We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    27
    16
    15
See reviews for
59
28
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Trains run through the area about every 10 to 15 minutes. As they cross the road they blare the horn. This kept us awake for awhile. The train seemed to run right behind the building. And between the trains there was a high pitched ping sound, like a hammer hitting a flag pole. Besides for this, the room itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ive stayed at this hotel in the past and enjoyed it so decided to stay here again. I like the rooms they are updated and clean and the pool is nice. 15 minutes from cedar point and a great price. This past weekend we arrived Friday night and got woken up every 20-30 minutes to dogs barking! It was AWFUL!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our hotel! I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you did the last time you were here. There was a dog show at another hotel in the area and unfortunately some pet owners do not control their noises as much as... More 

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hands down, this is the absolute BEST Motel 6 I have ever stayed (granted, I don't stay in many - but have heard), and I really, really, wanted to give a higher rating, but there were a few things that prevented me from giving it an overall 4 rating. First, let's start with all the positives. Extremely good value. Don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of you recent stay at our hotel! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the cable going out during your stay. It did appear that it was related to the large amount of boxing PPV's being purchased across the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

My Sister and I brought our children to Sandusky for Spring Break to go to Kalahari decided on staying at Motel 6 for one night and I must say we were very pleased. The Staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you had a great time while you were in the area! We enjoy receiving any and all feedback about how we are doing. We hope to see you again soon!! Matt More 

Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

It was clean and cheap which was all we needed for one night, no issues. Convenient, right off the expressway. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx;xxxx;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcccccc

Was this review helpful? Yes
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Reasonable rate and good location near expressway, food options and attractions. Wood colored linoleum flooring makes the room colder & noisier than carpeting would and since its very clearly fake, it makes it seem more cheap than classy. The towels were very tiny and could double as sandpaper. Other than those things, the stay was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our hotel! We enjoy receiving all feedback from our guests good and bad so we know what areas we have room for improvement. The hardwood floors are both good and bad. They are much cleaner with Motel 6 being a Pet Friendly hotel but they... More 

New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

For the money that this hotel costs this place is disappointing! Sleeping in my room fet like i was sleeping on a train! every 30 minutes the train horns blew all night! obviously the owner of this hotel has upset the railroad workers! They blow that horn all night long! if your going to stay here i recommend you bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel! I'm truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us due to the noise from the train tracks. I wish that this was something that I could prevent from happening but unfortunately the trains must announce they are coming before crossing a public roadway. I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

Rochdale, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I stayed at this Motel 6 as part of a road trip in November 2014. We were headed there following a gig in Cleveland, and so ended up checking in close to midnight. The first thing that stood out to me was that you gain access to rooms from the inside of the building like a standard “Hotel” and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detail review of your stay at our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your road trip! At Motel 6 we offer a Clean, Comfortable room at a Reasonable rate. I hope that we will see you again sometime if you are able to come and... More 

Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Understand its a 4 rating when considering other options in the Area. You cannot beat this hotel, especially in off season! Very cheap ($45ish)... get the extended room with kitchenette (very large..large mini fridge, sink, micro. Very clean & great indoor pool area! I will say the service here is some of the best I get anywhere (including upscale hotels!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at our location! We love receiving feedback from our guests so we know what areas we are doing well in and what areas have some room for improvement! We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!!! Matt More 

Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

If you're only staying 1 or 2 nights(especially for a trip to Cedar Point...it's just fine! It gives you good beds, a working bathroom, free wifi and TV. The "bonus" is the "hardwood" floors that are much easier for staff to clean and not collect all kinds of "whatever". Pool is nice also. Most hotels near CP that are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at our hotel. Our local area has many different choices for lodging and we are always trying to stay ahead! I'm very sorry to hear that not all of the staff was exceptional, and hope that you will stay with us again sometime so we can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities