We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Huron hotels

Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron to your Saves list
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
65%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Huron
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
jessyljlp Sandusky, Ohio
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my kids there just to get out of the house and go swimming... the room we got was decent. Loved the kitchenette. Out of all the staff only one man was pleasant and friendly, don't know his name but he was behind front desk the morning we checked out. Only true complaint was the chlorine in pool was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed staying with us and having free range of the pool area while you were here! I must apologize for all of my staff being less than friendly to you and your family while you were here. Hopefully you will come see us... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible, don't let the nice exterior fool you!! There is a reason this hotel is cheap. No extras at all not even soap or shampoo. Lots of hoodrats running around everywhere making a ton of noise. Also making a ton of noise...... Train going by every 20 to 30 min, not a small train either, also there is some kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Motel. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I understand and regret how loud the trains can be at times. I am also sorry that there were guests that didn't control other people in their group that were being loud. We try and... More

Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am currently staying here for two nights on business and althou the staff is very polite, the public areas need some help. I have only seen ONE employee, a young man from the front desk during my stay who actually went out of his way to make sure the lobby area looked tidy late at night. When I walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We always enjoy receiving feedback from our guests even if sometimes it's not the best. We use this to know where we are falling short of our goals and forces us strive that much harder to make improvements. Unfortunately our floor tiles do show salt and... More

Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was so pleased with my stay here I will be back!! Matt you run a great hotel and have great people working for you. Me and my wife needed to get away from the kids and from life for the night and with the holidays just ending we did not have a big budget. We were able to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our location! We strive to make every getaway a great time for everyone! Hopefully you were able to relax while you were here and unwind after the holidays. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you will have the same great experience again! More

Lorain, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and me just stayed here and it was sooooooooo nice!!! They gots a indoor pool with a hot whirlpool in the same room, fitness room, and free coffee in the morning which I just loved! They had decorated for xmas and i forgot to take a pic of the tree in the lobby but it was just BEAUTIFUL!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your kind words about your recent stay! We enjoy hearing how we are doing! We share all of our reviews with all of the staff so they can see where we are striving and where we could use some improvement so it's always nice for them to see how they have done. I agree that... More

Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Understand...this is a 4 star for a small town (bit different than a larger city with more options.) That being said, I will definitely bring my family back! Our 2nd visit - front desk could not have been more polite. Room very clean and everything we needed (bring your own shampoo!) Pool area was perfect for kids (cold outside &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a GREAT review! Our pool area is one of the best ways to relax when its so cold out in North Central Ohio! Even though winter is just starting and its only going to get colder out, our pool will always be warm and waiting for you on your next... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Certainly above average for a budget hotel. The property seems to have been recently refreshed, with small-ish but brightly decorated rooms. It is located next to a fairly busy freight rail line, but after spending an entire day at Cedar Point we had no issues getting a good night's rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to make every guests stay a positive one. We enjoy receiving any and all feedback about how we are doing, and its refreshing to hear that we are doing a good job. Thank you again for your kind words! More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great economy hotel for visiting Cedar Point. The property is under 20 minutes from the Cedar Point peninsula, and has easy access to OH-2. The downside of the location is the proximity to some train tracks. There was a loud train (horn blaring) about every 30-60 minutes. The bed was very comfortable, and the flat screen TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly for taking the time to share your review about your stay at our Motel 6. We value every response that we get from our guests. I'm sorry to hear that there were some issues with your door latch during your stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. More

Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

loved everything, the rates on the wknd are overpriced for i=being a motel 6 but on th wknds it well worth the 79. pool was clean , hallways clean but staff looked sloppy with iniforms all wrinkled looks like they slept on them and just came to work

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly for your review regarding your recent stay with us! We strive to excel in customer service here and our hope is always that every guest that stays with us will have an enjoyable, relaxing experience. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if ever travelling through the area! More

wellington ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had to have are house defled and got a room ther we have two cats they wre very helpful with that ,the rooms are great and the staff is great ,all i can say if you are around there it is the best place to go

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback from your stay. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests. I'm glad that you found my staff to be welcoming! More

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio
Address: 601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.