We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Huron hotels

Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron to your Saves list
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Huron
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014
L389 Hillsdale, New York
  • Reviews (109)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I tried not to expect much from a cheap Motel 6, but was still somewhat disappointed. In general, it served it's purpose of being close to Cedar Point. However, we had a few issues: - Bathtub wouldn't drain. After taking a quick shower, the water in the tub was several inches deep. I told the front desk at check out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. We strive to make every stay an enjoyable one and I am saddened to hear that we fell short of that goal. We were having some trouble with our WIFI and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I guess it says a lot when you join Trip Advisor just to write a review of your recent stay. This past weekend my girlfriend and I stayed at the Motel 6 on Rye Beach road for two evenings as a part of us visiting Cedar Point for the half marathon. Upon checking in we knew that our stay was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. I apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations. Unfortunately there isn't a lot we can do with people smoking marijuana outside of the hotel other than call the Sherriff's department when... More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am never one to complain too much about where I stay. I had my reserves about booking this place because lets face it, it is a Motel 6. I looked past the name, saw they were reasonably priced and saw on expedia that the reviews were all fairly good. It seemed that the only negatives were the thin towels,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad time while staying at our location. I wish that you would have brought these issues to our attention while you were here so that we could have fixed them for you as unfortunately sometimes we don't... More

Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a simple and clean motel 6 but very close to a railway. Every couple of hours a train was passing by in the middle of the night. It is hard to sleep.there are couple of fast food places close but it is a drive from cedar point and downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel! I'm sorry that train crossing was noisy. I do wish that it was located somewhere else as to not bother our guests. We are very close to a few restaurants, and about 10 minute drive to any other restaurant in the area. Cedar Point is about 5... More

Hillsdale, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stay here for 5 nights while at Cedar Point and went to a Cleveland Indians Game. The hotel was nice , except for the few flaws. Walls are thin, there is a near by freight train, and upstairs neighbors where kinda of loud. Need to sleep with TV or fan on to to drown out neighbors and near by freight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of our Motel! I'm sorry to hear that you had a few noise issues during your stay with us. I to wish that the trains didn't blow their whistle as much as they do! If you stay at our location again, please just ask and we can try and... More

Twinsburg, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

First the good - the hotel is nice and clean and the staff was friendly. If you are hearing impaired, this hotel is a great value. If you are not, please do not stay here. You will not sleep at all. There is no insulation in the place. Doors and walls are paper thin. There were loud patrons and that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience at our hotel. We enjoy hear any and all feedback from our guests to help us make improvements in the areas that we are lacking in. I regret that sometimes guests are inconsiderate of their fellow guests and are loud. We... More

Toledo, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend (Saturday May,31st). We didn't spend much time in the room, basically just slept there but the bathroom was clean, the beds were clean, and everything was nice and up to date. No carpet in the rooms is perfect, more hotels should do this! Train woke us up once but not too bad. Close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review! I'm glad that you had a great time while you were staying with us and hope that you will come see us again the next time you are in the area!! Thanks again, Matt More

Winchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at this motel for the past 3 years and was so disappointed this year. the first room they sent me to, the door would not unlock, so they gave me a different room in this room the floor was dirty, the hallway carpet stayed dirty the 3 nights I was there,. the sink in the bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Let me start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations during your stay, for that I'm truly sorry. We love getting any and all feedback from our guests whether it's good or bad as it lets us know what areas we need to improve. I'm sorry that... More

North Canton, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend so we could go to Cedar Point on Sunday and Monday and save a drive home and back. We would definitely stay again. In fact, it was so inexpensive, I thought twice about posting about it on Tripadvisor since I suspect it fills up on weekends when Cedar Point is open. HOWEVER:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel! We greatly enjoy hearing how we are doing from our guests perspective. It lets us know where we are meeting our expectations, as well as where we are missing our goals. The reason that we don't offer many extra amenities is to keep our cost... More

Lewisburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The room wasn't very expensive at all. Only about ten minutes from Cedar Point. This is a very bare bones hotel and is pretty clean, especially considering how economical it is. The hotel is literally right off the highway and adjacent to Wendy's. Bathroom tub had some hair in it and the toiletries were extremely limited. Bed was average and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to leave us a review of our hotel. I'm sorry your stay wasn't perfect. You pointed out a few things that we need to focus on to make our future guests stays an exceptional experience! Thank you again for staying at our hotel and I hope that we will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Address: 601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer