We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelican Sands Scamander

Certificate of Excellence
157-165 Scamander Avenue Scamander, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Sands Scamander
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Pelican Sands Scamander
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

The owners are lovely (as is their cat Gidgit) and everything was perfect. Sadly it was too cold to use the heated pool, and a sand bar blocks the river from the sea. The spa in our room was great, and we greatly appreciated the inclusion of the toaster oven so we could make breakfast. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Don’t judge a book by its cover!! We stayed here many years ago. I chose it primarily for the stunning ocean views and the actual room was typical of any 3 star motels with no frills but it didn’t matter, since it was comfortable and reasonably priced. Fast forward to 2015, and the gorgeous views drew us back. We did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The Pelican Sands is very clean but old with stunning views and lovely sunrises. The location is perfect right on the river / beach. Scamander is a small town with a Hotel, golf course , and a small supermarket a very peaceful town for a couple of days rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed here for one night as we had a wedding to go to , once at the wedding many guests commented that our accommodation looked heaps better then there's and once I told them how much cheaper ours was then rival hotels near by they were very jealous ! Very clean ! Stunning views ! Great customer service !... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I must say that I felt a small skip in my heart as I pressed the link to your review. We have had a couple of "howlers" lately and I am not sure why as their main objection was to the construction of the building with very little negative comments about the actual accommodation provided.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The Pelican Sands has a fantastic view from the back window, but the accommodation itself is very tired and straight from the 1950s including painted brick walls and the ‘International Roast’ powdered coffee (that tasted as if it was made back in the 1950s). To be fair, this accommodation was clean and had a comfortable bed and good size bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will respond to you comments further down however I feel there is something far more important to address initially. Firstly I would like to apologise as upon checking your review to determine which room you stayed in I discovered that you have been overcharged for your accommodation. I have no idea how this happened... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

From the descrtiption given, as a studio apartment with quality furnishings and a price tag of $135 a night with no breakfast, I was looking forward to this night. it turned out to be a Besser brick 1970s motel unit. Yes, it had had a lick of paint and a refurbished bathroom and good towels but not nearly good enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What a difference a few days make. The guests who wrote the previous review on this site stayed in the same room and loved Pelican Sands, so much so they extended their stay. A few errors/assumptions in your review do require clarification. We have two different room options offered, a Studio which you booked or... More 

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We are staying in room 2 as I write this review, all I can say is FANTASTIC could not ask for better and the owners are wonderful down to earth people and the cat is a joy, would be happy recommend this place to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We guessed that you really liked Pelican Sands when you extended your 3 day stay into a 4 day stay. We also enjoyed the chats we had with you during your stay. I am also sure that Gidget (the 3 legged cat) enjoyed your company as well. You were certainly relaxed and refreshed at... More 

Willaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, as we pulled up my first thoughts were what we have let our selves in for. We had the self-contained apartment, furniture could do with updating, we only had breakfast there and the cooking facilities were perfect, the views were to die for just beautiful, we sat out side with a glass of wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Scamander is a sleepy little town in the most stunning of locations. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing and the stunning waterfront scenery. The structure of the buildings are the original brick which we have rendered & painted, freshening them up but still retaining that coastal "beachshack quality". We would love to be in the position to update... More 

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed in Unit 4 for two nights in January 2015. Perfect location at the mouth of the river, with a grassed area between the unit and the water. Beautiful, uninterrupted view of the beach and the river mouth. Clean unit with a comfortable bed and good water pressure. Furniture is a little bit dated but had everything you need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we would like very much to welcome you back to Pelican Sands. We do enjoy a lot of repeat guests & referral bookings. At the risk of repeating myself, yes the location and views are stunning and continue to dazzle our guests. It is really a beautiful spot. We take a lot of pride... More 

Lismore NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We booked a studio room (room 2). Amazing view over the water and such a beautiful walk to the mouth of the river and then to the ocean. We sat at one of the picnic tables on dusk with a glass of wine and the view and tranquility was amazing. So clean and well presented. Great value in a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! It takes a lot of effort to maintain a property like this and it is most rewarding to receive thanks from our guests, it does mean a lot. We do the cleaning & laundry ourselves and it is nice to know that our efforts are appreciated. Many of our guests sit on the waterfront... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay