We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
43 Franklin Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Special Rate
BOOK HERE.Rates from $190
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    23
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Sherbourne Lodge for 2 nights. Swansea was pretty quiet in July but this accommodation was close to the centre of the town and the beach but far enough from the road to be very quiet. Plenty of room for 2 people and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Naberzox. Yes, Swansea is a little quiet in the colder winter months, but that does allow for some great rates, and peaceful stays. Hopefully you got a nice beach walk in while you were here as the still days are reflected beautifully on the water. Thanks again - Sally & staff More 

Melbourne
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

EXTREMELY RUDE STAFF WATCH OUT!! So we were a family of 5 staying for one night. We took turns showering after a very long day but things went wrong after just 1 person. The hot water stopped working and one of us had to finish with freezingly cold water! (it was winter) The guys from reception failed at fixing it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review. However, as a reviewer you have a responsibility to report accuratey and trulyfully regarding your stay. My thorough investigations show that you did not do this! We value guest feedback so that we can improve where possible on both service delivery and facilities. It is noted that you first contacted the off duty managers... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accommodation was very clean and the staff where very friendly and helpful. Make good suggestions for dinners out. One night we had a back out and the staff on duty went out of their way to make sure that we had a light and we were all right. Good size kitchen and living areas. A bit cold to start off... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pippy We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with both the cleanliness of your accommodation and your dealings with the staff. Regarding the window near the spa, we do have an over-head exhaust fan which perhaps could have been used instead. Our winter has been exceptionally cold so far this year!... More 

Hobart
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the motel rooms in Sherbourne Lodge. The room was large with bed, reverse cycle air conditioning, sofa, dining table, kitchenette and ensuite bathroom. The price was a little more than the larger motel in Swansea but the quality of the accommodation was worth paying for. We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Tasgenie Reading or hearing positive reviews of guest stays is very rewarding for the team here. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodation, and above average service. Sometimes this is reflected in a slightly higher rate, but we agree that the quality of the experience is worth it. We hope to welcome you again on your next East... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Great little individual cottages which are well equipped, cosy and make for a great base for exploring Swansea. Lorna couldn't have been more helpful which really made our stay feel very welcoming. We stayed in a spa suite and wouldn't recommend, the cottages are much nicer and cheaper so try to stay in one of those instead. Decor is a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sc101, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Our Spa Suite is great for a romantic getaway as it is very private and quiet but you really can't beat our self contained cottages if you prefer to spread out, cook your own meals and throw in a load of washing... More 

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

A day travelling and we would have been grateful for any bed but this was a pleasant oasis. We took advantage of a cottage as we wanted a little more comfort and we got a lot more comfort. Two bedrooms with a comfortable lounge and good heating. Shame the wood heaters are no longer used but understandable. That would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to post a review of your stay with us at Swansea Cottages in March. We are always pleased to hear that guests enjoyed the facilities at our property, as well as Swansea in general. We hope to see you again on your next Tassie trip! Warm regards - Sally & the team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

Nice place but in need of modernisation. Free wifi is a con, you get first 30 mins free then you have to pay so don't be misled as I was. I was also expecting a bay view but only got it if stood on tip toes in upstairs bedroom .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Swansea Cottages. Wow, I am sorry that you think that our free WiFi is a con. I can assure you it is not. It is available 24 hours a day and it is totally free. The system will however default to our home... More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Upon driving to reception we noticed the attention to detail of this immaculate place. When arriving at reception we were impressed with the friendliness and professionalism we were greeted with. We asked questions and was given the opportunity to look at the room we asked about. Very clever, because seeing was wanting. We stayed at the Bayview house. As we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Dave & Judy for your review and recommendation! We are a small, tight knit team here that strive to make our guests comfortable and their stay a positive, memorable one. We focus on providing above average service and extremely clean rooms. We hope to welcome you here again some time. Regards - Sally & the team More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We had a family room/suite which had a king bed and two singles (bunks). We were very disappointed that there was no kitchen sink and you had to wash up in a plastic tub. We were staying for 2 nights and the room was not very spacious at all. This was the most expensive accomodation for our 10 nights away.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Louse, Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry that you found your motel ensuite room not to your liking. Whilst these are very well equipped with microwave, jug toaster, queen bed + bunk bed, dining suite, flat screen TV and DVD player as well as air conditioning, they are still a motel room. There are quite detailed... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

First day in Tasmania, we couldn't wait to arrive to this cozy retreat, which we were drawn to from the beautiful pictures online. The wild road seemed endless to us, awaiting for the ocean to see in front of us, when the GPS told us to make a left. You encounter an idyllic miniature village, full of flowers, bushes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robh52T, Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eliza Thank you for your warm and wonderful review of your experience with us at Swansea Cottages and Suites! Having this kind of feedback is very special to us; we really do care that people enjoy their time here with us. Warm regards - Sally & staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#3 of 7 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 9 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#5 of 9 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wagner's Cottages
Wagner's Cottages
#1 of 7 in Swansea
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
11.2 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top