We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Review This Hotel

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
58
27
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My Sister and I brought our children to Sandusky for Spring Break to go to Kalahari decided on staying at Motel 6 for one night and I must say we were very pleased. The Staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was clean and cheap which was all we needed for one night, no issues. Convenient, right off the expressway. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx;xxxx;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcccccc

Was this review helpful? Yes
Metro Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonable rate and good location near expressway, food options and attractions. Wood colored linoleum flooring makes the room colder & noisier than carpeting would and since its very clearly fake, it makes it seem more cheap than classy. The towels were very tiny and could double as sandpaper. Other than those things, the stay was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our hotel! We enjoy receiving all feedback from our guests good and bad so we know what areas we have room for improvement. The hardwood floors are both good and bad. They are much cleaner with Motel 6 being a Pet Friendly hotel but they... More 

New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

For the money that this hotel costs this place is disappointing! Sleeping in my room fet like i was sleeping on a train! every 30 minutes the train horns blew all night! obviously the owner of this hotel has upset the railroad workers! They blow that horn all night long! if your going to stay here i recommend you bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel! I'm truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us due to the noise from the train tracks. I wish that this was something that I could prevent from happening but unfortunately the trains must announce they are coming before crossing a public roadway. I... More 

Rochdale, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I stayed at this Motel 6 as part of a road trip in November 2014. We were headed there following a gig in Cleveland, and so ended up checking in close to midnight. The first thing that stood out to me was that you gain access to rooms from the inside of the building like a standard “Hotel” and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detail review of your stay at our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your road trip! At Motel 6 we offer a Clean, Comfortable room at a Reasonable rate. I hope that we will see you again sometime if you are able to come and... More 

Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Understand its a 4 rating when considering other options in the Area. You cannot beat this hotel, especially in off season! Very cheap ($45ish)... get the extended room with kitchenette (very large..large mini fridge, sink, micro. Very clean & great indoor pool area! I will say the service here is some of the best I get anywhere (including upscale hotels!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay at our location! We love receiving feedback from our guests so we know what areas we are doing well in and what areas have some room for improvement! We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!!! Matt More 

Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

If you're only staying 1 or 2 nights(especially for a trip to Cedar Point...it's just fine! It gives you good beds, a working bathroom, free wifi and TV. The "bonus" is the "hardwood" floors that are much easier for staff to clean and not collect all kinds of "whatever". Pool is nice also. Most hotels near CP that are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at our hotel. Our local area has many different choices for lodging and we are always trying to stay ahead! I'm very sorry to hear that not all of the staff was exceptional, and hope that you will stay with us again sometime so we can... More 

Marion, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We had a decent stay at motel 6. The beds were comfortable, there was enough room for our queen size blow up mattress. The staff during the day wasnt the greatest but late at night a young man was working and he went out of his way to tend to us! There was no microwave in our room and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Motel! I'm glad you found our rooms to be spacious enough for you. Unfortunatly we do not have microwaves in all of our rooms but we do have some larger suites that do have them. I look forward seeing the next time you are in the area!... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Stay away at any cost. This place is a real dump. Sheets on bed had blood stains. Towels were like 40 grit sandpaper. Railroad tracks 200 yards away with trains running at least every 20 minutes at full speed night and day, whistle blowing. No shampoo no Kleenex in room. Walls paper thin. Will never stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our motel. I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that you were unsatisfied with the expected amenities. I truly wish that there was something that we could do about the local train traffic at our location. Again... More 

Monroe, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was very unhappy. There was no shampoo, hair dryer, kleenex or a clock. I paid more for this room than I did at the next place I stayed with all of the above, plus breakfast. I did like the window seat feature in my very small room. The smallness was fine, I was only there 1 night and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Diane, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with the expected amenities; however, Motel 6 standards for quality are rooted in economical practicalities to consistently deliver on our goal to provide the lowest price of any national chain. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question