready. Very well priced and always a clean room. Very quiet and if available try to get executive level on 5th floor for a free continental breakfast. Only reason... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear CheleMiami: On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity... More

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I recently traveled to Cleveland for the clinic. I was referred to this hotel by the clinic. When I checked in I asked the girl at the desk , Autumn, to give me a room close to an elevator and a refridgerator. She nonchelantly told me they don't have refridgerators without checking. Then she gave me a room far from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear Viirgina556: I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very clean and comfortable. The A/C was a little loud though. The man at the front desk was very friendly and corrected an issue on my reservation without question. Breakfast was good if it's free. It the standard hotel free breakfast food so definitely not worth paying for if your reservation didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear NLEO: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Joe Isernia General Manager More

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel since there were no others available right in the city. Despite being about a 15-minute drive away, Cleveland is easily accessible from the Independence area, especially through the RTA. We highly recommend this. Regarding the hotel itself, we had no problems checking in and were greeted by two helpful young ladies at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowneManagement, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear KPsRECs: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your room, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. At... More

Jacksonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Booked this hotel because of its location. Right next to interstate, 10-15 minutes drive from zoo and hall of fame. Free parking. Friendly front desk. Airport shuttle on time. 2-5 miles by car for restaurants - if you don't want to eat expensive hotel food. My issue is that the room had no fridge or microwave. Upon reading other reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Dear efan73, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that our location worked suitably for your needs. However, I am sorry for the room accommodation, level of cleanliness and noise challenges experienced which has negatively impacted your stay with us. The review we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Address: 5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence Ohio

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay