We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ross B&Bs / inns

Ross Motel

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special Offer
Save Saved
You added Ross Motel to your Saves list
Ross Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #1 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Aroney Port Fairy, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (56)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really loved the Ross Motel , we had a 2 Bedroom appartment, The staff were really very informative and helpful, The hotel is a short walking distance to the shops .and eateries The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and tastefully furnished We only stayed one night but I would have liked to have stayed longer and base myself here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the Ross Motel. It is extremely pleasing for us and our staff to receive a great customer review - it is what we base the success of our business on. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again at some time in the future. John & Christina More

Dural, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a powered site in our campervan 1/7/14. Right in the centre of town, right next to Ross Bridge so great for piccies. Camp sites are behind the Ross Motel and cabins. (Reception in Ross Motel) Facilities were spotless, 40c for a hot shower. Only a small camp area though so I'd imagine in summer ore book definitely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a positive review of the Ross Caravan Park as it is very pleasing for our staff to know that their efforts in keeping the Amenities and surrounding areas clean and tidy are appreciated. You can be sure we will pass your comments on to them and we all look forward to welcoming you back some... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed one night en-route to Hobart. This caravan park is clean, with enough room for caravans and motorhomes. The amenities are secure and clean, with an open BBQ area. Ross Town itself is a nice stop over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Manager at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the Ross Caravan Park and camping grounds that we manage for the Northern Midlands Council. We will pass on your comments to our staff who help us in ensuring the Amenities and BBQ are kept clean for our guests. John & Christina More

Ulverstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Would highly recommend the Ross Motel, couldn't fault anything, very comfortable, spotless, and a quiet location. A short stroll to the town and local pub where they have good meals. We have stayed at the lovely caravan park quite a few times when we used to have a caravan. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Roslyn, both John and I were thrilled with your positive customer review of the Ross Motel. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you to the Ross Motel again in the future. John & Christina More

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Most Highly recommend can't fault anything about this motel. Very modern, comfortable well appointed room . All facilities first class , reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. Recommended to Ross Hotel for dinner which was also excellent .

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ross Motel. Both John and I try to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience when staying here. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Ross Motel and pretty heritage village of Ross some time in the future. John and Christina. More

Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The camping area is OK, however nothing about it justifies the premium price. Owner was extremely rude. We stayed a little longer in the morning than we should have - clearly our fault, but a polite reminder of the checkout time would have been enough! Instead, we were treated very rudely, and pretty much thrown out of the (otherwise almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Manager at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response.We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your short stay at the caravan park. Our check out time is 10.00am unless you have arranged for a later time. We have this time as there is a lot of caravans travelling and they check in quite early so they set up and than walk around the lovely... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

on booking this place we were told we would be staying in heritage accomodation. well the only thing heritage about it was the outer walls which were built from heritage stones. the room was dirty (spider webs on the pillows), no television, no ensuite, no heating or cooling, and then we were expected to pay extra to use communal showers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we are so sorry you did not like your stay in Ross. The cabins you stayed in are only a budget so hence no TV. We have passed the message on to our cleaning group about the room, so they are on to it. We hope in the future we can welcome you back to... More

Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Well maintained, clean and quiet. Room for 2 was well set out, small but more than adequate for our short stay, plenty of space for suitcases/clothes etc. Nice bathroom, also adequate in size. Motel and rooms not intended for grand cuisine, just minimalist eating, including an optional continental breakfast,which is all well disclosed on website. Meal options in village, including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad we could over plenty of variety for your choose of meals.Hope to see you back at the Ross Motel at another time. Thanks again. John More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here one night during a short Tasmanian driving holiday. Reception was OK and helpful and our room was ultra clean and comfortable. This motel might have been the most modern building in Ross which relies on its cafes (very good), second hand shops, wool and wood display shops, its history and great historic buildings and Ross well worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Ross Motel. We have passed the comments on to our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Christina and John More

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed several time at the Ross Caravan Park, great spot, with excellent amenities, very clean, and well cared for park. Ross is a quaint little town just off the Midlands Highway with lots to explore. Highly recommend, will definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you for your very positive review about the Ross Caravan Park - it is pleasing to receive such a great review and rewards our staff for all their hard work and efforts down there to ensure that everyone has a comfortable stay! Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back. John & Christina More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Motel

Address: 2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Motel Tasmania

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 2005, deluxe 4 star riverfront Georgian style motel. All non-smoking ground floor rooms which are regularly upgraded. Walk to all the facilities in the historic village of Ross, Tasmania which includes Ross Riverside Antiques which regularly imports antiques from the UK. Continental breakfast provisions, Austar (cable TV) included in the room rate together with WIFI internet. All rooms have heating, ceiling fans, electric blankets, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, crockery & cutlery. Car parking outside door and Guest laundry available. Ross is centrally located 1 hour from Launceston, 1 1/2 hrs from Hobart, 1 hr from East Coast and a great place to base yourself if touring Tasmania - you always come back to a comfortable bed. Walking distance to the famous Ross Bridge (1836) and other historic attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer